We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, very secure hotel”
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Excellent service - nothing to complain about. We needed to move a room for one of our friends and it was done with no fuss, we even got a free upgrade

Nairobi is very security ficused as you would expect, this hotel directly opposite the Isral embassy benefits from the overlapping protection

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

After a great but tiring week in the back of beyond in western Kenya, it was just fantastic to land at the Fairview for an evening. What a stylish, relaxed, unstuffy but classy place - full of atmosphere, delightfully landscaped spaces, interiors and exteriors blending seemlessly, with wonderful plants, seating areas etc. We ate very well - right next to the floodlit pool - and for exceptional value given this is central Nairobi. Steaks were good, desserts nice too. For a main + dessert and a drink or two, it was under £20 a head. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent 2 weeks in this hotel at beginning of a 3 year contract in Kenya. Serious security - you really feel safe, but the hotel is so relaxed, the rooms impeccable and the staff truly helpful.

I would choose this hotel before the more expensive options international hotels in Nairobi any day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rswooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The service at the Fairview is second to none. We had a full weeks intensive workshop. Everything was perfect, super food, flexible support, great surroundings. You really struggle to find a better venue in Nairobi

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

The Fairview Hotel is an oasis in the middle of a very busy city. I appreciated the security, cleanliness, and professionalism of the staff. Nairobi is pretty crazy, and I felt peaceful and safe here amid the gardens. The food and drinks were great too, the breakfast especially amazing!!! I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank annof2manyhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked a room at Fairview through an on-line service 3 weeks in advance. The confirmation said that the rooms are booked and our credit card has been debited accordingly to the Fairview prices. However, when we arrived at the hotel the receptionist told us that the hotel is booked and that the booking has been made at the Country Lodge instead (sister hotel for half of the price and standard of the Fairview). The front desk officer was rude and claimed it is not their problem and that we should talk to the booking agent, although it was clear from the email communication that the Fairview Hotel was informed of our booking and also of the fact that we would be sent to the sister hotel. They refused to refund us for the rooms (Country Lodge is much cheaper) and all in all treated us with arrogance. All in all, the hotel refused to take any responsibility for their overbooking and the staff behaved very unprofessional. It was disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Your review is unfortunately not factual.

Your agent booked Country Lodge. Not Fairview. We have written proof of this. We showed you this proof! If you make a booking for Fairview with any travel site, and the travel site does not make a booking with Fairview, why would you hold us responsible for their error?! It is a great pity that you seem incapable of understanding these simple facts.

Can I suggest that we meet and you show me proof of your room confirmation at Fairview. If you are correct, then I will refund your Country Lodge stay.

Regards,
Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

First room was very nice and well appointed. The second room the love seat was over used. The food was very good. The pool is heated, with the cool nights that is nice. The gardens are out of this world.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tondramcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 169 in Nairobi
1,101 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
987 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
544 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Second Ngong, Bishop road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $154 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing