We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Oasis in the middle of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in July and I was delighted with my stay, the bed and linen were a welcome change to rock hard beds I had experienced on other trips to Nairobi. I found the service excellent for the most part, breakfast service was not great until my last morning, Samuel made up for the previous 2 mornings. The food here is good but a bit on the expensive side. My room was lovely and quiet and had all things one needs. The fresh coffee is such a welcome...we are in Kenya after all. I will return to the Norfolk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Joanne W,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our excellent service, good food and lovely rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    271
    72
    37
    13
See reviews for
122
202
51
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night when we arrived in Nairobi on July 9th, 2013. The room was basic but clean, which is very important. We ate at the bar and the food choices were great and it was delicious. The breakfast buffet was delicious and there were many choices. The staff was nice and helpful.
There is a small business center which has 2-3 computers for guest use. It would have been better if the hotel had WiFi.
We felt that the hotel was too far from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Not a bad choice if you would like to stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Adriana M,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed our delicious food, clean rooms and outstanding service from our staff.

I am also pleased to inform you that we have excellent WiFi connection within the Hotel.

We look forward to your return.


Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stopped here for a quick overnight prior to heading out on a 2-week safari. We had an early morning flight, so ordered breakfast to be delivered to the room. We highlighted the fact that we had an early morning transfer. Breakfast was 1 hr late after calling several times. None of the items we ordered were included once the breakfast finally arrived, but it was too late to fix this. We had a triple room and the cot included for the third person collapsed into a taco upon laying down. We stayed in triples the entire time in tented camps out of safari and this bed was hands down the worst.

I would not recommend this hotel at $200 per person per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Karlene S,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We have noted your comments on your breakfast order delay and the collapse of the baby cot, which I have addressed with the Food & Beverage Manager and Executive Housekeeper; we shall take the necessary measures in rectifying accordingly.


We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assure you of a memorable experience.


Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I agree with the previous poster that this is the only place I will stay in Nairobi. I do not have a single complaint -- the room was top notch, the service was uniformly excellent (and quite friendly) and the food was good. A wonderful sense of history -- the photos, the artifacts -- greatly enhances the visit. Simply having breakfast or a drink in the Lord Delamere Terrace is worth the price. I just hope they continue to do what they are doing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedy45rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Speedy45rpm,

We are happy to know your stay at Fairmont The Norfolk was memorable leaving you with an all-around superb experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel with the feel of the early colonial days. I stayed there going to Mount Kilimanjaro and on my return. This is the only place I would ever stay in Nairobi. The staff was friendly, food was good, and the history on the wall plaques was very interesting - made me feel a part of the colonial past. I will return again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n2maps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear n2maps,

We are thrilled to learn your stay surpassed your expectations! Thank you for sharing your experience and mentioning that it is the ONLY Hotel you would ever stay in Nairobi.

It is wonderful to know you enjoyed our food and appreciated viewing our history through the photo wall plaques. We look forward to your return next year.

Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here twice while heading to and from a safari. First stay was in a newly renovated room which was perfectly clean and gracious with a stunning bath facility. Second stay was in an older room farther from the main building, also clean but definitely worn and a little musty. Staff are very friendly. The food is good, but service in both the dining room and lounge was slow on both occasions. The breakfast buffet is excellent. The grounds are lovely and peaceful, the pool is good for an urban location. I enjoyed an excellent massage at the spa. Absolutely would stay there again, but allow plenty of time for your meals if dining in house.

Room Tip: Join their President's Club to avoid wifi fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wabanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have stayed here on all but one of four trips to Nairobi, and I sorely missed it the year we didn't. The history, the atmosphere, the food, and the service are always top notch for us. There is literally nothing else I could ask for on the breakfast buffet, it is extensive & always tastes good. The beds are comfortable, and we have never had any trouble sleeping with the noise of the city, perhaps the way it is built blocks that out. There have been occasions when service at the front desk was not exactly up to par, but it was never anything serious that wasn't fixed right away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndaS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Lynda Sw,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Fairmont The Norfolk.

I am glad that you always choose to stay with us on all your trips to Nairobi. I also wish to thank you for your positive feedback on our food, services, rooms and above all your continued support and patronage.

We look forward to hosting you again on your future trips to Nairobi.

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing