We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous grounds, tiny rooms, great service”
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 170 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel really brings to Karibu to Kenya-- just an absolute retreat from the city, and for a 2-week stay, they went out of their way to accomodate our group's needs. Wi-fi was sometimes spotty, and the food got pretty tired after a while, but there are other hotels nearby to eat if you're more long term. My only wish is that the standard rooms were larger-- I stayed one night at the Country Lodge next door, which was about 2,000 Sh cheaper and the rooms were twice as large!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Before entering the hotel you go through a security check and your bags get scanned, at this point you can definetely be sure that you have arrived at one of the safest places in Nairobi and you become curious what might expect you behind the check.
-> A incredible oasis in "the middle of Nairobi" is waiting for you. The garden is beautifully arranged, the food (no matter if breakfast or dinner) is grrreat and the rooms are nice and clean. We had booked a room in the lowest category (in the main building) which was totally fine for a I think more or less business hotel (comfortable bed, bathroom with warm water, throughout clean, safe, table, TV, free Wi-Fi and a water kettle with complimentary tea and coffee). When staying in the hotel I recommend exploring the compound and having dinner at the pool side. Don't have too much for dinner as the breakfast buffet offers a wide range of everything. The only pitty in those 2 days was that my husband, who needs a strong coffee in the morning was not able to get one. I can definetely recommend the Fairview Hotel in Nairobi!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kenegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Lovely grounds, garden and public areas. Good choice of restaurants and friendly service. Rooms are fairly rustic, but have everything you really need. Free internet is a good bonus, with data charges being so expensive in Kenya.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on business recently. I enjoyed my stay, the gardens are lovely with lots of nooks and crannies to explore. The public areas are very pleasant. Restaurants were good, and the one upstairs was exceptional. Good selection at breakfast. The room was small but adequate for business purposes, with a good sized desk and free wifi. The bathroom felt a bit old fashioned and could do with a facelift. Overall it was really nice to stay somewhere that didnt have that sterile business hotel feel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at the Fairview for a week and experienced three rooms because of some in-country travel. Each room was very comfortable with a very nice bathroom. The grounds of the hotel as so peaceful and lush and a wonderful break from Nairobi traffic. The most impressive thing at the Fairview is the exceptional staff. Every single person with whom I interacted on my stay was so kind and helpful and went out of their way to make my stay a special one. I highly recommend the Fairview to anyone traveling to Nairobi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJSMedfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a marvelous time we had. Our room was fresh, clean and very well appointed. The bed was magnificent. Lots of space a/c was optional the overhead fan was perfect for this time if year. The bathroom was to die for, sunken tub, rain shower plus regular shower.

The food was excellent especially the variety at breakfast. The pool restaurant was very good, nice selection of wine.

We will most definitely be back, and stay longer next time 2 nights was not enough. The only negative part was having to leave.

Room Tip: The first class room and bathroom is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimberleyyTehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Recently stayed here for a week on business, good size room with no air con and rather tired bathroom but well proportioned and good size plug in fan which was sufficient for this time of year. The on site restaurants are ok if a little repetitive after a while, though a good selection at breakfast. The pool was excellent and clean and the gym basic but functional. Reasonably good short run in nearby Uhuru park but a little soft underfoot in rainy season. Travelling to meetings can be a nightmare in rush hour but many places walkable. The price is inclusive of all taxes and charges which is different to many others and the staff are always friendly and happy to correct my rudimentary Swahili. The wi fi was a little intermittent and slow but sufficient. Would return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smarshy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#4 of 170 in Nairobi
565 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 170 in Nairobi
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 170 in Nairobi
559 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 170 in Nairobi
1,208 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 170 in Nairobi
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Second Ngong, Bishop road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $157 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing