We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #11 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Could not have been more impressed with this establishment.
We had an amazing time on safari and this was our place of respite before proceeding to Egypt.
To my surprise on arrival we had been upgraded to a suite which was roomy and quiet. We were well looked after and got a great price on the stay. I would recommend and we had a great albeit short stay that we could not fault. The steak we had from the grill was very good as well. Overall we found our stay here faultless and seemless which is how we like it when we travel. highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

920 - 926 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont Norfolk for 6 nights. It’s in the city center, about a 30 minute drive (in good traffic) from the airport. The Police station and a college is down the street. 2 minutes walking distance is a Barclays bank/ATM, and 10 minutes away is the city market.

We had a room in the Delemere wing and it was very clean, well arranged, and very comfortable. I'm not sure why but our room didn't get but a few mosquitos, while others in another wing had a lot! Our room had 2 comfortable twin beds, a flat screen TV, a minibar fridge, a desk & chair, supplies for tea or coffee, plenty of closet space, an easy to use safe, and air conditioning! 2 bottled waters were provided daily. The bathroom had a tub with shower (water pressure was ok), a hairdryer, robes if you wanted to use them, or towels. There was one luggage table/cabinet but our suitcase was hanging over; one day we came in to find an additional cabinet for us – very nice and attentive of the housekeeper!

The courtyard and grounds were well maintained and the staff was always helpful. Our keycard stopped working and after the attempted fix, they sent a colleague to accompany us to ensure it worked. It didn’t so we just made due. They charged for wifi, 500 Shillings for 1 hour (use within 24hrs). Speed seemed ok. Local calls were about $0.50/USD cents a minute. Buffet breakfast was included for us and there was a variety of offerings: omelets made on the spot, fruit, cereals, many juices, pastries, eggs, sausages, crepes, pancakes, potatoes, etc. There were 3 restaurants on site but there were many service charges for the convenience so if you have the time, pay a taxi to eat elsewhere. We went on safari and they held our luggage until our return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fotogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

The Norfolk Fairmont remains one of Nairobi's most charming hotels. I arrived late evening and the welcome was warm and professional. After freshening up, we visited the bar which has a great ambience and overlooks the garden. After a few G&T's time disappeared and actually reversed to 1930's Africa!! Most rooms have a Victorian style decor but are comfortable and all the utilities, A/C, phones, hot water all work well. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the street was nice. Not as extensive as I thought it should be for the price though. The location is OK. Not as central as The Stanley or Grand Regency but certainly accessible. All in all a comfortable stay and good for either business trip or as a overnight to or from safari.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DXBGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

The staff at the norfolk were nice and accomidating. The taxi service through the hotel was superb, as they had the taxis wait for us when shopping and come back after dinner. They also negotiated rates so we didn't have to. There was no elevator though so you had to walk a litttle ways and up stairs to get to your rooms. The hotel itself was beautiful and clean and the rooms comfortable. The restaurants were VERY expensive but yummy!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwSe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

The most beautiful hotel I never been in Africa. Classic but magical place, amazing people and better accommodation

Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
Thank Olgabalibrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We stayed at the Fairmont for 4 days and really loved it. The staff were nice, the place and gardens are beautiful, the room is lovelly and the food is great. It is the very best place to stay in Nairobi. We loved the pool, and the massage also. We only disliked the internet acess that was really slow.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliCps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

we have enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel. The staff is quick (saying lots for Africa) they are accommodating and customer service oriented!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlbuug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,297 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
1,047 reviews
Sankara Nairobi
#8 of 169 in Nairobi
922 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $191 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing