We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very well-run hotel.”
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This is a very well-run hotel.”
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We flew in from Tanzania and stayed overnight in this hotel as a result of having our flight back to London cancelled.

After the trouble at the beginning of the year, Kenya is not on the UK Foreign Office's love list and we were not quite sure what to expect. We booked this hotel because it was rated No1 by Trip Advisor and we were very glad that we did. It is a high class operation.

We pursued a cautious line in all matters pertaining to security and as a precaution, requested the hotel to send a driver to pick us up from the airport and drive us back in the morning. They have a list of about 20 approved drivers and so this was not a problem.

The overall atmosphere in the town feels normal but the Tanzanians still call it "Nairobbery" so be warned. The hotel driver took us on a trip around the town and there wasn't a white face to be seen. There were South Africans, Australasians and Americans in the hotel but very few Europeans. Everybody at the hotel was friendly and courteous but the police in the town seemed more heavily armed and more aggressive than anything we had experienced in Tanzania.

The hotel is situated in a very pleasant part of town where security is good. The very pleasant hotel gardens are quite extensive but at no point did we feel vulnerable. Security is tight but non-obtrusive being governed by staff and cameras both in the hotel and on all approaches.

We stayed in Rooms 53 and 56 which were very well appointed and gave us the benefits of access to the 1st class lounge with both free internet access and soft drinks. The food was good and there is a choice of different themed restaurants to try in the evening.

Would not stay anywhere else if I wash up in Nairobi at some future point.

  • Liked — Comfort, seclusion and security
  • Disliked — No negatives
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ygor705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    376
    92
    27
    12
See reviews for
158
320
114
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

We stayed at the Fairview for 8 days in August. Our room was assigned the"first class" status, and it was. Large room with a spacious bathroom. Very comfortable bed with no complaints.
The service was attentive throughout our stay. We often dined at the restaurants within the hotel and found they offered a varied selection of foods. Security was well organized and there was always a taxi waiting to take you wherever you needed to go.
I highly recommend the Fairview for anyone who likes that personalised service that u dont always get with a large hotel chain. Well done Fairview Hotel.

  • Liked — Atmosphere and Location
  • Disliked — Had to leave as our holiday was coming to an end.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank huggme64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We loved our stay at the Fairview. We had a full day in Nairobi and this was an excellent place to spend some time and unwind.
The buildings on the property are beautiful and the setting is lush, serene and inviting.
We arrived very early in the morning and the wonderful staff arranged for us to check in early, but asked if we could wait an hour or so, so that they could get our room ready.

We had no problem with that, as the lobby is a beautiful place to sit and relax and the hotels offers free wi-fi, so we were able to plug in our computer and get comfortable in one of the many seating areas. They had our room ready in about 45 minutes.

The staff at the front desk is very professional, friendly and they were immensely helpful in assisting us with planning our day. They have taxi drivers on the premises and they arranged a trip to the Elephant Orphanage and the Giraffe Center with one of their drivers, Jimmy.
We were very pleased with his services as well, as he took us to a large supermarket with an ATM, then the orphanage. He waited outside while we spent the one hour you're allowed with the elephants. Then he took us to the Giraffe center and waited outside for us (we spent about 25 minutes here). Then he brought us to a pizza place so we could have lunch and again he waited for us. Then he brought us back to the hotel.
His charge for all of this was 4000 Kenyan shillings (about $55 US) plus tip.
We thought this was a great deal and were very pleased with him! (He's a wonderfully friendly man and if you need a driver, you should ask for him!)
Also, don't miss the Daphne Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage...it's a great experience!

We were also very pleased with our business class room. It had two twin beds pushed together, a desk, safe and fan. There was no air conditioning, but it was not really needed, especially with the fan. And being on the second floor, we felt comfortable having the windows open.
They did not provide bottled water, but the staff told us that the water from the tap was safe.
The beds were a bit on the firm side, but comfortable with nice blankets and pillows. There was also a pot for making hot water for instant coffee.
The bathroom was clean and large with plenty of counter space and a large shower with plenty of hot water and good water pressure.
There was free wi-fi in the rooms and the speed was pretty fast.
There was a TV with a lot of channels, many in English.

The hotel had many different restaurants to choose from. We had dinner at the restaurant by the pool. The food was very good and it was wonderful to sit outside and enjoy the surroundings. Beer was $3 and wine was around $8 or $9.
The breakfast buffet, which was included in our package, was large but we found the food to be only OK.

This hotel has many little enclaves outside for you to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet.
It is located right across the street from the Israeli Embassy. There are guards all over the place so we felt very safe.

The drive from the Nairobi airport to the hotel took us 20 minutes, however this was on a holiday, so expect more with normal traffic.
It took us 15 minutes to get to the Wilson airport with normal morning traffic.

We were so pleased with this lovely hotel! It was a great place to spend some down time in between safaris and it was nice to be able to use high speed internet anywhere on the property to catch up with some news.

We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone spending time in Nairobi!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2globetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

I had stayed at the Fairview in 2005 while on a study tour with 30-hour Famine/World Vision and was very impressed. So when I decided to go back with my own group there was no other choice! We had five females in our group, myself and another adult and three teenagers. I felt totally safe and secure to allow the girls to roam free. The staff is wonderful and loved having wifi in my room. The food is outstanding and very reasonable. This place is a true treasure! Can't wait to return.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovestoneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglet, France
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

High quality "country lodge" in the heart of the business district of Upper Hill in Nairobi (close to ministries and diplomatic missions). Excellent service, good restaurants (4) and breakfast buffet. Book well in advance as they have a high occupancy rate (around 98%), but if they are full try the sister "Country Lodge" next door (good clean service but les atmosphere).
All in all a haven of peace in busy Nairobi.

  • Liked — Calm location yet close to business centres
  • Disliked — No peanuts with the beer
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RMCCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 days at the Fairview. The receptionist (even though she was still a trainee) couldn't have been any more helpful. She responded efficiently (and always with a smile) to all of our requests. We felt as though all the staff had been well trained and that the hotel wasn't just relying on someone feeling in a good mood to deliver the goods.The hotel was clean and friendly and the surrounding gardens and interior were just a pleasure. We felt extremely secure and looked after. WELL DONE!

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful, lovely surroundings, comfortable
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sunflower633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Forget the same old, same old chains.
The Fairview's owners live on site, run just the one hotel, and set the standard for their staff to be friendly, considerate and efficient.
Dining options are as you might expect from a top hotel, except that the food is tastier - none of the blandness that is so common elsewhere.
Gym, pool and all the other facilities meet the standard you'd expect but have some individual details.
As someone who travels for work and sees many hotels, there are few that I'll go back to with as much pleasure when the chance next comes up.

  • Liked — Friendliness, also security
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank talkingtourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
1,007 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,142 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing