We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would like to visit again here”
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had enjoyed the stay at this excellent facility in the heart of the city. Excellent location. The hotel is so green like you are staying in woods. The rooms are also very well located. The food is great. I can keep on going on the pluses.

We all loved the stay and would definitely like to stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2amishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed there on our arrival from London. Had previously stayed there in the 1960s. Much larger but still manages to keep its pleasant charm. Beautiful gardens and nice selection of places to eat with excellent food. Rooms and facilities were first rate. Staff was very helpful and friendly.What a pleasant place

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very good hotel in a charming setting. Pros: very friendly staff; very good location, excellent breakfast; very good infrastructure including a beautiful outdoor swimming pool; a wide variety of restaurants: gourmet, casual, sushi and poolside. Cons: rooms are correct but a bit austere. All in all: an excellent price-quality ratio. I fully recommend it!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arturito_Bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a descent hotel.
My dad used to take us there 40 years ago. Even now the place is still a country paradise found in the heart of the city.

The rooms are astounding,
The food awesome,
The staff very friendly, family-inclined, and professionally-trained.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kambale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here twice, one night on each occasion, as we completed various legs of our Safari. The only criticism is that getting here from the main airport during peak traffic is a nightmare. It's quite close to Wilson airport however, the airport used for all the light aircraft.

The hotel has a lot of charm, rather than being ultra modern. There are four different eating areas, and the gardens are wonderful, adding considerably to the ambience. On one night we did try their upmarket restaurant, and while one main was amazing, I thought my seared tuna steak rather plain for the price. Service was impeccable. We also used two other dining areas, and the tapas served in the main dining room were excellent. The lunch we took at the front area was excellent, being a special - burritos.

We used the gym, and it was certainly adequately equipped.

Room Tip: If its a Friday night, a room away from the bar might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days for a business meeting and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. We booked the executive board room and conference facilities were excellent. My room was simple, but clean and housekeeping kept everything nice and tidy. Breakfast and lunch in the dining room was pleasant. Best thing about this hotel are the open spaces, bright bouganvillea and lovely gardens. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claraloiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I love the Fairview! Their breakfast buffet is second to none. The rooms are clean, bright, and cheery. I appreciate the friendly staff, workout room, and beautiful environment. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#12 of 169 in Nairobi
1,087 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,191 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,074 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Second Ngong, Bishop road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $149 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing