We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Nice Hotel, Fantastic Grounds, Downtown Nairobi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel, Fantastic Grounds, Downtown Nairobi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed overnight on my way to Amboseli National Park. The staff was outstanding and helpful in adjusting to the fact that the Travel Company had not made a reservation. Room was nice, clean and quiet--very relaxing. The bar area and the service outstanding; great place to relax after spending several days in the bush in Botswana. Security was good, and I felt fairly safe. Breakfast was one of the best on a 5-week, 6-country trip in southern Africa. I would have liked to experienced more of the ambiance, decor and furnishing of the original hotel, it opened in 1904, but was informed that the hotel burned twice. Updates from the original all in good taste and a very pleasant stay. I did use the business center to catch up on email since I had been off the "grid" for several days. Rhino Safaris was supposed to have made a reservation at this hotel, and they dropped the ball. Situation resolved after about 45 minutes to an hour after they called Italy, their home office--odd. They also did not meet me at the airport; not a good place to be without transport to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dionges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Diogenese1,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are definitely looking forward to hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    292
    77
    42
    17
See reviews for
130
224
53
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Visited with an old Kenya friend who wished to eat at what he remembered as one of the finest and friendliest dining experiences in Nairobi
despite being told by myself and a number of Kenya residents that it has lost entirely any resemblance to what it was under Lohnro and Block we decided to have lunch
The Tatu restaurant was not open for lunch ,but were told we could eat on Tatu Patio,but was rather far from the lunch buffet and as such chose the Delamere Terrace
gone are the days when this was packed to the door every lunch time and evening -- we were the first to occupy a table and there were more staff than diners
it is like eating in a morgue --everything so clinical and minimalist and no atmosphere at all
we chose a table and waited over 5 minutes for our wine to arrive ,which was warm --another 5 minutes until we get a slightly colder bottle --another wait of over 5 minutes for the butter to be brought to the table --this despite a plethora of staff passing by --- I think all were chiefs and very few braves
The Buffet was Indian food and I could state categorically that I have eaten much better in many places around the world and in Nairobi itself --it was certainly no better
than 2 star
Now to get the bill --again a long lengthy wait for this to arrive and I asked to speak to whoever was in charge and told this person we were not happy with the service or for that matter wjth the food --and said we would always remember this as it used to be and with the standards now existing,it was little wonder that only some 5 tables of the 25 to 30 available were occupied

Shall not eat here again -- I visit Kenya 6 or 7 times a year and certainly will think twice about visiting the Norfolk again to eat .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear John W,

Thank you for your detailed review.

We have noted all your concerns regarding our Indian cuisine and service delivery for our immediate corrective action.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.


Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We went here for like two hours as we had a friend of ours staying there.We had gone to drop him off after diner but decided to have a few drinks at the bar downstairs.It was quite empty apart from some ladies seated at the couches chatting.We were served by a friendly barman.The room was quite cosy and intimate for the evening.Not bad a place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I spent a day here after a week working in Nairobi. it is a lovely place and had a good night here with colleagues in the week. They do the colonial thing really well, could have put this hotel in Singapore easily. Food was great. I think the staff needed to feel like you were a resident and spending big bucks before they would give you attention which is a shame - I always think you can judge a place by how they treat ALL their customers not just the big spenders. Lack of free wifi and also staff were a bit snooty i.e. I didn't get bread or any attention during my meal while other tables were very attentively serviced. Having said that if i had the chance to stay I would take it next time, the rooms are pretty good value and good location in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneandJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Anne and Jonny,

I'm thrilled to know you were impressed with our outstanding service, clean rooms and great food.

Please join our Fairmont President’s Club online via http://www.myfairmont.com to enjoy free WiFi during your next visit to any of our Fairmont Hotels & Resorts worldwide.

Should you find yourself back in Nairobi anytime soon, we'd love the opportunity to host you again!

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had high expectations for the Fairmont Norfolk in Nairobi and chose it as one of our honeymoon hotels following a safari.
Can't fault the cleanliness and service with a smile but unless you are here on a corporate visit do not expect to be looked after.
A five star hotel with wifi at a cost of nearly £12 ($20) per day. 3 and 4 star hotels in Nairobi offer free wifi these days so this was a surprise to us.
The only way to get around this charge is to become a member of the Fairmont Presidents club (thanks to a member of restaurant staff who at least let us know about this) which involves filling in paper forms. Surprising given we are now in 2014, not 1994! A poor customer experience.

Breakfast is not included and will set you back £21 ($30) per day.
We were allocated a cabin sized room over-looking a car park and main road despite paying £192 per night and could only move rooms by upgrading - a further £36 per night.

We were advised a manager would come and speak to us about our experience - no one came.

We felt the Fairmont Group have really let us down and would question staying in any of their hotels in future.


  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blink79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear blink79,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk and we highly appreciate your kind feedback.

Please join our Fairmont President’s Club online via http://www.myfairmont.com to enjoy free WiFi during your next visit to any of our Fairmont Hotels & Resorts worldwide.

We also apologize that our Manager did not make it to meet you to speak about your experience as promised. We hope this will not deter you from staying with us and our Fairmont Hotels & Resorts worldwide.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safwa, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here for one night last month for the second time, first visit was in August 2012 and for one night as well, while waiting for safari flight to the Mara. This time, it was even better, got a better room being a member in the president's club and complementary internet connection, hotel staff are all super friendly, enjoyed the in-room dinning as well and for the second time! loved the breakfast also in the morning , plenty of choices. Check-in and check-out was also very smooth. Always first choice if I ever come back to Nairobi and had to spend a night or two there....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Malnaser,

Thank you for your great feedback and we are glad you chose us. We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is great property. We stayed her prior to our Safari with Micato and after the Safari. What a great place to stay after our 18+ hours of travel from the US. The room was very comfortable - great bed. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. After 14 days in the bush - it was a great place to come back to to freshen up - have a great meal before heading back to the US. Highly recommend staying here when you are in Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1550Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Burke S,

Thank you for staying with us before and after your Safari, we are glad you had a wonderful time on both stays.

We appreciate and are grateful for the encouraging feedback as we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing