We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“getting ready for some safari” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
europe
Level Contributor
136 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“getting ready for some safari”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed at the Fairview for one night, coming in from Europe late in the afternoon, with a safari at the Mara Bush Camp to start on the next day. So I had to spend a night at a hotel in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by high walls and barbed wire, with lots of security around. With the Israeli embassy and lots of government buildings close by the Fairview seems to be in quite some safe neighbourhood, and at night, is quiet.
Had requested a quiet room, and also informed staff at reception when checking in. They gave me a room next to the bar area. With a piano player entertaining the guests there in the evening and me looking for a quiet room, that was quite some bad choice. I requested a quiet room again – and got it in a nearby building.
Room was clean and had the basics in it – but was ok for a night’s sleep.
Breakfast had ‘live cooking’, and a wide variety of typical breakfast food.
All in all, ok for a night’s sleep in some safe area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolf1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    328
    81
    26
    12
See reviews for
144
294
104
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

nice environment

good hospitality from the hotel staff

woody rooms, african old style

good for vacation rather than business

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minayounan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hotel is amazing. The moment you walk in you feel like you are no longer in a city, but in a lodge. They took a lot of effort to make the place have a jungle feel and I really feel they succeeded. There are plants, trees, flowers everywhere. Definitely a great place to make you feel like you're in Kenya. The rooms itself are scattered across the grounds and some are mini houses.

The staff were friendly and helpful. We were on our honeymoon and front desk upgraded us to the executive suite which was really nice of them. The food here was also great. They have a lot of variety, and even had sushi.

We had free wifi, and our room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are on honeymoon, you can let them know and they will try to upgrade you free of charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I booked this hotel through KET Safaris, as part of our Kenya safari trip. We stayed at Fairview for a one day each, before starting & after ending our trip. This is an amazing hotel at an economical rate with an excellent location, quiet surroundings, in the heart of the city and it is closeby to most places in Nairobi.
The best part about the hotel is the hotel premises. It gave a feeling of staying in a british home with wooden stairways, fireplace, huge gardens, full of greenery, plants, trees & flowers. I could have spent a week just staying in the hotel and enjoying a relaxing time.
Restaurants & food is amazing. There are four restaurants offering all kinds of cuisines and each of them is just too good. The pasta and the coffees are especially a must try. You can sit for hours in the atrium restaurant, with a piano playing in the background.
Excellent service by the hotel staff. They seem they have been instructed to ensure that no guest should leave the hotel with less than a perfect experience. We were automatically upgraded to a higher category room during our stay the second time, since we mentioned to the front desk staff during our first stay that our child got a small rash.
Rooms have enough spacious, all necessary amenities and beds are very comfortable beds. A large sofa bed was setup for the child inside the room.
Overall, this hotel stay was one of the highlights of my Kenya trip. If staying in Nairobi, I cannot think of any other hotel.

Room Tip: 'First' category room near the Pool is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharadjaiswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We founf the review on TripAdvisor before we left and are very glad we stayed here. We stayed two nights be fore venturing into Tanzania. The staff was very hospitable, warm and friendly. The breakfast was outstanding as were the pool and bar area around the pool. I have stayed in place all over the world and this was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edholdren45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Earlier reviews calling the Fairview an oasis were right on target. The grounds are large and lovely, rooms very clean and had many great amenities. Large bathrooms, nice TV, desk area, fold out couch, very good restaurants and that fabulous, friendly Kenyan service we came to enjoy so much. The manager made sure we were happy with our room by calling to confirm, so appreciated. Only downside: the fitness center was closed before posted closing time. Big thanks to restaurant personnel for great food and fabulous cappuccino. Thanks Fairview!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights before our 2 week safari. I had read all of the reviews but I still was amazed by how peaceful and relaxing this hotel was. The lush gardens were so nice - such an oasis in the middle of Nairobi. The staff was very helpful and the food was great. We ordered room service one night and ate at Pwani Pool Restaurant and the Mukutan Garden Cafe. The food was amazing and the staff were very willing to help in any way they could. The room was very clean and spacious (we had a business room) and the workout facilities are top notch. The next time we are in Nairobi we will be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing