We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Brief but lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brief but lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

A great way to start off our African Safari. We arrived very late and management was at the entrance to greet us. Staff were friendly and all smiles. Room was spacious and very clean. Security is top notch at this location and you feel safe the moment you arrive. Buffet breakfast in the morning offered many selections and was tasty. Next time we will have to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgal52000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    292
    77
    42
    17
See reviews for
131
224
53
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

ideally located, easy check in & out, great food

pros

- Bit of history and class
- ideal location
- Friendly staff
- Great food
- Free Wifi ( but you need to ensure that you are told in advance)
- Multiple food choice, good bar

Cons
none

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajkamalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Rajkamalin,

Thank you for your great feedback.

I am happy that you enjoyed the warm and engaging service from our colleagues. I also notice that you found our food to be great and location ideal.

We look forward to hosting you again in future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Norfolk Fairmont was a great place to start our African Safari. This is a well appointed hotel in Nairobi, with nice landscaping, beautiful rooms and attentive staff. An excellent stay. I would highly recommend for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Leo H,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk and recommending us on Trip Advisor!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I loved the great service and ambience of the hotel. The garden is amazing. the staff is very friendly and professional!!! I would stay at this hotel anytime! and would definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Xihungasi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Xihungasi G,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about Fairmont The Norfolk. It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Overall Stay was Good ,
Staff were very friendly ,
Food was very good,
However the 1st night at the hotel an inconvenient incident took place where a Staff kept on knocking on my door for 30min @ 02:10am and at the end he decided to Break-in.



  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Rony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Rony G,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and highly appreciate your wonderful comments about our food and friendly colleagues.

We have noted your concern on our Duty engineer knocking your door at 02:10am. I apologise that there was a miscommunication between our Royal Service agent and Duty engineer, whereby a guest in the adjacent room had requested us to fix a fused bulb and instead the duty engineer mistakenly visited your room. This has been addressed with the rest of the Team and we will ensure that this type of incident does not re-occur in the future.

We can assure you and all our guests of adequate Security coverage at all times in the entire Hotel.

Your review has been constructive in improving and enhancing our guest experience at Fairmont The Norfolk and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed in the property for more than a week and loved the ambiance, food and the corresponding hospitality. It's an old world charm kind of a place with photo-frames spread throughout highlighting the colonial era. Loved the food which is a mix of African and continental! A bit expensive ( I was at 200 USD per day) but it includes a buffet breakfast so fine! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view of the inside pool, garden and colonial era tractors and canon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journalistnitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Journalistnitin,

We were honoured to host you and are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the great feedback and high recommendation on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here twice on our recent African safari. We were not disappointed. The staff are friendly and helpful. We arrived quite late one evening, and check-in was very efficient. Security is great. The breakfast is exceptional, with all types of cuisine and high quality food. The rooms are very nice, and well kept. The gardens are beautiful, and this is an oasis in the middle of the city. If you enjoy history, the photographs throughout the hotel are a must see. As a plus, the hotel kept our some of our luggage for one leg or our journey enabling us to travel light. Would highly recommend, and would return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Denise S,

Thank you for taking the time again to generously provide feedback on our hotel and its facilities.

It is heartening to know you have chosen to stay with us for a second time and that we have managed to once again make your stay in Kenya a memorable one. Your loyalty to the Fairmont brand is highly appreciated and we hope that we will have the privilege to welcome you once again.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing