We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont The Norfolk
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$511
$465
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$223
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$157
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveler rating
585
380
99
58
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
380
99
58
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstatu restaurantlord delamere terracecin cin barcolonial eraold world charman oasisheated poolgift shopbeautiful hotelmasai marabreakfast buffet isbusy cityeast africasafari tripstandard roombusiness tripdowntown nairobi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
718 - 723 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I agree with some of the other reviewers that this hotel has seen better days. The decor is very 80s. The plumbing is very colonial....at least it's indoor. Also, the "colonial flavor' one person refers to is only relevant to part of the hotel; a large section of the hotel is actually from the 70s or 80s and not that special at all. However, the food was great and breakfast buffet was terrific. I probably wouldn't choose to stay there again, but it's perfectly fine if you adjust your expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajavaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have been to Africa several times and almost always end up in Nairobi. I have always stayed at The Norfolk but have not been there for several years. it still is an amazing place. Surrounded as it is by the hectic Nairobi traffic it is an oasis in the bedlam. The rooms are quiet and beds welcoming. The pool, work-out room and spa are world class. They are on par with any US hotel. The courtyard is much like a Zen garden and evokes images of British Kenya. The staff is always welcoming and always guest friendly and oriented. When in Nairobi this is the only hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the first courtyard are my favorites.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I just went in for a quick snack, I had to wait 10 minutes and then went to search for a waitress to be served, had coffee and a croissant for 991 Kenya Shillings = more than $10! And was told there was no change, problem with coins! Needless to say I didn't leave a tip but give them one now, you're in Nairobi not London, charge more reasonable prices!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Years ago, I was fortunate to spend a few days there on business. A flash-back of illustrious times of Kenya and his hectic past. Great service, excellent food, special atmosphere, devoted staff... The Olde Kenya with modern comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Paul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Jean-Paul88,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am happy that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the warm and engaging service from our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great place to stay. I began my stay in Kenya here and truly a wonderful hotel.
This Fairmont hotel had all the comforts of the United States, the staff aim to please and the room service was delish!
Five stars!!

Room Tip: Join the Fairmont President's Club. You get lots of perks!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Jenny L,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk and we highly appreciate your kind feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews