We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel I've stayed in”
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 168 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was my 4th stay at the Fairview since 2005, I've never stayed anywhere else in Nairobi in spite of the fact that it can sometimes be difficult getting a room as it's often full.
On this visit, I thought the hotel was even better than before, they're continually improving it. Reasons why I like it so much are:
- the beautiful grounds, 5 acres I think. Since my previous visit, they've put in a lovely water feature in the front garden - sounds naff but it looks very natural and has been well designed. Stepping into the hotel after a busy day in Nairobi & often dreadful traffic is magic! And all the paths throughout the hotel & grounds have been nicely designed with good stonework;
- the staff, they're unfailingly friendly & helpful;
- the food, the hotel now has 4 or 5 different places to eat but I always prefer the restaurant beside the pool - good choice of dishes at reasonable prices. Excellent breakfasts;
- the rooms, I was in an economy room on this trip (for 2 weeks) and it was fine. Not large but it had everything I needed - comfortable bed, free wifi, good shower, bottled water, good TV (with BBC), plenty of power points.
- security, very tight security to get into the hotel & good security throughout;
- lovely pool and a small but adequate gym.

I've stayed in many hotels throughout the world (admittedly not in hotels like The Savoy or Claridges) but the Fairview is my favourite because of the way in which everything harmonizes together to a very high standard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Voigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Fairview is a comfortable hotel on the edge of luxurious in a secure, manicured campus of restaurants, bars, a shop and a large pool. Built in the British style, it has various corners with large leather chairs which helps it serve as an ideal meeting place when on business - everyone knows the Fairview. The restaurants are excellent, ranging from formal to poolside. Security is very good, parking is available, wifi throughout. An excellent business hotel that is out of the congestion of the city centre, yet a short taxi ride, where you can relax at the end of the day and talk with the many safari groups that pass through.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GT800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We used this hotel as an overnighter between flights. We arrived into NBO at 21.40 and got to the Fairview about 22.30 and the first problem was getting into the hotel as the gate was locked and no one was answering the door. Not a good start.
We were leaving the next morning at 06.40 and so a good nights sleep would have been nice. We were in room 24 (business class room) which faces the road/car park and there was quite a bit of noise from there, but this was nothing to the sound of scrapping tables and staff chat at about 4.30am as they were setting up for breakfast, the management need to get the noisy staff to shut up as it is disturbing guests that are paying £145 for a sub-standard, old and tired room. Surely the basic entitlement when staying in a hotel is to be afforded a bit of peace and quiet so as to enable sleep?
The breakfast was excellent and indeed was one of the best I have had.

We are returning to Nairobi in February and shall be staying elsewhere. This is the first time I have been let down by a hotel that was in the No1 spot on TA!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road or anywhere near the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Antipest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We used this hotel for our transit in Nairobi. Safe, secure reasonably priced.
The traffic in the center of town is prohibitive this really works if using Wilson airport and JKIA.
Garden restaurant, friendly & helpful staff

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelswithsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The location is great if you need to work in Upper Hill (World Bank/IFC offices - walking distance); the restaurants are good as is the service. I would not recommend the economy rooms as they have a single bed, are very small and are right above the hotel area with a piano. The other rooms (stayed there before) are way nicer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I come to Nairobi a couple of times a year on business, and so have stayed at the Fairview for about 2 months of each of the past few years. As I leave home, sad to say goodbye to my family and dreading the long travel and airports, I picture the front desk at the Fairview and the friendly face that I will find behind it welcoming me back, and it makes it all okay. If you have to spend as much time as I do in hotels, having friendly staff greet you by name, assist with your every need, and smile at you every time you walk by, means so much. It makes this place seem like a second home to me. I would never stay anyplace in Nairobi.

And that's not mentioning the gardens...
The hotel is laid out over a couple of acres, with gardens and building jumbled together, none of which have doors, just open entrances so it is hard to tell where the gardens end and the buildings begin. And there are many secret gardens and hiding places, fireplaces with fires buring in the chilly mornings, and never-ending walkways leading to other discoveries. After at least 5 or 6 long stays at this hotel, on my last visit, just discovered for the first time a new garden, complete with a mini-swimming pool!

The food is very good, the security seems excellent, but while the Internet is free, it is slow - impossibly slow some evenings. The taxi drivers recommended by the hotel are terrific, the gym is also very nice, and the hotel is known for its extensive breakfast buffet. Everything is lovely. Order an omelette or cooked-to-order eggs from the chef.

Room Tip: In my opinion, the best rooms are the First Class rooms on the garden side - across an alleyway from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOneno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here on business for a couple of nights. Staff at reception and in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. The place is beautifully laid out and oozes a bit of colonial charm without overdoing it. My single room was smallish but perfectly adequate. There was a fan but no AC which did not bother me since the nights were cool. Breakfast and the two meals (one of them buffet lunch) that I had in the main restaurant were fine. As is so often the case even in good hotels, the filtered breakfast coffee was too strong and bitter after sitting on the stove for ages...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zwenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#9 of 168 in Nairobi
512 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 168 in Nairobi
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 168 in Nairobi
1,171 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 168 in Nairobi
519 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $156 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing