We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

First stay in Nairobi and was pleasantly surprised. Good value. Lovely gardens and plenty of options for eating inside the hotel. Wireless everywhere so great for working wherever you are. Particularly liked the pool area. Stayed in a Business Class room which was good enough. Staff friendly. Great value 4 star. Will be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skud77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    375
    92
    27
    12
See reviews for
158
317
114
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was in Nairobi for work and my Kenyan colleagues had recommended the Fairview Hotel.
I loved the site with greenery, flowers, trees and waterfalls. Inside the dark wood and decoration add warmth and are very charming. I had a business-size room which was very comfortable and clean. All staff were smiling and pleasant. The hotel has five restaurants onsite; the food and portions are very good.

Room Tip: Business-size rooms are good. However, if you require a fridge and A/C, you will need to upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne_sophied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was my first visit to Nairobi and I wasnt sure what I would find. What a lovely surprise and what a delightful place. I had a room in the section "over the road" from the main hotel and it was so nice, quiet, just like being in a lovely apartment complex with beautiful gardens and peace and quiet.

The amenities in the main part of the hotel were fantastic with something to please everyone. the gardens were divine.

Room Tip: I loved being in the section over the road from the main complex as it was so quiet and so "unh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Fairview on and off for more than two weeks. We began and finished a series of safaris at the hotel. We were offered the same room on each return, which we felt was thoughtful. Our room, by the pool, was smallish but it was perfect for our needs. Clean and smart. The bathroom was large with bath and separate shower. The water takes some time to run hot but that's all right.

The hotel is located next to the Israeli Embassy and so is in a highly secure location which some people think is important in Nairobi. The gardens are beautifully kept and so is the pool.

We liked the international food served by the pool but would have liked to try some African dishes but none were available. We didn't try the smart dining room as we didn't have the right clothes with us but appreciated the First Class Lounge The extensive breakfast was terrific.

There's always a warm welcome at the Fairview. The staff are all very helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Everything is done with a smile and at speed. In true old style, if your are going on safari, you can leave luggage that you don't need and pick it up later for the next leg of your trip. That applies to laundry too.

We liked the Fairview a great deal.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueziders, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

nice hotel from about 1930 with a lot of style and a nice garden- unfortunatley my room was stuffy and smelly -the furniture worn down . Food (pizza) was at best average but the breakfast was great on the plus side the serrvice was excellent . in summary -someone who wants to spent 160+ US per night for a lot of style is at the right place -someone who wants to have value for money maybe not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veere, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

i am staying for 2 weeks in the Fairview hotel in nairobi hills with my husband and i highly recommand this one should you look for a place to be in Nairobi city center but still with the feel of being out in the country with lush gardens, scented air of the blossoms of the jacaranda tree (october), beautifull birds drinking from the ponds and many places to sit and eat outside or inside. the staff is better than most hotels i have staid here, (no stalking for tips and less pressure to consume more). we first had a little room above the piano in the atrium and we did not like to be there for that long (the smoke of the fire came in the room and the pianoplay was getting on our nerves after 2 days) so we asked for a more quit room, they gave us a spacious room in another building with a beautifull gardenview and with even a small almost private swimmingpool in the garden. the breakfast is enormous and also very good like all the food here, and there are nice leather clubfauteuils to sit in at the evening at the wooden fireplace to read or play chess at the chesstable with wildlife wooden carft pieces, for that old colonial luxury feeling i know from the movie Out of Africa, or the book 'the temptress' i bought in the hotelbookstore. also recommandable, good collection and friendly priced!

Room Tip: if you like gardens, sounds of running water and birds, quit spacious rooms , ask for a room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariska129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Fairview Hotel has a great reputation. It's nearly always fully booked, so I was pleased to get in for a short stay over the weekend. Everything is pleasant - no more than pleasant - apart from a very good breakfast. But at almost $200 per night, bed and breakfast, it certainly does not present a good value-for-money proposition. The rooms are small and poorly furnished. The restaurants are over-priced and under-staffed. As an example of the cheese-paring appproach, when I checked out, I asked if I could pay in US Dollars. "Yes" came the answer. "Our rate is 79 shillings to the US Dollar". Now, that's 3 shillings worse than the Serena Hotel (a far more luxurious hotel) and a full 6 shillings worse than the Forex Bureaux in the City Centre. And that's what I don't like about this hotel: it markets itself directly to tthe fully-expensed international business traveller who isn't troubled by these aggressive practices. This is why I'd rather be a shareholder than a guest in the Fairview Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomAdlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write although I do feel your rating is unnecessarily harsh. The rate you paid is $172 inclusive of breakfast, wifi, and 28% government tax. I am confident that, for a hotel of our standing which affords its guests the comfort of 5 acres of lush grounds in the middle of Nairobi, our rates represent OUTSTANDING value.

As to your point on exchange rates: We are definitely not in the business of “nickel and diming” our guests. I think our all inclusive rate is a reflection of this as is the fact that we were the first hotel in Nairobi to offer wifi for free. I will, however, certainly review the dollar exchange rate (which only applies to 3% of guests who prefer to not pay by credit card or cheque) to ensure we are competitive within the Nairobi hotel market.

Regards,

Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
992 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
1,133 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing