We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay on way through Nairobi”
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed two nights on two separate occasions at the Fairview. We enjoyed our stay both times. The place was clean, the wifi worked, and the staff was excellent. Yes there is excess security but it is across the street from the Israeli Embassy and I would rather have more security rather than not enough. The place is large with different restaurants and a wine cellar. It hosts one of the best restaurants in the city - the Pango Brassiere. We ate there both nights and enjoyed ourselves. The service was top-notch and the food good except for maybe the lamb, but lamb in Kenya is not very good anywhere. We sat by the pool one afternoon which was also clean, quiet and relaxing for being in the middle of a big city. The breakfast was extensive and very good. If we end up in Nairobi again we would stay at the Fairview.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

We first stayed at Fairview in 2002 at which time we were impressed with the quiet comfortable atmosphere in the midst of the busy city of Nairobi. On each of our subsequent visits Fairview remained our destination of choice. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the restaurant choices adequate. The grounds are well maintained with an excellent pool. The staff is always there to assist. If you want a modestly priced hotel in a convenient city location this is it with charm and comfort.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms in the main building facing the rear or pool area, quieter and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I really liked the feel of the Fairview. Lots of wood panelling and cool pictures of the building from decades earlier. The hotel isn't part of a big chain. It's family owned and the staff showed a high level of care and attention.

The bathrooms were spotlessly clean but could use some modernisation.

Overall, this is the hotel I'd recommend to friends visiting Nairobi.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Good points:
Wifi worked well from start with a couple of small glitches. Nice quesadillas in garden restaurant, green ambience, helpful staff

Not so good:
Excessive security - needed key to get out of apartment building; no bar for socialising (unlike most Nairobi hotels). Steak was tough. Hotel was rather too fashionable/American and less African than others I have stayed with many western clients armed with laptops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_C_Exmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

When you travel a lot, you start to crave a unique feel in a hotel. This has it. Arriving at night, the security was quite tight as it is across from the Israeli embassy - but it's worth any delay. It has a covered outside bar which is busy, active with a good vibe. The hotel has a sense of history and has been family owned for multiple generations. The people working there are friendly. I had dinner in the bar and a buffet breakfast which was all good. I had a basic room ( about $190/ night - the shower water pressure could be a little better). The Wifi worked well. The grounds are lush with vegetation covering the walls. Really a nice feel to the place and the service level is very high. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: The basic room has a slightly oversized single bed, not a double, so choose it carefully. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMWtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is our third time of staying at the Fairview Hotel and we believe it to be the ideal place for our annual Nairobi visits, between each visit changes have been made that further enhance the quality/enjoyment of our stay. There is clearly a program and culture of "continuous improvement" in place, both for the facilities and the Staff. The Staff are all very friendly, capable and professional which can only result from dedicated training programs. It is interesting to note just how many of the same members of Staff have been there for each of our annual visits, this results in a personal welcome and a very relaxed place to stay. Security and safety of the guests and premises are well-established procedures, we always feel safe there.
The various on-the-premises restaurants all serve first class food, delivered with an efficient friendly service, there is something for most tastes and we know that correct food preparation and hygiene control procedures are the top priorities within the kitchens.
Without doubt we will continue to use the Fairview for all our future visits to Nairobi and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in rooms within the main building and have been very happy with them and their l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldtraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is really a hidden gem, is its among the embassy's in down town area and everything rom the history to the grounds are there for you use, relaxing tropical and most outstanding service you can imagine.
The front desk staff was helpful but somehow did not seem to think, that the customer should be priority, but must say left a piece of jewelry there and it was turned in safety and then picked up after our humanitarian trip had ended.
Really nice to sit by the large pool sipping cocktail or having a nice meal, they serve a great breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandfleagieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#12 of 169 in Nairobi
1,084 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,189 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,074 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Second Ngong, Bishop road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $149 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing