We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #13 of 170 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is a gem in a tough city. Once you manage to fight your way through the crazy Nairobi traffic and you arrive, you are treated with smiles and staff who seem to always go the extra distance. We felt like nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. It is them that make this hotel stand out above the rest!
The breakfast buffet is outstanding and great value for money. We also ate dinner at Tatu and thoroughly enjoyed our meal with great service. The wine list could be improved a bit, with too many overpriced entry level wines. We also ordered room service and had an outstanding meal (best room service meal I have had in many years at any hotel)
The grounds are immaculate and we used both the gym and outdoor pool. This is probably the best equipped gym we have used at any hotel. The heated pool was also a nice touch in a great serene setting. Poolside service was friendly and efficient.
One area that need attention is housekeeping. Sometimes we had to call three or four times to get something taken care of. I get the laid back culture, but it can be frustrating when you are waiting for something and a few hours go by before it is dealt with.
Also, the concierge really needs to have an ear closer to the ground of what is going on in the city. A recommended 30 minute drive to the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage turned out to be an hour and 20 minute nightmare of a drive and we missed the baby elephant feeding. They don't control the traffic, but should be aware of happenings in the city, or am I asking for too much?
Overall, a great experience and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEAMBKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here on 2 occasions on a recent holiday to the African game parks. Flying from Australia we were a little dismayed when told on parts of our safari (we did Kenya and Tanzania) we would be flying in small planes which only allowed us 15kg of luggage in soft bags (no wheels) each.
Fairmont The Norfolk helped us here. We stayed here for one night before we caught the plane to Kiliminjaro Airport (and our Tanzanian safaris) and left most of our extra clothes and our hard suitcase at the hotel. After 10 days on safari we returned to The Fairmont, picked up our 'left luggage' and stayed again for one night before flying to Zanzibar for a week of R & R. Listening to other traveller's stories we think it is safer to return to the hotel and collect your luggage yourself rather than rely on the hotel to send it to the airport for you to collect.
The Fairmont has an aura of past colonial times and we enjoyed our stay here. The buffet breakfast was one of the best we had in Africa but their upmarket Tatu restaurant was overpriced and disappointing.
Before entering the hotel your hand luggage is checked and you are personally frisked (for guns we assumed). Security is tight and even though we have travelled widely we had no desire to leave the confines of the hotel at night. Nairobi has a poor reputation for safety and the contrast between the hotel and the dirty, dusty street outside was immense.
We enjoyed the daytrips to the Karen Blixen Museum (we had a surprisingly very good lunch there at the café), The Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Centre but downtown Nairobi is best avoided. As we kept being told, Nairobi was built for 200,000 people and now there are 4 million people living and though it's nearly impossible to travel in East Africa without visiting Nairobi make it a transit stop and not a destination.

Room Tip: choose the king room over the twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolynt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Context: overnight to the start and end of an African safari

Pros: beautiful grounds, great breakfast buffet, reasonable size rooms, nice bathrooms, good computer access since I didn't bring my IPhone.

Cons: rooms on the south side facing a loading dock can be noisy, hotel is resting on it's historical laurels and not really 5 star, front desk understaffed and slow (plan on 20 minutes to check in or out).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott29inSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We began our 12-day safari at the Fairmont Norfolk Hotel. After being among the first to fly in to Nairobi after the airport was closed due to a fire, we arrived jet lagged and amid chaos. Being taken to the Fairmont Norfolk was like finding an oasis. The hotel is beautiful! Our rooms were extremely comfortable. We returned again mid-safari for another quick stay. There was a wedding taking place -- all very beautiful. We ate at the main restaurant where the food was high caliber. The breakfast buffet had a huge offering -- everything you could imagine and all delicious. For a serene and restful break between game preserves, I would recommend the Fairmont Norfolk.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced the inner courtyard which has an abundance of beautiful flowering plants. We also bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed on the 2nd August 2013, on our way to the Masai Mara. It was my first time to Nairobi and I expected a little more history from what I understood to be one of the oldest hotels. That said, the welcome from the bellmen and porters is great and the lobby area and front terrace restaurant and bar at the back have good atmosphere.
The room was clean, comfortable and with a good bathroom. Don't stay in Room 22 - it has a sliding door on to a small courtyard but is right opposite the hotel's central airconditioning tower and the accompanying noise sounds like you're still in a plane, all night.
Food and drinks were good but expensive, but I understand quite standard for Nairobi.

Room Tip: Don't take room 22. Request a ground floor room on to central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

As part of a Collette Safari tour we stayed here 1 night at the beginning of the tour, a night towards the end and then spent a couple of hours (no room, just lobby and bar) between the end of the tour and the trip to the airport.

There is a beautiful garden area to get to the rooms. Note it is historic so there are steps to get to most rooms.

The lobby and bar are nicely arranged with very comfortable chairs.

On the last day we had bar snacks, samosas which were tasty.

Breakfast buffet was excellent, lots of choices, well prepared including made to order omelets.

Amenities you would expect at a luxury hotel. Everything clean and well maintained. It is a historic hotel so the decor is fitting with the history. Everyone was friendly and welcoming.

WIfi is free if you join the frequent visitors club - if you know you are staying, I suggest you sign up in advance so you do not have to apply when you check out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rorudupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very good service with nice pool and bar. My wife also had a nice massage at the SPA. Conveniently located in a safe area. Quiet and clean. Rooms of nice size with very confortable beds. Nice crowd with a mixture of tourists and business. Only thing is that it is a little old...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Andrea N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us on Trip Advisor. We hope that you will return again soon.

Best Regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 170 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 170 in Nairobi
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 170 in Nairobi
1,000 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 170 in Nairobi
559 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 170 in Nairobi
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $173 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing