We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$157
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$175
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$193
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$93
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,183)
Filter reviews
1,183 results
Traveler rating
600
394
104
60
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
600
394
104
60
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstatu restaurantlord delamere terracecin cin barold world charman oasisheated poolgift shopcolonial stylemasai marabreakfast buffet isbeautiful hotelbusy cityeast africabusiness tripdowntown nairobirooms are spacioussafari
Filter
Updating list...
915 - 920 of 1,183 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A bit disappointed that the quoted rate was exclusive of Kenya taxes of 29%. This made a big difference to the total charges. The bar was pleasant and drinks prices reasonable. Breakfast buffet price steep, and only on the second query were we offered a cheaper rate (about $US10pp) for coffee and pastries alone. Room was nice, and wifi included in the rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This was my second visit to the Norfolk (first being in 2004), and the improvements are palpable and readily evident.

The hotel has gotten a beautiful makeover. They have added a 5 star restaurant "Tatu", which is phenomenal and worth every penny for a culinary experience of a lifetime. The chef is extraordinary and the restaurant boasts a great wine collection.

The rooms and suites are beautifully appointed, and the hard bed problem I encountered in 2004 has been remedied. The professional, friendly and courteous staff is second to none.

I wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else when in Nairobi.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smanzane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our Tatu restaurant, rooms and staff. It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.


Regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The taxi driver ( British guy) who mey Viewbaron and his wife at the airport insisted the fairmont was one of the best hotels in Nairobi.....and I couldn't find anything to disagree.

The foyer is rather grand- Viewbaron overheard a business meeting, where some gentleman were talking over the intricacies of put options ( lovely stuff ), however I digress. The staff on entry are polite and friendly ...." jambo, Viewbaron" they said...." jambo" replied I.

The receptionists were swift and before long we were making our way to our room. You walk through the foyer into a rather splendid garden, full of life....( though not too sure why there were 3 tables in the corner with a single lady at each, but I'll move on)

The room was large - similar to a Hilton in the uk, fully equipped with safe and mini bar. Perhaps a little gripe was that there is no mosquito net, so you are at the mercy of the blood sucking ruffians already in the room.

The food in the main restaurant was perhaps a little over priced...but the buffet breakfast was awesome...looking onto the road with locals walking around in suits and ties in 100 degree heat.

Viewbaron would stay here again, if in the area for business.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viewbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our staff. We have however noted your concern on the unavailability of a mosquito net in your room which is normally provided on request. It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Fairmont The Norfolk.

Regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here three times over three weeks as we came in and out of Nairobi during our safari segments. We saw consistency over the three visits in room quality, staff responsiveness, and food. All very good. And that buffet breakfast was outstanding.
It is a classy place with a lot of history.

Room Tip: One night our room was on the back side of the left wing where there is a service alley. We didn't experience any noise. From an ambiance standpoint, ask for a room overlooking the inner garden.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratch37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our rooms, staff services and food. It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our stays were very pleasant, with nice accommodations, wonderful breakfast buffet, and very helpful staff. Our room, on our first stay, had a strong smell of newly painted rooms but that had lessened by the time of our return. It was quite disconcerting to realize there was an armed guard at the entrance, as well as having to submit to a search every time we entered the hotel. That said, it was a very nice hotel,with a lot of history. If the walls could only talk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our rooms, services and security vigilance. It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews