We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Couldn't ask or expect anything better for a one night stay in Nairobi prior to my safari trip to the masai mara. Easy check-in. Nice staff and the in-room dining was excellent. I wouldn't really say much about the location, it seemed to be well guarded but I just needed something not far away from the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont The Norfolk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Sorry to see the colonial style slowly losing his touch in a very confortable hôtel. Must be THE place in Town for breakfast. You can have a very good idea of what Nairobi used to be in the good old days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Overall the hotel is very average for a Fairmont. More like a Holiday Inn. The room we stayed in had not been upgraded, so the bathrooms were outdated and the overall quality was not of the typical Fairmont standard. There are several other hotels that are better value for the money on Trip Advisors best hotels list

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodjunkie712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We have noted your concern on our rooms, which we are refurbishing in stages. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Norfolk has a long and proud history and has seen many travellers walk up its carpeted steps and enter into the reception in it's distinguished life. I first visited as a child in 1967 and I have periodically revisited over the intervening years when visiting Kenya and it has never failed to delight. In my view it remains one of the landmark hotels of Africa. My most recent visit noticed sharper service than usual and everyone had a smile - whoever is manager at the moment is running a good and tight ship. The rooms were also cleaned to a high standard and attended to in the evening in a thoughtful way. It has maintained its position at the top of the list, whilst some of its rivals have become complacent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at The Norfolk for about 12 nights whilst on business in Nairobi in August, so I can say I had a pretty in-depth view of the hotel. Most things I'd normally list have been mentioned repeatedly by other reviewers: convenient location, excellent standard of rooms, beautiful, quiet grounds, very good gym (mainly cardio machines), attractive pool.

So I'll mention three items of special note, not least because they'll contradict some previous reviews:
- In-room wifi internet was excellent -- fastest I've had in Africa, and certainly fast enough that I never felt like connection speed was a problem at all.
- The staff were friendly, attentive and capable -- there's a reason Kenyans are sought-after for management positions in hotels and resorts across east Africa.
- The food in the veranda restaurant -- yes, it was expensive, but I rarely have moments where the first bite of a dish suddenly gets my full and complete attention. The grilled tilapia did that to me, and the calamari was a close second. And I agree with the previous review that the prawn spring rolls were top-notch as well. My compliments to the chef and the waitstaff.

I would stay at The Norfolk again without a second thought.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Gator_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our excellent standard of rooms, convenient location, high internet speed, staff, food and gym services. It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Norfork for 2 days on our arrival to Kenya from the states. We had plans to site see and adjust to the time change prior to our safari in the Masai Mara. It was a lovely hotel, the staff was exceptional. We had arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport as well as for site seeing around the city. If I could do it all over again I would just have taken a cab from the airport to the hotel and around town. On our leg back to Nairobi after our safari, we took taxi's around and it was much more affordable. The hotel charges 3-4 times more then a taxi service or driver would. The resaturant in the hotel was nice and the food fabulous. We also really enjoyed the pool. Besides being way over priced on services, we had a very nice stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed that The Norfolk on both legs of our Safari.
The hotel was elegant and very well managed. Our rooms were well appointed had every amenity and had been well maintained.We did not see the rooms that had been or were in the process of being completely remodeled, but the rendering photos showed them to be extremely state of the art. The staff couldn't have been more professional or gracious. Breakfasts were excellent and the onsite dinner restaurant was fabulous.
You could get to the heart of Nairobi very easily from the hotel and the security was very tight. We would definitely stay here again if returning to Nairobi.

Room Tip: I would check to see if the newly remodeled rooms were available. We stayed in room which started w...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our rooms, food and security vigilance. It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#20 of 167 in Nairobi
1,021 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 167 in Nairobi
914 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $200 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing