We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel in Nairobi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
The Sea Ranch, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Nairobi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed one night here during my 3 night stay in Nairobi and this was the best hotel. The rooms and bathrooms were large and the service was fantastic. I really enjoyed the room looking out to the beautiful courtyard, with the very comfortable bed and large flat screen TV. For a hotel in the downtown Nairobi it was very quiet and offered an excellent breakfast buffet including a great cappuccino! The pool,spa and gym are clean and modern. The only downside to the hotel is you have to be a member of the Fairmont President Club in order to have free Internet. I was able to join and immediately use the Internet service. I also easily walked to Uluru Park, Nairobi University and the surrounding shopping area from the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room overlooking the courtyard. Lower level rooms have little outdoor patios on the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twickski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    292
    77
    42
    17
See reviews for
130
224
53
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I visited the hotel during my recent holiday in Kenya. I lived in Nairobi 30 years ago so this was a re visit. The hotel was in process of renovation but the friendly staff were very helpful and welcoming. We sat in the bar and watched Margaret Thatcher's funeral on the television. The staff very helpfully gave us a table close to the TV and turned it up for us so we could hear the commentary, despite being busy with a lunchtime conference. So we decided to stay for lunch and watched the funeral from beginning to end. The food, service and general attitude of the smiling staff was excellent. The only sad note was the removal of a famous mural from the bar area. This mural, depicted 'Kenya colony' characters such as Karen Blixen, Lord Delamare and Berkeley Cole. This is part of Kenyan history and it is a great shame it does not exist any more. But overall, the Norfolk is just as excellent as I remembered it. It is good to know some things don't change over the years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at the hotel being a basic member of Fairmont President Club program (which still gives free internet access and free gym access to all members, therefore it is worth joining even if you never plan to stay at Fairmont property again).
I was traveling alone on a business trip

Hotel is located in central Nairobi in what I was told one of safest locations as central police is located within 200m from the hotel. The hotel selling point is that it creates an inclusive experience that you feel insulated from the outside world - if your windows face the courtyard you don't see anything or hear anything that goes on around the hotel. Hotel itself have several interconnected buildings (wings) the nicest being the ones around the courtyard. Hotel driver met us at the airport for the price of USD 30 per person one way. Trip took about 45 minutes but can be longer in rush hour traffic. Service is courteous but inconsistent - we were met with very old looking minibus which obviously was parked under the sun for quite long time as it took almost 15 minutes after engine start to bring temperature down to acceptable level. Transfer back to the airport was done by SUV.

Check-in and check-out formalities were handled relatively fast, although at times it appears as if reception people don't exactly know what they are doing. Check-in person was firstly insisting that I will have to pay for the internet, although after consulting with the colleagues he confirmed that it will be free (as a benefit of FPC). Check out was of similar duration with multiple iterations back and forth.

My room was on the ground floor of courtyard wing, therefore had the door outside with small patio. Windows were floor to ceiling, therefore for ground floor rooms little privacy exists and one have to keep curtains closed at all times. If privacy is something that is important for you, seek the room higher up. Room was of adequate size. The only annoyance was loudly ticking mechanical alarm clock which I had to lock in the bathroom each nigh

Bathroom was on the small size with no bath (only shower cubicle). Bathrobe and slippers were provided. Toiletries were of usual Fairmont kind (Miller Harris).

Staff mostly speaks English and was reasonably competent.

Internet access was free due to my President's club membership. It was fast and reliable.

Hotel has a restaurant and 2 bars (Lord Delamere Terrace and Cin Cin). Be prepared - due to captive audience, food is quite expensive. I did not go to the main restaurant but average dinner at either bars will set you back $70-80 per person. Breakfast was served at the Lord Delamere terrace and is also quite expensive at ~$30, but will have reasonable variety of cold items (although for the hotel of this category I would normally expect more), some fruits/vegetables and the egg station. There supposedly also is a tea room and the swimming pool bar, but I did not visit these.

Hotel has fitness facilities and outdoor swimming pool. It was the first time I've seen gym with windows open and air-conditioning off - which was quite hot at times (I don't know if they turned A/C off for winter). There is also business center with couple of computers.

Bottom line - there are not too many hotels from international chains in Nairobi - this one looked reasonably well although quite expensive to my liking.

If anyone has any questions related to this hotel I will be glad to answer (if I know the answer) - just ask.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear AX9465,

On behalf of Fairmont The Norfolk team I wish to thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that your stay with us was satisfactory. All Guest feedback is valued and is shared with the team, good and not so good.

We have noted your concerns regarding our check-in and check-out formalities and our health club air-conditioning which I am very apologetic about and I shall address with the rest of the team.

I am also pleased to inform you that we revised our menu prices effective April 26, 2013.

Please be assured that a warm welcome awaits you should you find yourself visiting Nairobi again in the future.


Kind Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTER
Level Contributor
234 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

At the Norfolk, you do not get the "authentic" African experience, but it is an oasis for everything going on around you. The rooms are well-appointed, the restaurants excellent and the staff professional and anxious to please. You won't see wild animals, but the gardens are relaxing to sit and watch the birds or pet the gray cat who visits. Rooms overlooking the garden are obviously best (the outside views are not as picturesque.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The title of my review is how the hotel describes itself. Opening in 1904, it is still very "sophisticated", spotless and very welcoming. We stayed for 2 nights prior to leaving on a safari. The rooms and grounds are beautiful and well kept. The location is great and only a short walk to the hectic city center. It has also been described as "a calm oasis in the heart of the city"! The service is 5 star, keeping with the reputation of The Fairmont Hotels.

Room Tip: Our room was over the court -yard and it got very loud one nite, as it seemed like the whole outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
281 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Beautiful rooms and grounds in the centre of the city. Meticulously maintained with the expected 5 star service one expects . Tasteful decor and furniture in the fashion you would expect from the countrys oldest hotel .Wish I could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: No bad rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Fortq,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are definitely looking forward to hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, BC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Norfolk for one night, arriving at 2am to check in for a 1 night stay before catching our flight with Safari Link to the Masai Mara. The hotel is in a beautiful historic building that's been well maintained and updated and has the feel of a 5 star luxury hotel with all the amenities you would expect at a Fairmont. The rooms were beautiful and beds very comfortable. We had trouble with our air conditioning but the problem was quickly addressed. Service is excellent. We ordered room service for breakfast and it was expensive but very delicious. Grounds are well maintained and everything is spotless. The area was quiet and peaceful even though you are right in the middle of the city! Great 1 night stay and perfect place to rest before catching a flight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberAbbotsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Amber Abbotsford,


Thank you very much for sharing your memorable stay at Fairmont The Norfolk

We’re elated that you enjoyed the whole ambience, beautiful gardens, delicious food & excellent service.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing