We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turned off by moldy soap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #11 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Horrified by the moldy soap bar. Seems like they recycle the soap box and just replace the soap bar, despite the fact that the box is beat up, damp, and moldy. The mold then transfers from the box to the bar. We had this experience the last time we stayed here last week. Told them when we checked out and here we are with the same problem again. Such a displeasure and disappointment. Cannot believe a hotel that charges hundreds on dollars per night would shortchange on soap.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoda72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is most concerning to learn of the mouldy soap in your bathroom. I truly apologise that our bathroom facilities fell short of your expectation. I certainly understand how frustrating it must have been. This is certainly not in keeping with the level of service we strive to provide nor typical of this hotel.

Thank you for giving us this valuable feedback. We apologise for this shortfall as we discovered the soaps were stored in a damp place. We have made the necessary correction to this mishap.

We hope this will not deter you from staying with us in future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont The Norfolk.

Kind regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Plesantly surprised by this heritage hotel in Kenya....nice rooms , quiet, great courtyard bar and decent service.....check in could have been better

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kash8813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here on business a couple of weeks ago and will not bother again.

The room was incredibly dated, awful dark blue carpets and dark, mis-matched furniture. The bathroom was in a poor state of repair, with plaster hanging off and bits chipped out of the tiles and the floor. The shower was half falling off barely a trickle came out. The air con was so loud I couldn't have it on.

This was the second hotel of five on a business trip and was unquestionably the worst one, despite being the most expensive. Given the usual standard of the Fairmont, I was very surprised. I checked the rooms of my two colleagues as well, in case I had just been unlucky - but sadly their rooms were also very dated.

The bar area was fine and quite inviting, as were the two restaurants I took a look at (we were eating out of the hotel). The gardens were very well maintained and the reception and security staff very friendly. All of this is great, assuming you never want to spend any time at all in your room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenLN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us.

We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our bar, restaurants and hotel staff. it is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed your expectations.

We however noted your comments regarding the state and decor of the wing you were booked in. Renovations are ongoing and should you be returning you will be pleased to be booked in our refurbished rooms.

Thank you again for giving us this valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at Fairmont The Norfolk

Kind regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before my safari began. It was fantastic! Beautiful rooms that were new, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I ate in both restaurants and they were excellent. Doesn't seem like a place like this could exist in the middle of Nairobi but it does. The security is also good. Guard outside entrance to hotel and everyone has to have their handbag searched before entering. I felt very safe in this hotel in a potentially dangerous city. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was already assigned by my safari company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our friendly & accommodating staff, great food and security accorded in a potentially dangerous city. It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont the Norfolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Love this hotel, very comfortable bed, nice shower and amenities.

Room service is speedy and very good, I arrived late and I was very hungry, I ordered soup salad (nicoise with seared tuna) and ice cream. I could not finish, the salad was delicious, the tuna very fresh and tasty.
A very peaceful hotel, conveniently located and extremely secure.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 58, facing the courtyard, I saw others, but this room still my favorite. Very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ready2go9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our efficient services and our newly refurbished rooms. It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont the Norfolk.



Kind regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

dining at The Tatu restaurant made me definately want a return to the hotel. the food is and the service very personalized. try this hotel for your special days and you will be glad.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are more spacious and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjabuAfricaSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially service and food at TATU restaurant. It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont the Norfolk.

Kind regards,

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Karen Blixen suit, and it was perfect. Fantastic views over the well maintained courtyard. The breakfast on the Lord Delamere Terrace was a excellent start to any day. You have to try dinner at Tatu, best steak I had in Kenya. The people there are terrific and realy take care of you. When your day is done, sitting down in the bar or patio for a drink winds down your day nicely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dentrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was perfect and you enjoyed dinning in our TATU restaurant and breakfast at Lord Delamere Terrace made your day.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Fairmont The Norfolk.

Kind Regards,

Richard Kimenyi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,297 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
1,045 reviews
Sankara Nairobi
#8 of 169 in Nairobi
923 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $191 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing