We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A one off”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A one off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

Forget the same old, same old chains.
The Fairview's owners live on site, run just the one hotel, and set the standard for their staff to be friendly, considerate and efficient.
Dining options are as you might expect from a top hotel, except that the food is tastier - none of the blandness that is so common elsewhere.
Gym, pool and all the other facilities meet the standard you'd expect but have some individual details.
As someone who travels for work and sees many hotels, there are few that I'll go back to with as much pleasure when the chance next comes up.

  • Liked — Friendliness, also security
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank talkingtourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    369
    90
    27
    12
See reviews for
156
314
113
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

I was booked into the Fairview Hotel this month, using both general and conference facilities for the 48 hours of my stay in Kenya - and it was great.

I arrived on the early morning flight from London, and so was at the hotel before official check-in time, but staff sent me for breakfast and raced round to ensure a room was ready just half an hour later. I'd requested a no-smoking room, which was basic and comfortable. The whole hotel was absolutely spotless and the staff were delightful, helpful and friendly without being intrusive.

The food was delicious, the avocado, mango and shrimp salad at the pool restaurant was particularly noteworthy. The breakfast selection was comprehensive, cooked breakfast, fruit, cheeses, meats, juices, pastries.

The conference staff couldn't have been more helpful - the room was arranged as required and a request for an additional flip chart holder was met within minutes.

The hotel has been very carefully designed to maximise the impression of space - and architects have created some excellent secluded areas which really make you forget you're in the middle of a bustling city. If you're wondering whether to take a chance and book a Nairobi hotel that isn't part of a big chain, the Fairview is small, friendly and somewhere you feel like a person rather than a number.

  • Liked — Sense of calm
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Trainers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

Hotel Fairview may be a little pricey but the service and food are great. Room service was quick and just as good quality as the retaurants.
Daily room cleaning was brilliant my clothes were even folded that I had forgot lying on the bed making it very pleasant after a hard days work to come to a nice clean room.
I love the idea of a bonus scheme for the employees I will make sure on my next visit to highlight outstanding employees.

The only problem was the Wifi even though it is good I guess I am just use to European speeds.

See you in a month Fairview

  • Liked — proffessionalism of the staff
  • Disliked — slowish internet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Inmobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

I have been a visitor to the Fairview for around 8 years and have watched the Hotel facilities develop in choice and quality. There is no doubt that the investments in new restaurants, internet communications and room facilities have made a huge difference
However the major reason for my returning to the Fairview is the warmth of welcome and the great people that work there. The staff are polite and helpful and proud to be working at the Fairview which makes such a difference to staying in some of the big chain hotels.
If you are a first time visitor to Africa or to Kenya the Fairview offers friendly comfort and a feeling of security but very definitely a real Kenyan welcome. The hotel is suitable for business or leisure with good facilities for both and would suit families well before setting out on Safari.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SteveHCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

In my experience the hotel is unique, and such a breath of fresh air - a real contrast to formulaic hotels. The atmosphere is completely relaxed, the setting, the service, the building and the decor are stunning, and the accomodation and the food excellent. This is one hotel I am always really sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PhilipMHenlow_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

Stayed here one night on business and was very impressed. The hotel has a nice established feel, with red brick and stone-clad buildings, parquet wood flooring, and lots of access to fresh air (rather than air con - which isn't really necessary in Nairobi). The grounds are very green, and the location is excellent - central, and oppose the Israeli embassy (i.e. one of the safest streets in Nairobi!). If you like your hotels shiny and full of mod cons then this probably isn't the place for you, but I'd definitely recommend it for business travellers and tourists looking for a good value place in this price range. Oh, and the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank solarize_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunning
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

Staying at the Fairview was a thoroughly pleasant experience.
I had hoped that I had made the right choice and was very pleasantly surprised with my stay. As a woman travelling on my own I chose a single economy room and it had everything I needed; I was extremely comfortable and the hotel was good value.
The choice at breakfast was excellent, a variety of food and plenty of fresh fruit. I noticed a previous reviewer complained about cold eggs. One would not expect to have good poached eggs sitting in a bain marie. I am sure they would have cooked eggs to order if needed, but had some on hand for busy people. I saw people making separate orders but I thought the fruit, yoghurt, juice and toast so delicious there was no need to eat more.
I was met at the airport by a hotel taxi driven by a very polite and helpful driver. He waited late into the night when the plane arrived late and greeted me with a smile.
I found staff at the hotel friendly and helpful.
I would thoroughly recommend the Fairview to other travellers and would always stay there in future.

  • Liked — The garden and peace with the mad rush outside the walls.
  • Disliked — Steps
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LucyGunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing