We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Under good impression” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Under good impression”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Fairmont The Norfolk was the first hotel on arrival in Kenya. Very nice location! Here we could smell wild animals but we didnt see them :=)
We arrived at night but the hotel was 20 min away from airport. We filled in declarations beforehand at home and received our luggage very quickly so in 30 min we were already at Norfolk. Our room was waiting for us, it was standard room with one king size bed and 1 bed was for our child. The view from the room was pretty, see my photo. I would underline that this hotel was one of the hotels where you can use bathroom and shower in your room. It was very convenient because i travelled with 5 y.o. child. We decided to have a dinner in the hotel restaurant. Menu a la cart was perfect, suitable for children too =) i would recommend this hotel for visiting. You wont be dissappoited with it. It was really good impression for our family because it was our first visit to southeast Africa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Elena S,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are pleased that you were impressed by our rooms, convenient location, restaurants and quality of food.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    292
    77
    42
    17
See reviews for
130
223
53
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

On business I had the privilege of staying at The Norfolk for in total 37 nights. I found the hotel facilities, people, dining, general atmosphere all excellent. The staff were always courteous, friendly and helpful without exception. The grounds are impeccably kept, it is the only hotel I know which paints it's bricks!!! I can thoroughly recommend the hotel for short or long stays. BRS

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilks231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lovely charming hotel, the greenery courtyard gives relaxing feeling. Building and decoration reflects the history of the hotel. Service is excellent, I stayed in specious room facing courtyard, recently renovated. Restaurants serve good food. It is quite hotel in the center of busy Nairobi.

Room Tip: rooms facing courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Wael T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are thankful for your comments which are invaluable in helping us maintain and continue to improve our services to all our valued Guests.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

all prices in Nairobi is not cheap already, i spent a week there, the hotel is super clean, not very modern but good furniture though, very green. the breakfast buffet is not very rich, but for dinner menu, all food was sooo tasty. the stuff are super friendly and you can see a smile wherever you go, they are very ready to help anytime. I really loved them. the place is quiet so you will have a good sleep. i would definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MA1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear MA1979,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It is gratifying to note that we met and exceeded your expectations and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again should you visit Kenya in the future.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I will précis this by saying that this is business travel, so different expectations

Hotel clean and central. Food good, (red snapper) if a little slow on delivery. Staff attentive. Everybody has a smile.

Room 517, above the kitchen so noisy and it appears there is a large water heater on the other side of the wall. So if you like getting up at 6 then the room is fine. Staff very happy to move me. What upsets me is if the hotel know the room is noisy why not warn travelers or reduce the rate.

Breakfast good coffee and omelets, but choice is limited.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

stayed here for 5 nights and room was spacious with garden view.....it felt like we were sooo far away from chaotic Nairobi..staff very helpful and attentive.... the only major complaint we had during our stay is the amount of salt they put in the food.....we constantly mentioned it to them and I have to say they was no improvement in the 5 nights we were there so a few times we opted to just go some place else for meals. ......On sunday morning the cleaning staff were so so loud at 7:30am in the morning and I went out the room 3 times to ask them to just keep it down and called the front as well but they just carried on with the noise....(our room was 427.....explanation given by the front desk they were a lot of guests leaving this morning so maybe that is why ) the other incident they have this black chinese teapots like the ones they sell in Teavana.....and I remember mentioning it to my partner the first morning how I didn't trust the teapots well on day 3 when I went to pour out my tea into my cup... behold came a fat housefly that did not survive the swim.. very tenderly burnt in the hot tea (ok I feel sick over again......just thankful it came out on the first pour) I didn't drink another tea after that.....i'm mentioning this because I think it would be such a brilliant idea to get rid of the black teapots and get something that you can see through or that if anything crawls in you can spot it.....The Hotel has a contract with a Taxi cab company called (I can't recall...maybe Kencab...) stay away from this guys they are dodgy and out to rip you off....yes it was that bad and after that one episode we just called Taxi cabs from the intercontinental from our previous stay or they are options right along the hotel that were as nice...we will come back again...hopefully the black teapots will be gone and the Taxi cab company washed down the street by a big tornado.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idreamofkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear idreamofkenya,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We sincerely appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our service.

Kindly note that your concern in regards to the noise, black Chinese teapots and amount of salt has been noted and remedial measures will be put in place. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

It's in a quiet location, which matters in Nairobi. There is a lovely shaded courtyard. Restaurants under broad porches are charming.
The pool is not exceptional, but for how badly you may need peace and tranquility while in Nairobi!

They have an EXCELLENT burger at the pool (try it.)

The desk staff is friendly and professional.

The reason I don't give it a higher rating: I arrived at 2:30am from a long trip (Abuja to Addis Ababa to Nairobi), and desperately wanted a hot shower. Turned on the shower, only cold water... Called the front dest (really didn't want to repackage and move, but would have... But it wasn't an option); they sent a maintenance guy who gave it some puzzling looks and said "fixed!"... I ran it, said "this feels warm to you?"... Pause... "No, in think the hot water pipe is clogged, I'll fix it tomorrow."

Very good is being charitable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1k_by_June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear 1k_by_June,

Thank you for taking time to share your very impressive feedback following your recent visit to Nairobi.

We are humbled by your comments and happy that our product accompanied by our dedicated team ensured that your stay is exceptional.

Please accept our apologies for the hot water inconvenience which I have addressed with the Chief engineer to ensure seamless service delivery.

We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing