We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Deserves it's #1 tripadvisor rating.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deserves it's #1 tripadvisor rating.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Currently staying at the fairview as I write this review. The hotel is gorgeous and a welcome escape from many of the over commercialized hotel chains. The rooms are simple but have everything you would need. The free wifi is quick and easy to access and the free breakfast is fantastic. The hotel grounds are beautifully kept. I would definitely recommend booking this very affordable hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjand5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    362
    88
    27
    12
See reviews for
153
310
111
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Over the past couple of years, several great hotels have opened in Nairobi (Tribe, sankara, ole sereni), but Fairview remains my favorite. The rooms (first class room) are very comfortable and spacious. What really makes the hotel special, though, is the setting. Here in the middle of bustling, somewhat chaotic Nairobi, is a nice oasis of green grass, trees, and quiet. It is centrally located (taxis needed wherever you go), has a nice breakfast buffet, and a great little outdoor lunch spot. The prices are very reasonable for what you get. They are often fully booked (as I write this from a different hotel in Nairobi because Fairview was full), so plan ahead! The only reasons I would consider staying elsewhere would be if business is taking you to another par of the city, if you want to be by village market (stay at tribe), or if you are on a quick overnight stopover from the airport and don't want to deal with Nairoi's traffic. Service is also superb - very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Was there 20 years ago, and loved it for it's charming gardens and quality. Spent a few days there in June 2011 and was thrilled to see it has improved to become even more special, with superb dining options, gracious staff, wonderful outdoor cafe with little braziers for the evening chill, and a sense of care and concern that is evident throughout. Love it, and highly suggest any traveler to Nairobi, for whatever purpose be it holiday or business, stay at the Fairview. It's beautiful but not stiff and formal, with a great location that is safe and convenient and a quick taxi ride to town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terribenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

The place to stay in Nairobi. The food on the whole is very good and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Nice grounds to walk around, despite being in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

we have been returning to the Fair view for the last 15 years and have seen it grow and develop. It has become like a second home, great people and attentive staff

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NswFrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

I've stayed here numerous times and it is always the same experience: excellent by local standards. This isn't the kind of experience you'll find at a Fairmont property in North America, but for Nairobi, this is a wonderful oasis in the urban chaos of this bustling city. There plenty of space to move around on the property itself, and the rooms, although relatively spartan by North American standards, are clean, comfortable and fairly spacious. I am from a cold climate and am not used to sleeping in such heat without A/C, but thankfully I stayed near the end of my journeys, and was used to it by then (the fan was good enough). Resort security is good as well, which is a necessity in this increasingly dangerous city. Overall, predictably good every time.

Room Tip: Book online and in advance - this books up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

The Fairview hotel made everything about Nairobi easy. The surrounds are very plesant indeed. The staff uber friendly and helpful. They are making some great inroads into being a sustainable venue and listened to the suggestion about reducing the amount of plastic water bottles. I look forward to hopefully seeing water fountains/coolers in the future. Getting to and from was really easy, and it definitely provided a safe haven in a bustling city. Good value too compared to other options. Loved the edible herb garden amongst the other lush surrounds.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing