We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fairview still my number one in Nairobi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fairview still my number one in Nairobi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have stayed at the Fairview for prolonged periods several times over the past few years and again this July and it is still one of my favourite hotels. The service level is excellent and the staff can't do enough for you. The rooms are maybe not a plush as some hotels but then it also a lot cheaper than other hotels I have looked and stayed at. The inclusive breakfast is very good and so is the overall dining experience.
The layout and "feel" of the hotel makes it a pleasant experience as it is not like the larger hotel chains where every hotel is the same wherever you are in the world.
Agree with previous reviewer around security procedures if you never have been to Nairobi. Don’t let this put you off the Fairview as during this trip I visited several other hotels in the centre of Nairobi all with similar security.
All in all I feel the Fairview is still the best place to stay in Nairobi........

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    351
    88
    26
    12
See reviews for
150
305
110
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at the Fairview for 3 nights in July. If you're new to Nairobi you might find the security more worrying than reassuring, (partly caused by the Israeli embassy opposite). First night I was put in the 'apartments' block that is through three security gates, over a partially closed road and through dark grounds - not nice. The main hotel is a lovely building but rooms are small and no aircon. Restaurant options are great - we tried most and the formal Pango resto was excellent. Location is OK if you plan to stay in the hotel, but not good for malls or westlands; equivalent to being downtown for airports, but beware Nairobi traffic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Regarding security- the entire hotel is very well secured and lit. We have invested heavily in security and do believe very few hotels in the Country can match this. In addition, the Israeli embassy in our neighborhood has served to enhance our security and our guests appreciate that.

Kindly note that we have several categories of rooms ranging from Economy, Business, First Class & Suites to suit our guests’ needs. We also have rooms with air conditioning in the main building of the hotel. Our economy category (the category you transferred to from the new suite with air con) provides excellent value.

Regards,

Mark| Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The area where the hotel is situated is nice. They have made a small retreat in the city. However, the rooms are not nice. They are a bit outdated, and not well equipped. Moreover, the common areas and the gym seem they have not been restored in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George73Greek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We do have various room categories which you may have seen on our website (ranging from Economy, Business, First Class & Suites) and they differ on layout as well as year of remodelling. Room renovation and upgrading of all our amenities is a continuous process. On your next visit, please request for our newly renovated rooms.

Regards,

Mark| Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nice hotel - stayed one night with friends.

Rush hour traffic in Nairobi is bad so allow extra time if you need to get to the airport during this time

Pros
Decent options for lunch and dinner within the hotel
Good sized rooms, clean and comfy
Nice communal areas
Lots of security

Cons

We didn't get to try the main restaurant as there was a private party
Our room wasn't ready as we arrived early and e staff didn't rush to let us know when it was ready we had to ask.
The rooms were quite a long walk from the main areas and there is 2 gates you need your room key card to get through but they only gave us one card. Annoying when you want to come and go to the room at a different time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My room category was "economy" with no aircon but moskio screens on windows. The room was relatively small, but clean and functional. Exceptional was the bathroom with a large shower area separated by a structure like a winter garden.

The appearance of the room is something between old fashioned or classic, but I liked it.

The restaurants were a highlight, very nice.

We hosted a seminar, presentation equipment worked, room was adequate.

Location is safe and nice, but transport to/from airport can be time consuming (2 hours are normal, but if you are lucky and your travel schedule by chance matches with some VIP, the road may be cleared by police and one can make the distance in less than 30 min)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speedster1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very old and does offer a rustic charm, however it's not worth the money they charge. Especially the no of security personals within the hotel make it more like a fortress rather than a hotel. May be the hotel owners are scared of notorious attacks but that made me feel scared too. Food is basic.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was was first time in Nairobi. I was really impressed by the service I received at the Fairview, which is still a family owned hotel. The room was spotless, comfortable and fully met my pricing expectations.

The hotel is located in a quiet and secure area of Nairobi, yet it is relatively easy to get to most places by taxi.

What really sets this hotel apart from the big chains is the passion of its staff, the quality of its five restaurants as well its sheer sense of tranquility from the big city itself.
.
I would not hesitate staying here again

Room Tip: Worth paying more for either a Business or First class room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW19man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing