We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“They know how to charge!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Kenya
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“They know how to charge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

I'm a great fan of the Norfolk and Fairmont hotels in general. The have great service, very nice hotels and all in great situations, the Norfolk is no exception, it's nicely designed and has a real old colonial feel BUT, I had breakfast there this morning with a colleague and the cost was what can only be described as astronomical! We paid $40 each for a very average buffet! Yes each and buffet. Ok the situation is nice and the waiter was attentive but 3500 KSh, mind blowing! You can catch a jet to the coast for less that that if yo pick your times well.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Andy W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Worldwide and especially Fairmont The Norfolk.

We have noted your concerns regarding our breakfast prices which we are reviewing with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    271
    72
    37
    13
See reviews for
122
202
51
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here overnight on a safari trip. The hotel is a beautiful colonial structure with a peaceful garden. We arrived in the middle of night after a long flight. The staff were welcoming and available for help. The rooms are well-appointed and the bathrooms were luxurious. Most important the place was quiet and peaceful and allowed us to get some sleep. Breakfast allowed a number of options and the service was excellent.

One inconvenience was the stairs to our room and the lack of an elevator that did not allow easy movement of luggage, although staff were quick to offer help.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Tripy029,

Thank you for your valuable review.

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your overall stay at Fairmont The Norfolk. We are pleased to hear that you also liked our rooms, bathrooms, quite & peaceful environment, food and quality of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Prior to the remodeling of the hotel, it had an enormous amount of character and charm. Sadly, the lobby, restaurants and bars now resemble any hotel n the USA that is trying to capture the modern/disco era with its red lights glowing throughout the bar to the neon blue lights echoing throughout the restaurant. Breakfast was awful but the rest of the meals were about average. We had two rooms, one of which was quite a bit more modernized than the other. Neither room was outstanding.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard is best as long as it has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear AlexaR,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Nairobi.

We have noted your concerns regarding our food options, room experience and bar lighting which we are reviewing with the rest of our Team. Kindly also note we are also constantly refurbishing all our rooms in stages.

We look forward to hosting you again on your future trips to Nairobi.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I have stayed about 6 times now in this lovely hotel. The gardens, staff and dining areas are very nice. Some rooms near reception (upstairs) are fairly small and basic, so if you want some pampering, ask for one of the wings. Food was fantastic and the staff were really good. Biggest pain is the lack of internet service. It should be free at this level of hotel. They say you can become a member and it is then free, but when trying to sign up, it wants 1,000 KSH and those who did use it said it was so slow it was unusable. It feels like penny pinching to have no free internet for guests, and it has become essential to have it these days (our group was there on business). Also, its a bit of unnecessary delay in the car and body scanning as we enter the hotel. It wasn't done very seriously.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Wayne S,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our excellent service, good food and lovely rooms.

Please contact us on kenya.reservations@fairmont.com and we shall enroll you to our Fairmont President’s Club which allows you access to a host of exclusive benefits and privileges including free internet connection in all Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Worldwide!
We have noted your concern about our security search procedures which we are reviewing with our Security Team.

We look forward to hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and making your stay exceptional,once again.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It is situated on the edge of the CBD so close for shopping etc. We began and ended our safari holiday from here, but you can actually book in-house if you haven't pre-booked.
Our room overlooked the beautifully landscaped gardens, was clean, very comfortable with a well-stocked bathroom (loads of fluffy white towels). The staff are friendly (genuinely!) and very helpful.
Buffet breakfast was one of the best I've seen with plenty of choices. A la carte dinner was wonderfully presented, freshly prepared and delicious. Reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard.
Would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacki_PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Jacki_PerthWA,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are delighted that you found our hotel facilities, breakfast, dinner and services to be exceptional.

We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel is in a nice setting and the staff is exceptional in making one feel at home and seeking ways to make one's stay the best way possible. The rooms are spacious and very clean. One can open windows and enjoy the cool weather without hearing noise. Would definitly stay at this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Gerald B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We sincerely appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed here two nights (Aug. 1 & 2) before heading out on safari. In the middle of the night on Aug. 2 I woke up as someone on the staff was using a key card to enter the room! Later I discovered that someone stole $150 from my backpack which was in the room. It is hard to say something nice about a hotel where that happens.

The hotel was otherwise fine. Nice gym. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear G.W,
Thank you for taking the time to review Fairmont The Norfolk.

During your check out, you mentioned to our Duty Manager regarding the attempted late night door access and loss of money from your room. A thorough security investigation was then carried out by our Security Team and the key interrogation report showed no one had accessed your room at all that night.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing