We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely stay”
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I was here for a short business trip and thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Fairview. The hotel has high security and feels very, very safe and the staff are all friendly. The grounds are super lush and the food is fantastic. I took most of my meals there and was very happy with the variety (currently pining for the fresh mango juice at breakfast and the tomatoes). It was great to sit out at one of the outdoor restaurants and listen to birds and look at the cute cats that hang out outside (one slept on my front deck area one night). The hotel feels very personal and really is "the country hotel in town." Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank LaChilindrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed again in Fairview Hotel for business trip. Exactly what you need, complete rooms without unnecessary frills, free wireless internet, nice gardens, good food. An oasis in the middle of the city. Very friendly staff. Only disadvantage is that the bars close early, but that could also be an advantage when travelling for business.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoinHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

A nice place to stay although a bit expensive and booking system needs to be upgraded. Nice rooms and nice surroundings.
The food in the various eating areas was very good although the staff struggle during busy periods. I enjoyed my meals though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CovoYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a short work trip to NBO in December and many times previously. It's well located - close to the World bank and African bank offices ( and opposite the Israeli embassy - so supposedly secure) The staff are friendly and the breakfast is delicious. The rooms are clean and work well but are not luxurious. The vibe is lovely - half Surrey and half 'I had a farm in Africa' but it's a hang out for aid workers and academics nostalgic for the Raj so watch out they don't ask 100's of questions about what you are doing in Kenya.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiscerningM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

beautiful complex, quiet hotel with nice tasty rooms, bathroom a little old fashioned but fits to the overall setup. helpful service with friendly staff........ breakfast and dining could be better - the only not being real 5 star

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miles-nd-More
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Ahhhh....once you make your way through the tight security outside, the wait is worth it as soon as you enter the grounds and garden area of the Fairview. An inviting lobby area compliments the Fairview staff (security guards, bellman, registration who greet you with a sincere "Karibu" (Swahili for Welcome). Once you have been made comfortable in your modest, clean, and comfortable room, you can then enjoy all of what the Fairview offers - many choices of great dining settings (by the pool, in the garden, or the beautiful indoor restaurant), a small but well stocked gift shop, an excellent travel agency, a well maintained and beautiful pool area, waterfalls, birds, etc. Intimate and well kept setting, the friendly staff, excellent food make Fairview a perfect place to relax, recharge, and ready yourself for the rest of your time in Kenya.

Room Tip: Take advantage of lunch on the upper swimming pool lounge area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pvirden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

First and foremost, I had an amazing experience at this hotel and I would most definitely return and recommend. I loved the grounds, the restaurants, the staff and thought my room (while basic) was very comfortable. I work in corporate security and this hotel was recommended by several of my local vendors as being the safest hotel in Nairobi. And based on my 5 day stay there, I would completely agree. It's not as high profile as the Serena, Intercon or Sankara. It's located directly across from the Israeli embassy so it's already in a highly secured neighborhood. And their security officers were very professional, thorough, but not rude (I hear they are trained by Israeli embassy security personnel). The food was amazing, especially their fine dining venue Pango (it's a must visit). I think it's worth upgrading to a first class room just for the AC and larger space, but my colleague stayed in Economy room and found it very comfortable. I loved this hotel. However, if you are expecting the Ritz or Four Seasons type of experience in terms of spa showers, limo service and concierge service, this may not be the place for you. This is definitely more of an "old school charm" type of place, and that might not appeal to some travelers. But I loved it, and if you're a bit more laid back and want an amazing experience, I would highly recommend the Fairview.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a First Class room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VivaPamplona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,082 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,187 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
1,070 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Second Ngong, Bishop road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $149 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing