We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“So Glad We Stayed Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So Glad We Stayed Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived here after flying two nights from San Francisco. The front desk was VERY efficient in checking us into a great room, which was modern, sparkling clean and quiet.

This hotel and lovely gardens are an oasis of quiet. The buildings and rooms have character, but are still modern. Hotel security was unexpectedly excellent. Felt very safe sleeping with our windows open.

Included breakfast was to die for. We had a most enjoyable dinner at their Mukutan cafe, overlooking the gardens. Food was excellent and reasonable. Plus we really enjoyed listening to Kevin Kabela, a very talented singer.

Although there are at least four or five places to eat here, you could always catch a cab or easily walk (about 10 minutes) to the CBD (Central Business District).

Staff was always excellent, polite and helpful. Even if this hotel was back in the USA, we would stay here again in a microsecond! (And we did stay here again a week later!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ultrarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    338
    84
    26
    12
See reviews for
146
297
106
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This wonderful hotel is a little calm oasis in the bustling city of Nairobi. I loved my stay there and would more than happily go back.

My room was small and basic but really nicely decorated with lovely features like a reclaimed wooden desk. It was secure too and had a room safe. Rooms look out on to the rest of the hotel and grounds below,which are beautiful.

Staff are exceptionally welcoming and readily meet your needs. I stupidly left my Do Not Disturb button on all day whilst out of the office and got a call in the early evening from Housekeeping checking I was ok and if I still wanted my room servicing.

I used the pool and gym both of which were pleasant and the gym well stocked with apparatus. There's also a souvenir shop selling goods at reasonable prices.

The food was very good and there are different restaurants to choose from. The only thing I would say is that I stayed there 3 days and the menus differ little from one restaurant to another and I was running out of ideas of what to eat. That's something the hotel might like to think about for longer stayers. But it's a small thing.

Oh and finally I mustn't forget the fab, free wifi. I had an excellent reception wherever I was in the hotel, probably the best I've ever had. First world hotels should take note!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinB06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and compliments.

Since your stay in June, we have introduced new menus in all our restaurants giving each one of them a distinct cuisine.

Regards,

Mark| Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
377 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My favorite hotel. I take work in Nairobi just to stay at this hotel. Excellent service, beautiful grounds, very good restaurants with good selection on the menu. Very relaxing place to stay and do some work. Very secure location. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so maybe ask for room on the ground floor if you have problem. Ask for room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona , California USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nice location, quiet, away from the bustling crowds. Nice place as a stepping stone for a safari. Several great restaurants ,relatively inexpensive and a wonderfully courteous staff. Free hi speed wireless internet access is a great plus.
The drawbacks could be easily corrected by the management - there is no soap ( only liquid soap in a dispenser) no shampoo, no refrigerator or a mini-bar.

The room did not have air-conditioning but did not need any, the weather in Nairobi on Aug 16 was cool 70Deg F. A desk fan was provided but we did not need to use it at all.

The place is spotlessly clean , no mosquitos and hardly any house flies.

Room Tip: ask for a room across from the main hotel on the ground floor, the rooms inside the main hotel have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalin_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and compliments.

Just to clarify on soap; the one supplied in the dispenser is both hair and body shampoo. If you prefer a bar of soap, request in future and it will be provided.

A mini fridge is available in all Suites and First class rooms. In addition, all Suites have air conditioning as well as in some Business and First class rooms. During your stay, you were booked into our business category. Perhaps you may consider upgrading to one of these rooms during your next visit.

Regards,

Mark| Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a charming old world- style hotel nestled in Nairobi. Two sitting rooms with wood-burning fires were located off the lobby with comfortable leather chairs and chess table. I stayed in rooms - the smallest I used for the day was clean, basic and small (14,800 KS) and the other was a nice studio apartment style with a desk area, bedroom and bath (tub and shower). All furnishings were modern well appointed and comfortable (18,400 KS). The staff was friendly and helpful. We ate one of the restaurants and found the food excellent with a nice presentation.

Room Tip: The older main building is where I had the smaller room at the top of the lobby stairs - it was OK f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lantana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

From the beginning to end of your stay expect to be treated to high quality and friendly service. Nothing is too much effort especially with ongoing questions. I stayed when the airport caught fire and they supported with the process, including the good travel agent attached to the hotel. I think compared to some hotels it does offer value for money especially if you're on business. Business clients are well catered for. I think the food is quite expensive and a range of prices would be helpful, for example all food is around the same price. However the food is of a good quality and they take so much care and time over preparation. There are different types of rooms but the sleep experience and bed quality was excellent enabling me to have a good nights sleep and not really want to get up! You will almost definitely want to get up for breakfast with so much on offer to choose from. It is situated in a quiet location near the Israeli embassy with great security which makes you feel good and secure. I like how it is just out of the busy centre and I can't fault the location. They have a good taxi service but be warned Nairobi traffic is often shocking and it will take time to get to places. They have a well appointed swimming pool and business facilities. If you want to stay at a safe, secure, quiet hotel with good service then the fairview is for you

Room Tip: There are different types and styles of room, choose one that matches what you want and expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

After a very long trip we arrived to Nairobe just after the fire at the International airport terminal. Once at the Fairview, we were welcomed warmly, taken quickly to our First class room and settled in. Wifi is great, the room is spotless and comfortable and the people very friendly. Not a chain hotel and owned by the same family since the 1940s. The pride of the staff is evident.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaHoo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing