We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A bit of History” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A bit of History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Fairview Hotel is one of the nicer hotels in Nairobi. It is an old colonial building that has been in the same family for many years. The first thing you will notice is the very tight security. Even the entrance feels like an airline security check including an x-ray scanner for the bags. Once past the entance the grounds are absolutely beautiful. The reception staff are friendly & efficient.
The standard rooms are a bit 'boxy'. Try and stay on the ground floor near the entrance (rooms 1 to 3), they are a little larger. If you have longer hair, take your own shampoo. They provide a combo showergel /shampoo & the tiniest bar of English leather soap I have ever seen.
The rooms are basically in blocks & you need your key just to enter the block. The staff are super helpful & efficient.There is an amazing restaurant upstairs that has its own wine cellar downstairs. If you are not a patron of the restaurant you unfortunately cannot have a wine in the cellar. All the other restaurants on the property are also good with the one at the entrance serving really good pizza's and/or sandwiches. We had a conference there & the conference rooms were also nice with a great variety of good quality teas. Overall the Hotel is good value for money & right in town. The breakfast is your standard hotel fair, but tasty & well prepared.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    356
    88
    26
    12
See reviews for
151
308
110
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Fairview hotel is in a good and safe location. The hotel has good Wifi throughout the hotel. There are good restaurants and offers an excellent fine dining experience .
The down side for me personally is that I felt the hotel is slightly tired. The rooms are in need of an upgrade although reasonably comfortable. A but of luxury needs to be added. The rooms are very bland .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We do have various room categories which you may have seen on our website (ranging from Economy, Business, First Class & Suites) and they differ on layout as well as year of remodelling. Room renovation and upgrading is a continuous process. On your next visit, please request for our newly renovated rooms. The room you stayed in will be renovated within twelve months.

Regards,

Daniel| Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I recently stayed at the Fairview Hotel for 4 nights whilst conducting business in Nairobi. The rooms were basic but very neat and clean. the linen and towels were in good condition. My room was far away from the dining hall, which can be noisy. The service received was brilliant and the meals were great. I would choose the Fiarview over any of the big hotels.

Room Tip: specifically request a room far away from the dining hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Fairview four or five times whilst on business trips to Kenya. This is by far my favourite hotel anywhere. The buildings are are not particularly beautiful, the rooms are not ostentatious and you actually get to open your own doors, unlike some 5* hotels where they even breathe for you, whether you like it or not!

But sitting in the beautiful gardens of the Fairview as day turns to night; listening to the waterfalls babbling, the frogs croaking in the ponds, the birds in the trees, and watching the lightning flickering in the sky is magical. As it cools down a thoughtful employee has anticipated this by placing a charcoal brazier next to me - Nairobi is 6000 feet above sea level and it often gets quite cool at night even though it is on the equator. All this bang in the middle of the capital city of Kenya.

I could go on; but if you appreciate highly professional, discreet but never obsequious staff who clearly enjoy their jobs and like their customers; a choice of restaurants all serving excellent and varied cuisines; a beautiful pool; lush, immaculately tended tropical vegetation; trees with their latin and local names on them; if you need a break from glitzy chain hotels and the hurly burly of the world in general, then you must stay at the Fairview in Nairobi. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the economy rooms which are in the main building - these are fine and good value. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshireGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is sure a gem in the city. It has a beautiful serene garden with lots of real fruit trees, giving it an authentic countryside feeling.
The food is really good. The hotel serves as good meeting and relaxing place.
I went for lunch with a business partner/ friend and although the food and environment was excellent, the service was too slow. It took an entire 45 minutes before I got any attention. This should definitely be looked into especially given that lunch hour is short and someone like me is looking for a quick, and exiting lunch in the best place possible.
Prices are fair and cleanliness is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms near the swimming pool. They have an excellent garden view and are really private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hjkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo,
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although not the cheapest in Nairobi, but one of the best. Helpful and polite staff. Rooms clean. I have stayed there numerous times, and I am coming back!
For some extra luxury go for one of the spacous rooms in the "park"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abut0ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the Fairview for four nights. Was impressed from arrival at the welcome of staff, the size of the room and overall quality of furnishings. Food at breakfast and restaurants was of good quality. Choice was not extensive but quite alright. There was an interesting basement wine bar that I did not get a chance to visit. Service all round was very good.
Now for one negative...or room for improvements...
The equipment in the gym was ok. The gym itself was decent size but not great. But for a hotel of this quality I might expect more than 2 running machines one of which was broken and the other of which failed when I was running. Worth the hotel looking at to make sure that they are keeping up with expectations of guests.
So if you are not a regular gym user, this is a great Hotel. If you run then check with the. Hotel before booking in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kontiki-T60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing