We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fairview hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #6 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fairview hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent hotel , good thing about fairview is what they quote is what you pay. Unlike other hotels price is given over the phone at fairview a price is given on brochure .the hotel is very fairly priced and the breakfast is excellent . The room rate is with breakfast .

There rooms are bigger in size and spacious with shower . All rooms are non smoking , they have good restaurants as well and business centre , they have a sister hotel country lodge which is on the back side of the hotel and is equally spacious . The gardens are well main tend . This hotel works very straight forward with there clients also they have a taxi stand and have there selected appointed drivers who will give you a right pricing according to the hotel tariff . A romantic place to start your safari . The rooms are with card entry and have a large working table . The bed sheets they use is from slumber land . What I can say excellent value for money and very Eco friendly and has excellent gardens ,

Room Tip: Do not take a room near the workers entry gate , as the gate is electronic and is a steel gate which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    349
    84
    26
    12
See reviews for
149
302
107
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed there for one night on our honeymoon before heading to Maasai Mara. The hotel is amazing, like all reviews said. Very beautiful grounds, the food is excellent, everything is really nice. However, we were disappointed there, after booking the executive suite for this night, we were asked there to take another room (one category less) because someone else wanted the suite. It was not a very big deal, the other suite was also nice, but I was shocked that I am downgraded on my honeymoon not the other way round. I mean, if the suite was not free they should not have allowed me to book it from the beginning. They did not even give any compensation or compliments to compensate for this act. So, to summarize, the hotel is great, and it really deserves all the positive reviews, but the staff should have acted a lot better with our case.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Manager at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am disappointed that this happened; apologies. We do not believe in charging full for services not enjoyed and therefore offer to discount your room by 50%. Please get in touch with us on book@fairviewkenya.com so as to initiate the refund process.

Kind Regards,
Daniel Szlapak
Joint Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Loved the beautiful grounds and tranquil setting and a super pool great to chill out after a long haul flight. Only a 10min 300 shilling cab ride to downtown Nairobi (it was Sunday afternoon). Nice friendly and efficient service. We'll be back if in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dugnano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Most of what is said below on the positive side is accurate - with one exception, do not stay in an economy level room. They are very small and unattractive. The room we were given stood over a common restaurant and odors from the cooking permeated the room in the morning when breakfast was being served. We upgraded (and paid for) to a first class room overlooking the garden the next day and enjoyed the positive aspects of this resort stated below in other reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely colonial hotel with good services for business. They have a good gym which is rare. Fast internet and the hotel has a lovely atmosphere. Very laid back and calm it definitely takes you out of the hustle and bustle of the city. Stay here if you can. FYI, rooms are clean, but as it is an old hotel some bits are a little old and tired.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have been staying in the Fairview every time I come to Nairobi over the last few years and never consider going anywhere else unless it is fully booked.
I stayed with my husband in this lovely hotel again feb 2013 and we enjoyed the atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff, the food, the gardens - in short - everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
431 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The reviews calling the Fairview an "oasis" are right on - couldn't describe it any other way. Since it's located near the Israeli Embassy and governmental buildings, security is high. It was the only place that put our luggage through metal detectors. Our room was small but clean and quiet. Staff was welcoming and helpful. The surrounding gardens are beautiful and well kept. The common areas are luxurious and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was amazing. There was a huge variety of cold and hot options served in a comfortable environment. We only had a one night stay and now regret, not delaying the start of our safari for another. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#15 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing