We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holey Moley! What a place!”
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Holey Moley! What a place!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel thoroughly deserves its current number 1 rating. Spending time there actually seemed to recharge me, whereas a typical business hotel is a bit draining.

PROS: Virtually everything. Spotlessly clean room which is very well equipped. Reliable hot water. Super comfy bed. The grounds are immaculate (good job gardeners!). Breakfast. On site restaurants. This hotel in another city would cost 3x as much. Super safe. Across from the Israeli embassy, so men with AK47s patrol. There is a sign which reads "Nairobi's safest street" -- I believe it!

CONS: I have to strain to list them. The one thing they could improve is service at the front desk. I don't know if it is a Kenyan thing, but several times I came to the front desk and was either ignored or the staff member made eye contact but said nothing. I expect a "Good morning, sir, how can I help you today?" Also I wish the pool stayed open until late. If you work all day and come back to the hotel at 7pm, the pool is already closes. Seems a waste.

When I return to Nairobi, I no longer need to hotel shop. This is the place!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zmrzlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    375
    92
    27
    12
See reviews for
158
317
114
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed in the hotel twice in July, passing through Nairobi en route to other locations in Kenya. The first stay was marred by our arrival, we'd been travelling for 15 hours with 2 children. In spite of having confirmed our reservation in June with our credit card details, we were advised that there were no rooms available & we were being transferred to a sister hotel. As our pick up with the safari co. was arranged for 7am the next morning from the Fairview we were not happy to move & eventually rooms were found for us. Things improved thereafter, food & service was great but the rooms were pretty basic & a bit worn. Fine for the odd night but not for a prolonged stay. On our return we had more time & ate at their fine dining restaurant, Pango, which I would highly recommend to all serious food lovers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthonhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Fairview conference facilities offered the most modern facilities that I have experienced to Nairobi to date.
Excellent projection, sitting space, conducive for an conference.
The staff members were helpful and the snacks, meals were also exquisite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

First impression was not good - Room 47 a very small "business class" room, close to the road and noisy, with no armchair to sit in as there was not enough space. Looked much like my Uni res room 30 years ago - sparse was the word that came to mind. I had requested a garden room, due to my length of stay but did not realise there was a price to pay for the direct garden access.
My colleague had the room next door, which was miles bigger - armchairs etc, at the same rate.
However - the next day I asked to be moved due to the noise and was given Room 34 in the main house. Much more like a business class room, with space to swing a small lion, 2 armchairs, separate shower, but the compromise of losing the lovely flat screen TV in 47 for an old square unit bolted onto the wall - new TV please Sir?
After that all was excellent, with the pool area a haven after a busy day at work, and the crazy Nairobi traffic. Found the menu at the pool area to be the most comprehensive, a sum of the menus in the other areas, so had meals next to the pool most nights.
Bird watching was excellent, with a few great view of the sunbirds hard at work.
A negative is the huge building being constructed right next to the hotel - lots of bashing and crashing on Saturday when relaxing at the pool, but such is the nature of building and the noisy work should soon be completed.
Gym was just right, and the pool will be great in summer when the water is a little warmer for a sploosh.
In summary - excellent haven in the centre of Nairobi, in the HIlls area.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room in the main house as mine was better quality than the garden room - no w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bushwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my wife for 2 nights at the Fairview in a first class room and what a great stay it was. We arrived at 7am and half expected them to tell us to come back later but they gave us a day room so we could shower and rest which was a life saver after a long trip and is testament to the terrific attitude of the staff. I can really only rave about how fantastic everything was. The gardens, the restaurants, everything was terrific and those beds are the best ever! So comfortable.

The only thing I didn't find perfect was the lack of any heating solution as it was quite cold. However an extra blanket was provided so after a while we were warm enough in bed but walking to the bathroom and back was a chilly affair.

Otherwise a perfect stay in an amazing hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chookmeister69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is an African 5 stars lodge in the hearth of the city: easy to reach main points in Nairobi.
Most safe and charm hotel in Nairobi

Room Tip: Rooms are large and comfortable. It is divided for three sections: Business, bedroom and large bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avi052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were apprehensive about our one night stop over in Nairobi before going on to the mara but we needn't have been. This hotel exceeded all expectations and we wished we'd have had longer! Check in was swift and the lobby very welcoming and comfortable with great decor. We were given a ground floor room but requested a first floor one for our own piece of mind, this was no trouble for them at all and done instantly. The entire grounds are heavily secure and being in stones throw of the Israeli embassy no intruders were getting anywhere near Fairview!

Our room was comfortable, with tv, desk, ceiling fan and a nice big bathroom with separate shower cubicle and bath. Our room overlooked the front grounds with the beautiful water feature which adults can wonder up and over. Everything in the room was clean and perfectly serviceable.

Having only one night we didn't get the chance to explore every nook and cranny of this intriguing hotel but we did manage to enjoy drinks in the outside bar&restaurant which were very pleasant and we were serenaded by a brilliant guitarist/singer with a mean Louis Armstrong impersonation, lovely touch!

We then popped to the upstairs restaurant and treated ourselves to a full on dinner here and wow what can I say the food, the service, the amuse bouche, the glass of sparkling upon sitting down, the wine...everything about this dining experience was top class and in our opinion 5 star. The only sad thing was the lack of other diners but it did start to get busier as we neared the end of our meal. If only for this restaurant experience alone we will be returning to the Fairview for a longer stay!

Breakfast we cannot fault. Loads of choice, whatever sort of a breakfast person you are you will be catered for. Could have sampled everything but we were fit to burst having tried an array. Definitely the best breakfast we enjoyed during our 10 nights in Kenya. We look forward to staying again and wished we'd have gone here again rather than the beach resort we ended our honeymoon in.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PlatinumQueen1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
992 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
1,133 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing