We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #7 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The best. I have been coming here for very many years and it only gets better. Very comfortable room, excellent food, beautiful surroundings. I am usually quite critical, but here I keep looking for something to criticize, but I can't find anything. Also, the area is very safe, unlike much of Nairobi.
I thoroughly recommend the Fairview. The only problem could be that it gets very booked up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    328
    82
    26
    12
See reviews for
145
295
104
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I really enjoyed my staying at the Fairview: fantastic hotel!

I am also very happy with all the staff that I found very welcoming and always ready to help.

Nice location, nice food, perfect place to work and relax.

Would definitely advise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 128paulasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a hotel within the city that feels like a country lodge. Homely and quiet. The lawns are neat and picturisque. My wife and I stayed here for one night in the first class room, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice with a lot of variety. The lounges were relaxing. The interior gives one a sense of the Victorian era. The room we stayed in has modern interior decor, with comfort that accompanies it. Only downside was some basics were missing like a shower cap and bar soap, which after asking for were given but told had been intentionally excluded... i speculate for cost cutting. I think for the amount of money for the room, this should not be the case.

Room Tip: first class rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trottingkenyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Unfortunately i did not had the possibility to sleep here but only to spend a day and have dinner here. When you enter the hotel you can walk through to the swimming pool at the back of the hotel. Here you have a restaurant at the swimmingpool.

The staff at the restaurant is very friendly and they will serve you refreshing drinks during the day. If possible, try to get a chair at the sun terrace for some sun bathing. This is usually onluy for guests but if you ask nice maybe they help you out.

The restaurant serves good and healthy food. Nothing fancy but it tastes very good. Especially the soup. When it's getting colder ask for a bucket with cole. It will warm you up for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nielsvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Fairview hotel before and after going on safari. The staff was very friendly, and we got a free upgrade from an economy to a business room both before and after the safari. The hotel also has it's own taxi station, which we used to visit some of the attractions in Nairobi and the restaurants that we tried were all good. The hotel had everything we needed and more, and staying there made our days in Nairobi very easy to plan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Landgrove, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Has a great old world feeling with excellent service and decor. Lots of green space around the hotel with lovely gardens. We sat by the pool for dinner and had a pot of coals to keep us warm. Across from the Israeli Embassy you feel very safe staying here. The food is very good and served with style.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEBS1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
220 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

It is situated on Upper Hill and convient to business and government offices. Once you go through the gate you enter an isolated world away from the noise of the streets. Friendly and usually helpful staff. Did not get the business room requested and economy room was small but clean and adequate (not exciting) Good restaurants on premises. 10am checkout time a bit inconvenient as most international flights are late night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing