We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief overnight in Nairobi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brief overnight in Nairobi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice hotel, we were here just overnight returning from Safari in Tanzania. Reception nice. Room size good, location horrible. Windows opened to the exhaust of the kitchen. Smell and noise was not good. We needed to have the windows open due temperature in the room. Had a good wine in the dining room, meal ok. Location seemed good, was secure. It is very close to the Israeli Embassy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cglasbyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    328
    81
    26
    12
See reviews for
145
295
104
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hocking Hills
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My family I stayed here for 2 nights prior to our tour in Kenya last September We found the hotel to be quite secure and an exceptional place to relax in a countryside setting within the city.

The rooms were quite spacious, staff very friendly helpful, great meals and felt very comfortable within the hotel grounds.

We enjoyed drinks at the poolside restaurant. Food at the hotel was good and fresh stuff especially breakfast.

The hotel is located in a quiet outskirts of the city near the Israel Embassy. I recommend this hotel to those making night stops in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Found first class rooms to be nice and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McDonaldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
388 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel has the greatest garden where you can just walk or enjoy while dining. Our friends stayed in one of the ground floor rooms and their only regret was that they did not have the balcony, otherwise they were pleased. The room was facing the pool and it took us thirty seconds to get to our next - to - the - pool table for dinner. The hotel has a regular restaurant, a garden cafe, sushi bar and a wine cellar. We had a dinner and the prices were acceptable. The lobster soup was not really great, red snapper was excellent and cheesecake was totally disappointing - dominating cheese cream placed on a biscuit. Ambiance, cats (some friendly, some less friendly), pool, greenery raised the value of this meal, whereas food itself should have been much better,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here on a stopover. Very secure and safe a perfect place to arrive when you are tired and it is late. Although the bars and restaurants were closed room service was friendly and quick with very friendly helpful staff. We had a garden room near the pool and felt very comfortable unwinding sat outside our room on the veranda. Good choice at breakfast constant supply of freshly cut fruit and any variation of eggs cooked to order.

Beautiful surroundings excellent customer service would highly recommend for either a stopover or longer stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crampmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Excellent service - nothing to complain about. We needed to move a room for one of our friends and it was done with no fuss, we even got a free upgrade

Nairobi is very security ficused as you would expect, this hotel directly opposite the Isral embassy benefits from the overlapping protection

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

After a great but tiring week in the back of beyond in western Kenya, it was just fantastic to land at the Fairview for an evening. What a stylish, relaxed, unstuffy but classy place - full of atmosphere, delightfully landscaped spaces, interiors and exteriors blending seemlessly, with wonderful plants, seating areas etc. We ate very well - right next to the floodlit pool - and for exceptional value given this is central Nairobi. Steaks were good, desserts nice too. For a main + dessert and a drink or two, it was under £20 a head. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flic En Flac
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent 2 weeks in this hotel at beginning of a 3 year contract in Kenya. Serious security - you really feel safe, but the hotel is so relaxed, the rooms impeccable and the staff truly helpful.

I would choose this hotel before the more expensive options international hotels in Nairobi any day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rswooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing