We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A colonial icon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A colonial icon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The staff were very helpful and friendly and helped us with all our queries, the Delamare Terrace was lovely (although the breakfast seemed quite pricey). The lobby/bar areas really have colonial grandeur as do the gardens, we only stayed in the un-rennovated rooms and they were a bit tired, but clean and large (very comfy beds). I would stay here again just because of the history of the place and I like that connection.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesa7242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our colonial grandeur and supportive staff. It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Fairmont The Norfolk.

Kind Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    269
    71
    37
    13
See reviews for
114
195
50
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed two different times during our 2 week safari, staying in both the renovated and non-renovated rooms. Of the five hotels we stayed in, I rank this hotel #2. The renovated rooms are excellent, the non-renovated very good. Service in the restaurant was spotty, having to get up several times to find a waiter. Quality of food was ok. Business center always busy so was unable to use it. Gift shop had high quality items. Watch out for their laundry prices. A companion had a $250 bill for t-shirts, underwear, socks, and shorts.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1happygolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about our renovated rooms and the gift shop. We have noted your concerns on our restaurant services and laundry prices which I have addressed with the rest of the team and we will take the necessary measures to rectify.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Fairmont The Norfolk.

Kind Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Muted elegance, post-colonial grandeur this is not!

Drinks at Cin Cin is very similar to boarding Kenya Airways business class and being hassled by a faux-friendly crew all decked out in gaudy, fez-coloured nylon uniforms. They're up-selling booze that they don't drink "madame would you like to try the mooette?" Sorry, but I don't know mooette, is it some sort of milkshake? It seems the interior design of this once beautiful building was also decided by the cabin crew. It's very airport lounge - swirly brown and beige nylon carpets, buzzing red lights, cluttered "modern" angular furniture in all the wrong proportions. The cocktails are ok though, so long as you don't mind explaining that to four different members of the crew as everyone is so concerned about your Norfolk experience.

At dinner in Tatu, we sat next to the huge plastic illuminated screen that changed colour in sync with the little plastic candles on all the tables - so glam (if this was a retro 70s disco and not a pricy restaurant with a fading heritage). The Morendat steak is great but the accoutrements are straight from the shelves of Nakumatt at a 5000% mark-up. And there's something a bit sleazy about the black leather tablecloths... but our super enthusiastic waiter, who was very keen to get involved in our evening out, took his time to explain that these cloths are wipe-able and they also get buffed with chamois and polish once a week. Thanks for that. Later we learnt how to make a cafetiere of coffee; the waiter explained this to us in detail, in case we didn't know - "you take two soup spoons of coffee, do you know soup spoons?" Arrghh! Can I just savour these lovely home-made truffles in peace, please? The meal was a chore, we felt like counsellors employed to reassure the manager, his deputy, the chef and a few other bustling grinning waiters that yes, everything is fine, you're doing the right thing, it's ok, don't feel insecure... we disembarked swiftly.

Please - strip the walls of the orange tactile coating and ugly Moroccan-style goatskin lamps, tacked up in their hundreds. Let's get back to cool white walls, lofty ceilings, a roaring open fire and a staff that is attentively invisible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esjaywilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Horrified by the moldy soap bar. Seems like they recycle the soap box and just replace the soap bar, despite the fact that the box is beat up, damp, and moldy. The mold then transfers from the box to the bar. We had this experience the last time we stayed here last week. Told them when we checked out and here we are with the same problem again. Such a displeasure and disappointment. Cannot believe a hotel that charges hundreds on dollars per night would shortchange on soap.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoda72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is most concerning to learn of the mouldy soap in your bathroom. I truly apologise that our bathroom facilities fell short of your expectation. I certainly understand how frustrating it must have been. This is certainly not in keeping with the level of service we strive to provide nor typical of this hotel.

Thank you for giving us this valuable feedback. We apologise for this shortfall as we discovered the soaps were stored in a damp place. We have made the necessary correction to this mishap.

We hope this will not deter you from staying with us in future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont The Norfolk.

Kind regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Plesantly surprised by this heritage hotel in Kenya....nice rooms , quiet, great courtyard bar and decent service.....check in could have been better

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kash8813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here on business a couple of weeks ago and will not bother again.

The room was incredibly dated, awful dark blue carpets and dark, mis-matched furniture. The bathroom was in a poor state of repair, with plaster hanging off and bits chipped out of the tiles and the floor. The shower was half falling off barely a trickle came out. The air con was so loud I couldn't have it on.

This was the second hotel of five on a business trip and was unquestionably the worst one, despite being the most expensive. Given the usual standard of the Fairmont, I was very surprised. I checked the rooms of my two colleagues as well, in case I had just been unlucky - but sadly their rooms were also very dated.

The bar area was fine and quite inviting, as were the two restaurants I took a look at (we were eating out of the hotel). The gardens were very well maintained and the reception and security staff very friendly. All of this is great, assuming you never want to spend any time at all in your room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenLN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us.

We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our bar, restaurants and hotel staff. it is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed your expectations.

We however noted your comments regarding the state and decor of the wing you were booked in. Renovations are ongoing and should you be returning you will be pleased to be booked in our refurbished rooms.

Thank you again for giving us this valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at Fairmont The Norfolk

Kind regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before my safari began. It was fantastic! Beautiful rooms that were new, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I ate in both restaurants and they were excellent. Doesn't seem like a place like this could exist in the middle of Nairobi but it does. The security is also good. Guard outside entrance to hotel and everyone has to have their handbag searched before entering. I felt very safe in this hotel in a potentially dangerous city. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was already assigned by my safari company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our friendly & accommodating staff, great food and security accorded in a potentially dangerous city. It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont the Norfolk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing