We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible Oasis - The Fairview Hotel”
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
“An Incredible Oasis - The Fairview Hotel”
Reviewed June 18, 2009

My colleague and I went to Nairobi for a business meeting. We could have stayed downtown in a Hilton or other large chain hotel but chose to stay at the Fairview Hotel. It was more than we expected. Incredible gardens surround the inside perimeter of the hotel and you are always met by friendly staff. Both my colleague and I found the food to be excellent, whether is was just ordering appetizers or a full couse meal. It was easy to relax in one of serveral areas, enjoy a beer or fine wine and socialize with others staying at the hotel. As a person who travels every week to some part of the world, I found the Fairview to rank at the top of hotels that I have stayed in. If you choose this hotel, you won't go wrong for cost, comfort and friendliness of staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    375
    92
    27
    12
See reviews for
158
317
114
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2009

An oasis in the heart of the city. The staff are friebndly an can not do enough to help you..
The rooms are spacoius and clean, we even had an iron and board in the room.
An excllent choice fo dining from grill to poolside bar, food and presentation were excellent.
We would advise to use the |Hotel Taxi service, we hired a car and the driving in Nairobi was a nightmare.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

This was an excellnet hotel to stay in. I stayed in one of the self contained apartments. I actually ate in the restaurant though. Seemed very secure, and was certainly clean and comfortable. Evening meals were excellent quality. Would happily stay here another time. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Good value for money.

Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DaveEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

My first stay at Fairview. I'd stayed elsewhere on previous trips to Nairobi.
I loved everything about the hotel: the layout, the facilties, the staff, the location, the food. Despite being close to the city centre, it's very peaceful. It's a 15 minute walk to Uhuru Park and the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bashi_Mwepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

The best hotel you can stay in while in Nairobi. It's absolutely great value for your money. Clean rooms, very quite, lovely gardens with big pool, friendly staff. There is nothing else you could wish or ask for. While sitting at the pool bar or in the lush gardens you'll forget your'e actually in the middle of Nairobi ! The whole atmosphere is lovely. And only a few minutes away from down town. Only hotel I know that looks better in reality than on it's website !!! I know other hotels in Nairobi and I can definitely say I won't stay anywhere else anymore!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TsavoDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We just spent a relaxing and lovely seven nights at the Nairobi Fairview hotel. It was very comfortable, the staff were wonderful especially towards our lively and energetic toddler, and we all enjoyed the beautiful gardens, flowers, water feature and swimming pool. Our son kept busy every morning helping the gardners refill the numerous bird feeders. which attract a variety of colorful birds.
The hotel front desk staff helped us find drivers to take us on daily outings including a wonderful daybreak trip to the Nairobi National Park--the David Seldrick elephant orphanage, the Giraffe Sanctuary and so on.
I spent quite a while comparing notes with friends on other hotels in Nairobi and am convinced that the Fairview is a terrific "deal", as it offers a lot more than many hotels which cost $200+ a night (which are located downtown with the smog, polllution, noise and no gardens, and not terribly safe to walk the neighborhood after dark!!)
So I would heartily recommend the Fairview to anyone who is in Nairobi on business or passing thru before or after safari'ing!!
Hakuna Matata!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatmominkhartoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I recently stayed in the fairview for one night. Very reasonably priced, clean and comfortable with very friendly and efficient staff. Lovely front garden with water features and a cafef / restaurant. Sitting here, you forget you are in a capital city.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeeyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
992 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
1,133 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing