We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Short but Sweet Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Short but Sweet Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in this historical Fairmont property in Nairobi on our way to the Masai Mara National Reserve and again on our way back to London. We had a late night arrival from London and the Visa/Immigration process took longer than expected. We had arranged for airport transfer with the Fairmont - and was concerned about the long wait - but Joseph, was waiting, all smiles, with our name on his professionally- made card. We were immediately whisked to his van, offered hot towels and drinks. The security check at the hotel itself raised concern for its necessity but shrugged it off as one of those things that should be reassuring us. (We found out later this is standard procedure; we noted meetings of high profile corporations). Much to our pleasure, we were upgraded to the Theodore Roosevelt suite - overlooking the gardens. We had room service as it was late. We had breakfast at the open air Lord Delamere Terrace - the choices were overwhelming and everything was good and again, the service was very attentive. We were taken to the Wilson airport for our short flight to the Masai by David in one of the hotel's luxury SUV's. Eight days later we were back, again met on time at the airport by Joseph with his hot towels and cold drinks. We had drinks at the elegant Cin Cin wine bar, and later a memorable dinner at the hotel's Tatu steakhouse. We had on recommendation by the server, fish caught in Lake Victoria and some Kenyan vegetable dish. Excellent food and service - although I should comment that the the dining area was quite dark and noted some servers shining a flashlight on the menu for some diners. This should not be necessary if lighting was adequate for reading a menu. We were departing for London late that night so we opted for a day tour of Nairobi with David, who was an excellent driver/guide, well spoken and knowledgable of the history and culture (both human and animal) of Nairobi. As we have already checked out for the day, the hotel staff stored our luggage until we came back from the day tour. Because of this easy accommodation, we managed spa time and another dinner before heading to the airport, again with Joseph who made sure we were alright at departures area. Our stay at this Fairmont property was rather short - but the hospitality and care we experienced from the staff and Management will be long in our treasured memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LG1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear JC,

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed several aspects of the hotel especially the great service, very pleasant and helpful staff, great breakfast and excellent dinner.

I will certainly pass on the encouraging feedback to our management team as well as the transport team.

Thank you for your feedback and we welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to Nairobi.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    298
    78
    42
    17
See reviews for
131
228
54
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a lovely property in the heart of Nairobi. It has a lovely open courtyard. The hotel bar sits on the edge of it and it's a great place to sit back and have a drink and relax. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included with our room stay and was a great value. It had a wide selection, including being able to order an omlette and pancakes. The wait staff was always very attentive.

I'd definitely stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kstvlagnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed one day/night at the The Fairmont in Nairobi. It was nice to be back in "civilization" after a two week safari. Room was average, comfortable. They had several restaurant options. We enjoyed the Lord DelamereTerrace, where you could sit outside, street side. Weather was nice, we chose to dine there. Food was good also, as was wine selection and beer. We took advantage of the business center and the gift store. This room was expensive, but considering other locations of hotels, we were glad we made this choice. We felt safe walking within a two - three block radius, but ended up hiring a driver to take us to various sites outside of the hotel area. Service was great. Despite security, they made you feel comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djstravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions recently. On each occasion, there was a long wait at reception. On our second stay we were given a room in the unrenovated section.Our room was dirty, the shower head sprayed water everywhere but on ones body, The shower door would not close properly and leaked water all over the floor. When I took up my complaint with the Director of Operations, Priyan he acknowledged that certain areas of the hotel were sub standard and offered to refund the cost of the night. The breakfast on the veranda is lovely, and the gym wonderful as too are its staff.There are now newer and better hotels in Nairobi and until the renovations are complete, I suggest avoid staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you wish to stay here insist on a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and our staff and gym are wonderful too.

We have noted your comments about the room and the shower. It was unfortunate that the hotel was busy during your visit and you were allocated a room in the unrenovated section. However, I am pleased to inform you that we are embarking on a total renovation programme starting November 2012 that will ensure all wings are fully renovated.

Thank you for your constructive feedback as this enables us to address any flaws as we strive to continually review services and the experience that we deliver.

We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

With a childhood spent in Nairobi, this was a hotel we use to visit often. Returning now with my own family many years later, it was an obvious choice to stay at the start of our epic adventure around Kenya!
We requested refubished rooms overlooking the main courtyard and were lucky enough to get them. These rooms were of a good size and everything you would expect in a good standard hotel. We had an overnight flight from the UK, so just relaxed by the pool all afternoon. It was very peaceful and we had very good service by the pool for food and drinks. Athough saying that, the pool menu for food was a little disappointing with regard to choice.
My husband had an excellent massage in the Spa and would recommend it.
The following day we spent visiting David Sheldrake Elephant Trust, Giraffe centre, Kuzuri Beads and Karen Blixen Museum, all arranged through the hotel with our own driver. Worth doing. We had dinner that night in the Tatu Restaurant, quite pricey but the steak was excellent and the service wonderful.
The buffet breakfast in the Delamare 'open' Restaurant was very good and the location of it makes a lovely start to the day.
We love the location of the Norfolk, being just outside the main City, the grounds are beautiful and peaceful and you could easily forget you were in the capital. The Norfolk, for me, has hardly changed over the years in the way of excellent service and warm welcome and we would definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed in this hotel while i was on a business trip to Nairobi. My room was in the main building and on a little bit smaller side, rooms overlooking the courtyard in other buildings seem to be a little bit bigger. There were necessary tea and coffee facilities in the room, internet connection was included in my rate and it was actually pretty good.
The hotel swimming pool is small but it is heated which is nice if you are travelling late in the year.
Breakfast was very nice but during the week it was a little bit busy in the morning when most business people have their breakfast: so if you have a chance, go for breakfast a bit later.
The hotel provides shuttle service to and from airport for additional price and you can also organize a driver to drive you around National Park and main attractions of Nairobi. This is something nice to do if you have time during the weekend or staying for a day in Nairobi. If you are leaving too early, the hotel will provide breakfast package.
The only issue i had was with cleaning: cleaning service seems to work extremely slow: even if you place "please clean room" sign nobody gives priority to your room. I did have to raise this issue with the manager to ensure my room got cleaned.
Otherwise there were no major issues: the hotel is nice and friendly and food in the hotel restaurants is delicious.

Room Tip: choose rooms overlooking courtyard: they seem to be a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elenkahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located to Nairobi's city center. Although this may or may not be a positive thing for some travellers. There is not a whole lot of activites to do inside of the city therefore perhaps being on the outskirts would be more beneficial.
The hotel itself is what you would excpet from the Fairmont brand, clean, safe (lots of security), and overall beatiful with a large scenic area within it's walls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EcstaticTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#10 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing