We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairview Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$155
$132
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$267
$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$167
$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,333)
Filter reviews
1,333 results
Traveler rating
811
389
94
27
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
389
94
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisraeli embassyan oasisgarden cafemain buildingpool restaurantchoice of restaurantslovely groundshotel groundsbusy citybreakfast buffetnice poolupper hillplace to stay in nairobibusiness centerwonderful hotelfelt safelong flight
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,145 - 1,150 of 1,333 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Great hotel - good service, atmsphere, facilities. Best breakfast buffet I've ever had and the pool restaurant is good. The only downside is the supposedly upmarket Pango - the food was poorly executed - over-cooked and far too rich.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timon166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2009

Independent reviews about Pango Brasserie are typically outstanding and your disappointment comes as a surprise to us. We will of course refund the full value of your meal as we do not believe in charging for services not enjoyed. Thank you for your feedback.

Daniel
director@fairviewkenya.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Out of the 4 hotels that I have stayed in/visited in Nairobi (Stanley, Panafric, Country Lodge are the others) this is by far the best. With fantastic facilities, 5 lovely restaurants set in the large gardens, beautiful nooks and crannies with colonial style sitting and gentle lighting that you discover hidden in the garden or under a winding staircase it s a hotel that is highly recommended. It is often fully booked so you will need to book as far in advance as possible. If like me, you find yourself on the waitlist, just book in the Country Lodge next door which is its sister hotel and very nice too.
The lobby area is extensive and beautiful with leather couches, comfy armchairs and tables with chess sets inviting you for a slow game while enjoying the surroundings.
I have not seen the rooms but if the rest of the hotel is anything to go by they will be superb.
There is a good size swimming pool and a ice water feature in the front of the hotel. Next to the water feature you will find a little cafe serving snack and pizzas but also the most delicious cakes and coffees (starbucks people should come here and learn the fantastic flavours they have here).
The hotel has its own travel office where you can book your safaris and also a souvenir shop.
There are well priced taxis available just outside. The hotel is located on “the safest street in Nairobi” and is very secure, including the surrounding areas; this could be due to the fact that Israeli Embassy is located opposite the hotel. You can safely walk between Country Lodge and Fairview even at night as the roads are guarded and monitored by CCTV.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heljoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

I came to The Fairview often in the 1950s and 60s when I was at school in Nairobi. 50 years on it still retaines its unique ambience from those days and has now grown to be an outstanding oasis of "Old Africa" style and comfort, now combined with modern conveniences and above all exceptional well trained and attentive staff and highly professional service. Eamons kitchen's provide a variety of well prepared and diverse menus. The Fairview's garden setting is magnificent and as an important consideration of modern day international travel the location is very secure. The hotel is well placed for both business meetings at the hotel or in the city and as a base for safari trips. The hotel based taxis are well manitained, safe and efficient. I travel extensively each year around the world and The Fairview matches and well exceeds any other in and in some cases above, this category of hotel. Iain Logan, Partner The Global Emergency Group, USA and UK. (iain.logan@globalemergencygroup.com)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FirstResponse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The Fairview is a nice hotel. Rooms are simple, very clean and comfortable. The several restaurants serve a wide variety of food that is very good. A drink from the bar on the lawn in the afternoon is a must.

We had an early check out one day and it was seamless. Security is impeccable, it is close to town and they can arrange airport pickups. We would definitely stay at the Fairview again if we had to go to Nairobi again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel three times in the last 9 months. As the title states, it is a haven of peace and tranquility in Nairobi. Good value rooms, several restaurants for food. Early breakfast available when catching an early flight. Wireless internet all over the hotel, inside and out.

Staff really welcoming at the front desk and there is a travel agency at the attached shop that can arrange trips, even for solo travellers. Taxis availabe at the front and the hotel will arrange a pickup at the airport.

Overall it was a great place for a lone traveller to do their business in the city and then relax and continue working in the hotel and grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnowlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews