We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of the fabric of Nairobi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #11 of 168 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I agree with the previous poster that this is the only place I will stay in Nairobi. I do not have a single complaint -- the room was top notch, the service was uniformly excellent (and quite friendly) and the food was good. A wonderful sense of history -- the photos, the artifacts -- greatly enhances the visit. Simply having breakfast or a drink in the Lord Delamere Terrace is worth the price. I just hope they continue to do what they are doing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedy45rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Speedy45rpm,

We are happy to know your stay at Fairmont The Norfolk was memorable leaving you with an all-around superb experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel with the feel of the early colonial days. I stayed there going to Mount Kilimanjaro and on my return. This is the only place I would ever stay in Nairobi. The staff was friendly, food was good, and the history on the wall plaques was very interesting - made me feel a part of the colonial past. I will return again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n2maps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear n2maps,

We are thrilled to learn your stay surpassed your expectations! Thank you for sharing your experience and mentioning that it is the ONLY Hotel you would ever stay in Nairobi.

It is wonderful to know you enjoyed our food and appreciated viewing our history through the photo wall plaques. We look forward to your return next year.

Best Regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here twice while heading to and from a safari. First stay was in a newly renovated room which was perfectly clean and gracious with a stunning bath facility. Second stay was in an older room farther from the main building, also clean but definitely worn and a little musty. Staff are very friendly. The food is good, but service in both the dining room and lounge was slow on both occasions. The breakfast buffet is excellent. The grounds are lovely and peaceful, the pool is good for an urban location. I enjoyed an excellent massage at the spa. Absolutely would stay there again, but allow plenty of time for your meals if dining in house.

Room Tip: Join their President's Club to avoid wifi fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wabanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have stayed here on all but one of four trips to Nairobi, and I sorely missed it the year we didn't. The history, the atmosphere, the food, and the service are always top notch for us. There is literally nothing else I could ask for on the breakfast buffet, it is extensive & always tastes good. The beds are comfortable, and we have never had any trouble sleeping with the noise of the city, perhaps the way it is built blocks that out. There have been occasions when service at the front desk was not exactly up to par, but it was never anything serious that wasn't fixed right away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Lynda Sw,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Fairmont The Norfolk.

I am glad that you always choose to stay with us on all your trips to Nairobi. I also wish to thank you for your positive feedback on our food, services, rooms and above all your continued support and patronage.

We look forward to hosting you again on your future trips to Nairobi.

Best Regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here one night before safari holiday and it was good. Clean hotel, nice breakfast, and good service. The birds were great to take pics of and the bar seemed nice as well but we were so tired we went straight to bed. The area hotel was in appeared safe and I had no worries myself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear PTTraveler 101,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are delighted that you found our hotel facilities, breakfast, services, bar and security to be exceptional.

We look forward to welcoming you back to in the near future.

Best Regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice fairmont, but staff are hit and miss some are rude and some are super nice, security staff at front door are rude and turned me off from hotel, being that I stay at fairmonts all the time I will overlook but not impressed- restaurant is exceptional and service is second to none

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAKEWAY10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Lakeway 10,

We acknowledge with thanks receipt of your comments about your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you were happy with our exceptional Restaurant and services.

Indeed we are sorry that you were not impressed by some of our colleague’s approach and assure you that we will continue coaching all our colleagues on the significance of outstanding customer service.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

some of the staff are plain rude but some are definitely nice. yummy ice cream. the food could be better. the rooms are ok. some of them need fixing though. and i think by now everybody should know that when u r staying in a hotel one night that they almost always give u a room with a hitch. :( anyway, i gave them chances too and i think I'm definitely not going back :D but not to discourage y'all. may be different for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Siobhan 158,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're happy to note that you enjoyed the rooms and yummy ice cream. We have also noted your comments in regards to some of our staff’s attitude, food and rooms which I have addressed with the concerned leaders.

Please feel free to contact me directly on kenya.reservations@fairmont.com during your next visit to Kenya.


Best Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 168 in Nairobi
1,296 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 168 in Nairobi
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 168 in Nairobi
1,043 reviews
Sankara Nairobi
#8 of 168 in Nairobi
922 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 168 in Nairobi
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $192 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing