We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Surpassed expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #7 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Surpassed expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

From the accurate information about how to get a taxi from the hotel, to the on-time, courteous and inexpensive airport shuttle, through the unexpectedly well-equipped (single, economy) room, the amazing breakfasts, caring service... I went on business and would return there on holiday.
The pool was lovely, the gym looked great, there is a sun-lounger area above the pool so sun-bathers aren't disturbed by people having meetings around the pool and the restaurant food was just great.
Moreover, for Nairobi, it wasn't too expensive.
And the WiFi works (and is free).
The only caveat is that if you want to get into town, this hotel is quite a way out (in traffic). The up-side is that it's near the airport so you're more likely to catch your plane home!

Room Tip: I had a single economy but it was more than adequate - nice sized bed, shower, good sized desk for w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clownface10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    328
    82
    26
    12
See reviews for
145
295
104
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed for three months in their apartments and got to know the hotel, the restaurant, the staff, and the grounds very well. In a word, this place is stunning. It is a small city reinventing itself nearly every day to deal with the variety that is Kenya. Power goes out? The generator kicks on in seconds. Internet cable gets cut in Mombassa? The staff immediate send out word by phone and memo what is happening. Not enough pool seating? Within days, they built a pool bar to seat more people. No, this is no cookie-cutter place. No place like that would be in business for over a half century. Every time I threw a wrinkle at the staff (like storing blankets and equipment for 20+ South Sudanese orphans we were helping), they found a way to help us with a smile. The food was good, the service friendly and very African. When we come back, you can bet your buttons that this is the place we'll go.

Room Tip: If there is something you need, just ask. They aren't superhuman, but they are great at doing am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I spent three weeks here while on business in Nairobi and loved every minute of it. Carefully prepared food -- especially the amazing breakfast buffet -- gorgeous grounds, pristine swimming pool, and even a fire pit where a group of us enjoyed a campfire one night. All of the staff were so welcoming and the rooms were spotless. I also enjoyed the best cup of tea I've had in all my travels at this hotel! I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: I stayed in the modern new wing across the road and through a gate from the main building. It was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to our flight back to the Uk following a wonderful safari organised for us by JT Safaris although we booked this hotel ourselves as a result of searching the web for a good hotel in Nairobi. We were impressed with the security at the hotel and as a result felt extremely safe. When we booked in we found that our rooms had been upgraded and we had two suites. We ate in two of the restaurants and found the food to be really good in both. Staying here was a delight, we were very impressed.
Keith, Diane and Mathew

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nimdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I think most people who travel a lot for business have a favourite hotel which they keep coming back to. The Fairview in Nairobi is mine. Surely I have been to more luxurious and modern hotels but the Fairview is like a home-from-home and you cannot really beat that. The grounds of the hotel are stunning and peaceful and you feel relaxed the moments you are inside the hotel compound. I have only stayed in the First Class rooms which are great, very African and woody with a airy feel to them. At this stay I was upgraded to a suite which was even nicer. All first class rooms have massive bathrooms. Breakfast is good and have a good variety. The pool bar serves good pizza and is a great place to hang out for a few Whitecaps. Tried the formal restaurant during this visit which was very good.
The best thing about the Faiview is its stay staff always helpful, smiley and efficient. I will never stay anywhere else in Nairobi

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolfbusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel is the best hotel in Nairobi. On the way from the airport our driver pointed out many high priced hotels which he claimed were great.
However after I left the Fairview Hotel after my 1 night stay (awaiting safari) I knew I found the best hotel in town. Whether on business or pleasure the Fairview is perfect for everyone. I was very lucky with this find.

CR Bradenton, FL.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

did a 4 day safari and stayed in the fairview for 3 days afterwards....really nice clean hotel , relaxing atmosphere with nice food...my only criticism is that around the pool it is set up for diners ( sunloungers up the stairs on a balcony area) and feels kind of wierd trying to have a swim with 20-30 people eating and watching you! that said had a great time and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee2806old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing