We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari Starting Point”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2006

My new husband & I stayed here for 2 nights prior to our Honeymoon safari. Our welcome by all of the staff was absolutely fantastic & we were upgraded to a suite as we were honeymooners.

The room was great, very spacious & comfortable. The restaurant served average food but the service was wonderful with friendly & informative staff.

We lounged by the pool during the day & again the service was wonderful but there appeared to be a conference taking place in a meeting room by the pool so we felt a little out of place in our swimming gear amongst people dressed in work wear.

If we were to go to Nairobi again I'd definitely use this hotel as a base again but would probably just stay for 1 night rather than 2.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate_Cold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2006

Upon arrival at this hotel, we immediately felt welcomed to Africa. The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming to our children. The gardens are lush and the pool area inviting. The Lord Delamere terrace is great for people watching and the food is more than adequate. You will have a restful evening at this hotel upon your arrival or departure. We intend to make this our base of operation on future visits to Kenya.... by the way, if you like peri peri prawns, the restaurant grills them superbly.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank cfountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in!!! It was very expensive for the quality and service. If this is your first stop before departing on safari, try to fly into Arusha and stay there for a night.

You will regret that you stayed there. I would stay at the Serena property across town.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kai13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2006

8  Thank Travel Richly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2006

2  Thank rrrrrrrrrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WorldwidePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank davismoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,199 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
987 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 169 in Nairobi
1,084 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $162 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing