We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and safe”
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Welcoming and safe”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arriving at the Fairview Hotel we were assured by the level of security to enter the hotel. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. Our rooms were not allocated as booked however with minimal fuss this was fixed. Having arrived mid-evening, we were surprised that their restaurants were still serving food. Our meal, which we had at The Atrium was good and the staff friendly. The gardens in the hotel were lush and well maintained. The rooms were basic but clean. Our shower had no hot water so we took turns in using the shower in the room next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajjbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    373
    92
    27
    12
See reviews for
157
316
114
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We first discovered this little gem of a 4 years ago when we need a place to stay after arriving back from the Mara. We were amazed to see such lush green gardens amidst the hustle and busy of Nairobi. It is true old world charm and the service is impeccable. This visit which is our fourth in as many years, we stayed the night before the safari as well on our return. The breakfast buffet is great, lunch at the garden side restaurant and dinner at the poolside were great.
The room are comfortable and clean. The old wing has the best room if you like the old style charm.
Security (which some may complain about) is very important in a city like Nairobi and living next to the Israeli embassy helps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful and the gardens are lovely, however with the Israeli Embassy across the road, security is a pain. We were stopped by armed guards twice and had to produce our passports. The hotel is clean and the service is good. The rooms are well kept but rather austere. the bed was comfortable and the sheets crisp. I do not recommend eating in the one of the hotel restaurants, while the food and service are really good, the cost is astronomical and there are better, cheaper eateries in Nairobi. The breakfast buffet is really good and the chef went out of his way to make me gluten-free bread - bought my soul forever. stay there again. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CynthiaG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Fairview is a comfortable, country-like hotel just a few minutes walk from downtown Nairobi. Security is tight (an important consideration), food is adequate colonial fair, and rooms are clean and basic. We've stayed there several times and have no complaints. Not luxury, but US middle class.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YerBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

About 10 years - gardens are still beautiful, security top notch, staff, food and service brilliant.

Had one of the cheaper rooms, which was more than adequate, duvets, crisp linen, tv, lots of storage AND about 6 double sockets! My only gripe would be the lack of toiletries (liquid soap only).

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

On the one hand the photos make the hotel look very luxurious. The public rooms are tastefully decorated, however, the accommodation is very basic - bed, desk, bath and shower. Despite an effort to have a modern clean look, the feel is more akin to visiting an elderly relative who lives out in the country. One very irritating factor was the staff start cleaning and sweeping from 7am.

The food is tasty, but expect to pay hotel prices. Glass of house red is £6.20, mains are reasonable at £12, starters and deserts ~ £8.

The gym is functional but very small with limited options.

Last time I was in Nairobi I stayed at the Crown Plaza. I'll be going back there on my next visit.

A question - is this a country hotel or a business hotel? At the moment it is neither.

Room Tip: Block 5 has a lot of background noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F14-Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It was a pleasure welcoming you back for your 8th visit with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback.

You will be glad to know that we have made a change to the sweeping times and we are renovating our gym in November this year.

As for your other points, you booked an economy room at $180 which we think is great value. We do have several room categories – perhaps you can consider upgrading next time?

Our food and beverage is priced competitively.

I think it is fairly clear from the 700 Fairview Hotel reviews on TripAdvisor that we have a winning combination of beautiful gardens, charming buildings, modern rooms and fabulous restaurants.

We do hope you will return for your 9th visit! We hereby offer you a free upgrade on your next visit to one of our suites so we can spoil you with luxury!

Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Fairview. It is time to give it the review that it deserves.

Nairobi was the first stop on a 3 ½ week travel experience through Africa. Given our positive experience previously (in 2010) we decided to book a room for three nights to start off our time in Africa.



LOCATION: 
The hotel is conveniently located in relation to the main airport and downtown Nairobi. One of the main reasons for choosing this hotel were the lush grounds and enhanced security. It truly is an oasis away from the traffic and noise prevalent in Nairobi.


SERVICE:
 The level of service at this hotel is excellent. My wife and I stayed at this hotel previously in 2010 and the service has been maintained to a high standard. We were warmly and promptly greeted at reception (at 4am in the morning I might add). Throughout our stay, the level of friendliness and service exhibited by various staff members was impressive.



ROOMS:
 We had a First Class room which I would recommend. It is in a separate building away from the main building where reception and restaurants are located. The room is simple but well laid out and comfortable. My only gripe would be that given the rate charged for the room, it should be expected that hair conditioner and body lotion would be made available (which is is not). There is a safe in the room and although wifi is provided, the signal can be varied at times.


DINING:
 We had a meal in a couple of the restaurants, one of which the new menu was being introduced that day. Selection and quality was good.


This is a very nice hotel that provides a high standard of service and amenities for the weary traveller to prepare you for your next journey whether it be another flight or a safari.



We have stayed here in the past and will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Although every room is nice, it is definitely worthwhile to upgrade to a First Class room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
987 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,131 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing