We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great place to relax and enjoy Kenya, well worth staying in, very secure, has appartment type rooms separat e from horel if requested

Room Tip: very secure area if worried
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank socoBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    341
    84
    26
    12
See reviews for
147
297
107
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly. GORGEOUS building - full of all mod cons and yet retains an air of history. Wonderful building and grounds. We were only here for one night, which was a shame, as we were busy around Nairobi, so didn't get to spend as much time at the hotel as we'd have liked. They arranged for us to hire one of their on-site taxis for the afternoon at a good rate and so we could pack a lot into a short amount of time. When we arrived back, the pool was officially closed for the day, but they opened it for us so we could have a swim. Room was fine and the general ambience was FANTASTIC with wonderful grounds too. Breakfast is UNBELIEVABLE! Really gorgeous buffet, but with a home-cooked feel - eggs florentine, waffles, pancakes, fresh fruit, mint tea, hot chocolate etc... EXCELLENT quality. We were sorry to leave and could not recommend this place more highly.

Also a great location - about 20 mins from airport (not in rush hour) and easy access to Giraffe Manor, Carnivore Restaurant and Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage too... Does really feel like a country retreat in the middle of the city!

Room Tip: We had a room in the main house (no 19) - would recommend staying in the main house if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed here enroute to the Masai Mara and Serengeti. It was a lovely hotel with beautiful grounds. The bathrooms are rather dated, but with hot water so not to worry. Note that the water is hard and it's almost impossible to lather with the little bar of soap they provide. Luckily we brought our own shower gel.

The mattress was very comfortable - we slept so well.

I liked the breakfast buffet - plenty of variety and hard to try everything in one breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wswong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Having stayed her twice, once in '11 and now in April '12, I think this place is fabulous. Great country ambiance despite being centrally located in city. Excellent service in all areas, good food, very nice (and spotlessly clean) rooms, gorgeous gardens and as you may know, very tight security. Forget the big business hotels. This is the place to stay.

Room Tip: I like the garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel surprisingly right in the middle of the city. We loved the open air feeling, the terrific service and the good food. We stayed at a much more expensive place in Karen after the Fairview and didn't enjoy it nearly as much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Spent several nights at this hotel. Security, common areas and restaurants were wonderful. Unexpected quality. Ate at every restaurant in hotel and each was fabulous. Rooms were fair. Not the quality reflected in the rest of the hotel. Ceiling fan didn't work. Bed linens "scratchy" and entire room felt "old" and outdated. Staff was wonderful so as long as you are prepared for a slightly below average room, you'll enjoy the stay.

Room Tip: Check that the ceiling fan works immediately. If not, get another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Kindly note that we have several categories of rooms ranging from Economy, Business, First Class & several suites to suit our guests’ needs. Our economy category (the category you stayed in) provides excellent value - we look forward to accommodating you in one of our other categories on your next visit.

Regards,

Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed in the Fairview as last stop of our honeymoon. Overall a disappointing experience given the reputation and cost

Positives:
Beautiful old hotel and lovely grounds.Majority of staff very helpful

Negatives:
- Booked a first class room, and although upgraded to suite,it was unfortunately in the new 'apartment' block. In contrast to the beautiful old colonial hotel and grounds, the apartments were lacking character and not in keeping with the rest of the hotel.
- On check in we were informed that the room had just been completed and we could find out 'what didn't work'. Not exactly inspiring for the $300+
- In the room itself everything was functional but more like a bed sit than a 4/5 star hotel with a kitchen plonked in one corner. The bathroom had broken tiles that had been filled in rather than replaced and the whole room lacked character
- had a very early flight and at breakfast asked if they had something i could wrap a pastry in to take with me. At first was completely ignored by the lady and then upon finally being acknowledged was given a flat No! She then proceeded to walk off

Make sure you stay in the original building and avoid the scary breakfast woman

Room Tip: Dont stay in the new apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thanks for recently staying with us and for your feedback.

We do not believe in charging for services not enjoyed. We have therefore refunded your card in full for the accommodation.

Thanks again for your feedback which is very important to us as it helps us to know whether we are meeting your expectations.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing