We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is great property. We stayed her prior to our Safari with Micato and after the Safari. What a great place to stay after our 18+ hours of travel from the US. The room was very comfortable - great bed. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. After 14 days in the bush - it was a great place to come back to to freshen up - have a great meal before heading back to the US. Highly recommend staying here when you are in Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1550Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Burke S,

Thank you for staying with us before and after your Safari, we are glad you had a wonderful time on both stays.

We appreciate and are grateful for the encouraging feedback as we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    271
    72
    37
    13
See reviews for
122
202
51
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We only spent a little while here as we were off to go on safaris but what little time we spent we certainly felt the Fairmount Polish. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff was most helpful and kind and Patrick went out f his way for us. Kenyan hospitality at its best!

Room Tip: Allow a lot of time to get from Nairobi airport to the hotel and vice versa. Traffic is a nightmare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belleg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear belleg47,

A big thank you for this great review!

We will make sure to pass all your comments to our team and are already looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night after my long flight. Very beautiful hotel, the service and mood was like that if the 30's. Everything you could ask for. My only regret is that I get not get to stay longer. The grounds breath taking. Staff top knotch.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebelMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I should have posted this earlier. The rooms are clean and neat. The dinning and food great. I loved that I had a coffee french press in my room. And the coffee always tasted great. The ambiance is amazing. Staying there is pricey, but definitely worth it. Every time I went for breakfast, I was greeted by name, I travel quite some and I have not got that kind of treatment anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tindi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

After a 5 week overland trip I was looking forward to a touch of luxury and this hotel was our splurge!
The room was clean and cool which was a welcome relief from the heat of Nairobi but it was really a business room, with a large desk and multiple line phone. I was disappointed that it had little privacy and no outlook - a function room of sorts looked directly into the room necessitating keeping the curtains drawn. It was not the colonial heritage hotel I had hoped for I could have been anywhere. The pool was a long way away from the room and wasnt anything to write about, so I won't. The cocktail bar had little ambience and the whole place was a letdown. With its history I was expecting a hotel along the lines of The Victoria Falls or the Bangkok Oriental. Not even close.
My main gripe is with housekeeping, however. I requested and was pleased to get a late checkout of noon. Great I thought.. breakfast in bed, a late snooze,a long shower and I'd be rested up for the long trip home to Australia. Not to be..I had a nice breakfast then ... Knock on the door 30 mins later to pick up the tray...10mins later "can we clean the room" (even though I'm checking out!) 15mins later " can we check the mini bar" , then 2 maintenance men to measure the bathroom then a second minibar request, the latter two after a do not disturb sign was put on the door so I could have a shower in peace.
My advice would be to look around and not waste your money here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JANELLE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Janelle M,

Thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to host you and we are pleased to hear that our clean rooms and breakfast exceeded your expectations.

We have noted the issue of interruption by our colleagues during your short stay and not meeting your needs, this has been addressed to my team and we will ensure that this type of incident does not re-occur in the future.

Your review has been constructive and candid to improving and enhancing our guest experience at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Warm regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The Norfolk has certainly seen better days. Colonial charm has been replaced by bland tasteless decor in the common areas. We had booked a duplex suite which was tired, had a dirty shower, and were kept awake by the combination of a noisy air conditioner and a big generator or similar machine outside the room. On the plus side the staff were extremely helpful but even so we decided to stay elsewhere on our return leg through Nairobi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuruMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear TravelGuruMoscow,

Thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to host you at Fairmont The Norfolk. We are glad that you noted our excellent service.

We have noted all the concerns you raised for our corrective action.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed just two nights here (barely over a day), but it was so lovely. We checked in around 2:30 am from our flight and the staff was so helpful and warm as if it weren't the middle of the night. We were shown to our spacious room that had a tv, air conditioning, a view of the courtyard, a safe, and an amazing en suite with a huge tub and a separate walk in shower. The hotel had a great breakfast on the terrace in the morning complete with a made to order egg station and waffle station along with everything thing else you can imagine for breakfast! The pool looked great, although we didn't get in. The gym (free for guests) was pretty well equipped...cardio machines, some weight machines, a bench, filtered water machine and towels given upon checking in. We also had dinner at the restaurant 'Tatu' that is in the hotel. We didn't have reservations, but there were plenty of tables available. The food was really amazing and the chef even prepared a little taster for us. I enjoyed braised beef and we split a crispy shrimp starter as well...everything just perfect. At the end we were allowed to approach the chefs and thank them for the delicious meal. The hotel is located just a short walk from the city center and although we didn't walk around at night, during the day we felt safe to walk about.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jklawhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Jklawhorn,

Thank you for your review.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful and heartening appreciation of our services and cuisine and the fantastic rating.

It is inspiring to know that you enjoyed our services and our colleagues and I are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing