We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent hotel for business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few times it is very centrally located to all the main offices. The restaurants and bar is great for entertainment. Watch out for the rooms. The ones in the back are not as good as the ones in the front of the property. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Rupaks,

Thank you for recommending Fairmont The Norfolk on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    298
    78
    43
    17
See reviews for
131
229
54
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
154 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Have stayed at the hotel a few times and it is great - from service to the rooms. Is quite pricey on the food and beverage side.
If you need a base for a small conference or to stop over (in Nairobi) when on Safari, this is a perfect hotel, with a lot of the old charm still present, and will help make your trip to beautiful Kenya even more special.

Room Tip: If you are not a smoker, choose a room without a balcony on the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent only two nights at this hotel on our way to the Mara for safari. It is located near the University of Nairobi. There are no restaurants or attractions within walking distance of the hotel, but taxis were readily available. The property itself was in excellent condition and the staff was very helpful. The room was spacious and well appointed. We ate at the more casual restaurant twice and the food was good. We did not have a chance to eat at the more formal restaurant. Buffet breakfast was expensive but provided an extensive selection.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Snack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Travel_Snack,

We are grateful for your review. We are happy that you found our rooms to be lovely. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed excellent service from our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord Nc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

wonderful place to stay. The hotel is no differences from any upscale hotel in the US. The service and staffs are extremely friendly. The room is spacious and clean, with everything you need. very safe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Osber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for posting your review and we are delighted to receive your feedback.

We are grateful that you enjoyed staying in our clean and spacious rooms. We also appreciate that you found our Hotel to be safe and our colleagues to be friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have stayed at the historic Fairmont Norfolk twice. It is located in central Nairobi near the university and City Market. There is a large variety of rooms. We recommend the suites that have views of the beautiful courtyards. The rooms are quiet and the beds are clean and very comfortable. The restaurant at the hotel has the best gourmet food in Nairobi, offering both traditional Kenyan and western fare. It is the best food we have had outside of France! The savory meat sauces are especially French-tasting. We really enjoyed the prawns and mushroom plate that we had during our most recent stay. Finally, the service at the Norfolk is second to none. They treated us like royalty! Our highest recommendation goes to the Fairmont Norfolk!

Room Tip: The suites with a courtyard view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzedade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Fuzedade,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to learn that our quality of rooms, great food and excellent services exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

A great way to start off our African Safari. We arrived very late and management was at the entrance to greet us. Staff were friendly and all smiles. Room was spacious and very clean. Security is top notch at this location and you feel safe the moment you arrive. Buffet breakfast in the morning offered many selections and was tasty. Next time we will have to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgal52000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

ideally located, easy check in & out, great food

pros

- Bit of history and class
- ideal location
- Friendly staff
- Great food
- Free Wifi ( but you need to ensure that you are told in advance)
- Multiple food choice, good bar

Cons
none

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajkamalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Rajkamalin,

Thank you for your great feedback.

I am happy that you enjoyed the warm and engaging service from our colleagues. I also notice that you found our food to be great and location ideal.

We look forward to hosting you again in future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#10 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing