We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very relaxing hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel, an oasis in a chaotic city. Economy room was of a good standard although shower was weak and needs attention. Shower gel dispenser was empty on arrival. Restaurant food is excellent. Thanks

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cashssz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    342
    84
    26
    12
See reviews for
147
297
107
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was my first visit to Kenya, so my partner booked us into The Fairview as a treat, to relax and unwind at the beginning of our holiday. We are not wealthy, so he booked a cheaper room - still nearly £200 per night, booked through tripadviser. Go direct to the hotel, if you must stay here, it was considerably cheaper.
Astounded, that a hotel of this quality and price did not have air conditioning as standard. A grotty fan, that was very noisy.
The room was adequate, the bathroom large, but dated, grubby.
No fridge, although they did provide a couple of bottles of water, (we had to ask for them on our arrival as they were missing). Hence, the water was warm, no way of keeping it cool.
We arrived early on first morning, direct from airport and very long flight. They were very accommodating, got our room ready as soon as possible. So we asked about having breakfast - they showed us in to breakfast room. On first appearance it looked like an amazing spread! But the cooked stuff was kept in hot containers, so eggs were like rubber and bacon sat in its own fat, getting harder and harder. Not that appetising. We were then charged £28 + for the breakfast.
Security was very good, and we were grateful for this.
The staff, were mostly friendly and helpful, however, there was one older waiter who gave the distinct impression that us asking for a lager and a vodka and orange was far too much trouble! He was always like this when we came across him in the four days we stayed.
I would have liked to have spent some time by the swimming pool - there were numerous tables and chairs positioned around the small pool, these were used by business people for lunches, sat in their suits and ties - not a very enticing place to strip off to your bikini and relax and swim - I tried it once, but felt I had to wait until they had all gone before I was comfortable having a dip.
I wouldn't rush back here for the extortionate price - niceish hotel - but needs some tlc and better management.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

It is a pity you did not book direct. Our rate is only £138 so the travel agent you used made quite a profit!

We are rolling out air-conditioning in all rooms. However, despite not offering aircon in economy double rooms (your choice of room), we believe £138 is great value. Our higher end rooms do offer air con so we will of course upgrade for free in future.

Our breakfast offering is known for its breadth and its freshness. Our eggs are cooked to order. We did offer scrambled eggs via a buffet-offering but we no longer offer this. Please note that breakfast is part of our room rate and you were charged as you arrived before check-in. Please get in touch with us directly as I would like to refund the breakfast charge.

Your point on swimming is well noted. We will think through alternatives to address this.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love this hotel and it has become our favorite place to stay. The restaurants are great with a wide selection of cuisine. The service was excellent and the gardens are quiet and beautiful. Perfect for business meetings or just quiet reflection.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool - 90 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Humalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Fairview has to be my favorite hotel in the world. I went there with my friend (only two of us) when we were both 16, and the hotel gave us extreme care. Fairview hosted an incredibly friendly, safe and relax atmosphere, resulting in a harmonious relation between guests which hitherto I have not found in any other hotel yet. Fairview is also said to have the best sushi bar in East Africa, according to TIME. It's just too difficult to write a review for a hotel I love so much so I would just stop here (damn it!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Min M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I booked online on 1st December for three economy double night's bed and breakfast in early January 2014. I paid the cheapest price on Tripadvisor which was £740 with Olotel. When I got to the hotel they had printed in their fixed price tariff on the reception desk - £133 per night which is £400. I want a refund of £340 but can't speak to either Olotel or Tripadvisor because they have no "contact us" online facility.
Add to this - the breakfast was very poor quality. e.g. Even when you ignore their bullet like poached eggs sitting in the heated trays and ask for fresh-cooked there is no-one in the server who understands what a soft yolk is. The room was very "tired" and hadn't seen any decoration or maintenance for years.
Very disappointing. Last time I stayed there it was great value. It was a most enjoyable experience. AVOID THE FAIRVIEW IN NAIROBI AND MORE IMPORTANTLY AVOID BOOKING WITH TRIPADVISOR AND OLOTEL!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights prior to our trip to Mt. Kenya and returned for one more night at the end. The hotel is wonderful with great service, nice rooms and meals were fresh and had varieties to choose from. We stayed in First Class rooms which were quite comfortable.

The hotel's grounds are beautiful and the setting cool in a countryside style. It is quite secure with friendly security checks. Breakfast here was tasty. The staff were quite helpful, informed and ready to help when called upon.

I recommend the hotel to others visiting Nairobi.

Room Tip: First class rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie-Kellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed at the Fairview for 4 nights in Feb 2014, after a colleague recommended it to me. It is a beautiful, colonial-style property which is far removed from the soulless international chains found in most cities. I found the Fairview to be very comfortable, extremely quiet after 10pm, and easy to get a really peaceful night's sleep in. I ate in the main restaurant (breakfast), the poolside Pwani (dinner, twice), and the garden cafe (lunch), and the food and beverage service was great. Wireless connection in the hotel was perfect. Without exception, the hotel staff were very friendly and showed great dedication to customer service. I'd highly recommend the Fairview and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryMooreRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing