We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #7 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Telford
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here recently before flying out to the Masai Mara for a safari . The hotel was beutiful , clean , excellent choice of resteraunts serving different types of cuisine and a beautiful buffet style breakfast catering for all sorts of tastes. The rooms were comfortable with air-con and wi-fi , outside is a beutiful pool area and ornamental pool and gardens . Overall a great play to stay and one I would reccomend. Anyone concerned about current troubles in Kenya have no fear about the security of this hotel it is first class and right opposite some government buildings which has 24hr armed guards

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawesy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    328
    81
    26
    12
See reviews for
145
294
104
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed here last October whilst on 4 week trip through Africa. It was only a couple of weeks after the bombing but glad Enchanting Africa chose this place as it was very safe. It is opposite the Israeli Embassy and has high security gates and also scanners so felt very safe. Food was good, rooms lovely and the building itself is fantastic. Great pool although it was a little cool at this time of year for swimming in. The grounds are gorgeous with lots of greenery and little places to get away from it all. Open fire places in the lounges make these areas warm and inviting. Our room was in the main building but away from the restaurant and pool area and was lovely and big and quite. (above the business centre) Would highly recommend this hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnmaree101157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. Old world charm and we felt very safe, you go through security to get in and since it is next to the Israeli embassy it is very safe. The breakfast was buffet and a wide choice. Dinner beside the pool was atreat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel as a jumping off point for travel in Kenya. The rooms are clean and spacious. The location is safe and secure. The grounds are a lovely oasis in the middle of a big (sometimes intimidating) city. Most of all the customer service is superb.

I ended up getting quite sick while traveling in northern Kenya. I returned to Nairobi to see a doctor and was admitted to the hospital. My mother was staying at the hotel and they couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. They even sent me flowers in the hospital! This is a wonderful place and you cannot go wrong with staying here. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I had to make sure the Fairview got the same treatment as their amazing sister hotel, Country Lodge, so I'm posting my comments on their page as well (see below). The ONLY reason they got "Very Good" and not "Excellent" is because I didn't stay in their rooms so can't personally attest to the quality. But everything else (dining, event facilities, gift shop, etc.) was simply amazing.

In addition to the comments below about the property, in general, I also want mention that that the Fairview brilliantly handled one special event for 35 people, and a packed lunch for nine during my business meeting/retreat.

Absolutely divine, and a totally serene atmosphere. This property is were you want to come home to after a crazy day.

Complete Review:
This is my first post ever but this is how much I loved this The Country Lodge (soon to be the Town Lodge) and her staff. The facilities are more than just clean and fresh, they are serene. And the entire property (only a courtyard away is their sister hotel, The Fairview, which is equally amazing at a slightly higher price point - but worth it!) has everything (literally) you would ever need while staying in Nairobi for business or pleasure.

I actually came here for work where I held a business six day retreat/meeting and both hotels handled a majority of my needs including a welcome dinner buffet for 35 people at the Fairveiw.

Country Lodge has an amazing breakfast, great (consistent!) wifi, tea/juice every afternoon at 5pm, is totally safe and secure, and a staff that remembers your name and needs. I left on a safari for a few days and they even held my bags for me (available only if you are retuning for at least one night upon returning to the City). And they have the BEST showers with serious hot water!

There are no air conditioners and at first I panicked because I HATE being hot, but my concern was complete overkill. There are ceiling fans in each room which provided more cool air than I've ever needed (but I did stay during the winter - July).

I could go on, but no need. Unless something absolutely crazy happens in the future this is where I (and/or my team) will stay whenever in Nairobi.

Room Tip: I didn't stay at the Fairview (I stayed at their sister hotel, The Country Lodge, in the adjoini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMoore14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Totally different in a positive way, really matching with their slogan (tge country hotel in town, if you prefer quite rooms i recommend the new extension, very british old style hotel, varaity of restaurants, very well secured, not far from airport, most of plugs are 3 pin, weather is always nice but if you prefer aircon. 2nd floor rooms are equiped

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Minayounan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at the Fairview for three nights following our safari in the Masai Mara. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. More importantly, the grounds are beautiful, and there is a nice choice of restaurants if you're too tired to go out. We would definitely choose to stay there again if we are passing through Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJL543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing