We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great food, friendly and efficient staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great food, friendly and efficient staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

if you go to Nairobi - just for a night or two around a safari or on business - go the Fairview. I last came here 15 years ago and it was a good hotel then, it is even better now. Very safe, away from the traffic-plagued town centre but walking distance for business during the day and a cheap taxi ride to go to restaurants. Not that you need to go into town, the Fairview has several restaurants - including a v good sushi bar.

Rooms are comfortable, well-equipped and clean. Staff are v helpful and efficient. Nice grounds to sit out in and not stupidly expensive. Great place. Only whinge - very noisy ibis in trees near the hotel. Can they be fitted with silencers?

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldAfricaHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    351
    88
    26
    12
See reviews for
150
305
110
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

This was the highlight of our trip, and we enjoyed every bit of this hotel. We stayed at the First Class room for 2 nights and the room, service and food was lovely. There is so much to walk about and see on the property that even though its a business hotel, we loved staying here for our leisure tri[p too.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aathira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

We found this Hotel on the Net, browsing through the Hiltons and Holidays Inns of Nairobi until we decided to take a chance on the Fairview, mainly because it was one of the closest to the airport. Well..... what a pleasant surprise! This Hotel might as well come out of a "Out of Africa" type of movie!! 4 restaurants, great selection, nice clean rooms, big swimming pool, a gym and magnificient surrondings. The decor makes you travel in time in a heartbeat. The staff is polite and professional.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmargotqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

The Fairview was such a pleasure that I would go to Nairobi just to stay there again. Lovely hotel, wonderful people, best priced gift shop in all of Africa and excellant food and bar! I can't wait to go back! On our return from safari we stayed there for the afternoon even though we didn't have a room. Awesome awesome hotel!

Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank humanwavetheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

Seventh or eighth stay at this hotel. Room not ready for nearly an hour (after 10 at night); understaffed and unhelpful at front desk; room quality inferior for the new, considerably increased price; making a reservation by email - only for people with the time/patience to make multiple email enquiries whether the reservation has been made and wait days for a response (mostly non-responsive form emails). Food -- overrated. The Fairview made sense when the rooms were priced for what they are worth, but is no longer worth the hassle.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP&mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2010
The guests arrived at Reception at 22.50hrs. They were given a keycard at 22.55hrs. Unfortunately, the lock to their room malfunctioned and they were unable to enter their room. The Manager arrived at 23.00hrs and resolved the situation by 23.09hrs. The guests were therefore inconvenienced for approximately 20 minutes.

We understand that this experience is the last thing anyone would wish for after a long flight, taxi ride, and check-in process. The Fairview has experienced such malfunctions perhaps 3 times in 10 years - not bad given that we have 105 rooms and we maintain occupancy rates above 95%. This record reflects our strategy of buying the best in every aspect of our operation. When we analyzed manufacturers of locks, we bought from the worldwide leader to ensure such occurrences are few and far between.

In regard to slow responses on email: It is correct that our turnaround time during December was not as fast as usual. December is our quietest time of year and subsequently we have many staff on leave. We apologize for the slow turnaround time and we will work to ensure this doe not re-occur in future years.

Now, the point of all this is not really about locks! It is about how to behave, how to speak to people and the example we set for the next generation. Ranting and raving at reception is inappropriate, unnecessary and ineffective. After swiftly and successfully resolving the lock malfunction, the General Manager endured 20 minutes of further battery. At the end of this 20 minute period, the General Manager made the decision to refuse entry to these guests who surprisingly continue to return to the hotel they find horrible! At approximately midnight, they were ushered to a taxi and were driven to the Serena - the best rate available at the Serena was $450 without breakfast (more than 3 times the Fairview).

As for the quality of our rooms, I think our occupancy and average rating on Trip Advisor speaks for itself.

Daniel
director@fairviewkenya.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

I loved it. Nice location and surroundiings. Good restaurants. But it is not for backpackers.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HajoOrvos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

Wow. We've stayed in a lot of hotels in our 50+ years but the Fairview stands like a beacon in the night.
As soon as we pulled up in our taxi we could sense a feeling of days gone by. Like something from an old Johnny Wiesmuller (Jungle Jim) movie the ivy covered block construction reminded us of the 'olde english lodge'.
The grounds are a delight to behold. "Garden Rooms" they are called and each has a feeling to it of peace and tranquility that makes you forget you are in a city. Despite having a room with a balcony we spent most of our hotel time in and around the gardens.
In our two stays we had 4 rooms (2 for our adult children, 2 for us) and each was of high standard. Don't be fooled. This is not a shiny new 5 star affair built of modern marble, silver and glass but this 70+ year old hotel is well maintained and classy.
Breakfast is a feast fit for a king with selections to satisfy the most finicky eater and with 4 or 5 restaurants (can't remember exactly how many) in the hotel you can always get a great feed. (We fell in love with the quesadillas from Mukatana - the front cafe).
My daughter is a gym junkie and she loved the gym. My son lives on a PC and was more than happy in the business centre on the net. The pool was good and sitting in the adjacent restaurant became a favourite haunt for us.
But to be honest what really made this place is the staff. Gee I miss Dan cooking my omelettes in the morning. When we returned from our 2 week safari he wanted to know all we saw, what happened, how we felt. These genuine enquiries make you feel right at home. Pauline, one of the reception staff, took my daughter to a local hairdresser on her day off so she could get her hair braided African cornrow style at a good price. All the staff had this same attitude that made you feel a part of the fairview family.
My only negative was that we had to leave and I couldn't pick up the whole hotel and staff and bring them home to Oz with me.
The Fairview is not in the CBD but on the edge next to the Isreali Embassy (which means extra security to the area) so it's not for you if you want to be in the (noisy) city but I would not stay anywhere else in Nairobi. My fear now is that I've been spoilt for future holidays.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank volitans54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing