We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveler rating
614
398
106
60
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
398
106
60
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstatu restaurantlord delamere terracecin cin barold world charmcolonial eraan oasisheated poolgift shopbeautiful hotelbusy citybreakfast buffet ismasai maraeast africabusiness tripdowntown nairobirooms are spaciouselephant orphanage
Filter
Updating list...
905 - 910 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in this historical Fairmont property in Nairobi on our way to the Masai Mara National Reserve and again on our way back to London. We had a late night arrival from London and the Visa/Immigration process took longer than expected. We had arranged for airport transfer with the Fairmont - and was concerned about the long wait - but Joseph, was waiting, all smiles, with our name on his professionally- made card. We were immediately whisked to his van, offered hot towels and drinks. The security check at the hotel itself raised concern for its necessity but shrugged it off as one of those things that should be reassuring us. (We found out later this is standard procedure; we noted meetings of high profile corporations). Much to our pleasure, we were upgraded to the Theodore Roosevelt suite - overlooking the gardens. We had room service as it was late. We had breakfast at the open air Lord Delamere Terrace - the choices were overwhelming and everything was good and again, the service was very attentive. We were taken to the Wilson airport for our short flight to the Masai by David in one of the hotel's luxury SUV's. Eight days later we were back, again met on time at the airport by Joseph with his hot towels and cold drinks. We had drinks at the elegant Cin Cin wine bar, and later a memorable dinner at the hotel's Tatu steakhouse. We had on recommendation by the server, fish caught in Lake Victoria and some Kenyan vegetable dish. Excellent food and service - although I should comment that the the dining area was quite dark and noted some servers shining a flashlight on the menu for some diners. This should not be necessary if lighting was adequate for reading a menu. We were departing for London late that night so we opted for a day tour of Nairobi with David, who was an excellent driver/guide, well spoken and knowledgable of the history and culture (both human and animal) of Nairobi. As we have already checked out for the day, the hotel staff stored our luggage until we came back from the day tour. Because of this easy accommodation, we managed spa time and another dinner before heading to the airport, again with Joseph who made sure we were alright at departures area. Our stay at this Fairmont property was rather short - but the hospitality and care we experienced from the staff and Management will be long in our treasured memories.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LG1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear JC,

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed several aspects of the hotel especially the great service, very pleasant and helpful staff, great breakfast and excellent dinner.

I will certainly pass on the encouraging feedback to our management team as well as the transport team.

Thank you for your feedback and we welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to Nairobi.

Kind Regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a lovely property in the heart of Nairobi. It has a lovely open courtyard. The hotel bar sits on the edge of it and it's a great place to sit back and have a drink and relax. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included with our room stay and was a great value. It had a wide selection, including being able to order an omlette and pancakes. The wait staff was always very attentive.

I'd definitely stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kstvlagnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed one day/night at the The Fairmont in Nairobi. It was nice to be back in "civilization" after a two week safari. Room was average, comfortable. They had several restaurant options. We enjoyed the Lord DelamereTerrace, where you could sit outside, street side. Weather was nice, we chose to dine there. Food was good also, as was wine selection and beer. We took advantage of the business center and the gift store. This room was expensive, but considering other locations of hotels, we were glad we made this choice. We felt safe walking within a two - three block radius, but ended up hiring a driver to take us to various sites outside of the hotel area. Service was great. Despite security, they made you feel comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djstravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions recently. On each occasion, there was a long wait at reception. On our second stay we were given a room in the unrenovated section.Our room was dirty, the shower head sprayed water everywhere but on ones body, The shower door would not close properly and leaked water all over the floor. When I took up my complaint with the Director of Operations, Priyan he acknowledged that certain areas of the hotel were sub standard and offered to refund the cost of the night. The breakfast on the veranda is lovely, and the gym wonderful as too are its staff.There are now newer and better hotels in Nairobi and until the renovations are complete, I suggest avoid staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you wish to stay here insist on a renovated room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and our staff and gym are wonderful too.

We have noted your comments about the room and the shower. It was unfortunate that the hotel was busy during your visit and you were allocated a room in the unrenovated section. However, I am pleased to inform you that we are embarking on a total renovation programme starting November 2012 that will ensure all wings are fully renovated.

Thank you for your constructive feedback as this enables us to address any flaws as we strive to continually review services and the experience that we deliver.

We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

With a childhood spent in Nairobi, this was a hotel we use to visit often. Returning now with my own family many years later, it was an obvious choice to stay at the start of our epic adventure around Kenya!
We requested refubished rooms overlooking the main courtyard and were lucky enough to get them. These rooms were of a good size and everything you would expect in a good standard hotel. We had an overnight flight from the UK, so just relaxed by the pool all afternoon. It was very peaceful and we had very good service by the pool for food and drinks. Athough saying that, the pool menu for food was a little disappointing with regard to choice.
My husband had an excellent massage in the Spa and would recommend it.
The following day we spent visiting David Sheldrake Elephant Trust, Giraffe centre, Kuzuri Beads and Karen Blixen Museum, all arranged through the hotel with our own driver. Worth doing. We had dinner that night in the Tatu Restaurant, quite pricey but the steak was excellent and the service wonderful.
The buffet breakfast in the Delamare 'open' Restaurant was very good and the location of it makes a lovely start to the day.
We love the location of the Norfolk, being just outside the main City, the grounds are beautiful and peaceful and you could easily forget you were in the capital. The Norfolk, for me, has hardly changed over the years in the way of excellent service and warm welcome and we would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews