We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful courtyard, Great rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful courtyard, Great rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Karen Blixen suit, and it was perfect. Fantastic views over the well maintained courtyard. The breakfast on the Lord Delamere Terrace was a excellent start to any day. You have to try dinner at Tatu, best steak I had in Kenya. The people there are terrific and realy take care of you. When your day is done, sitting down in the bar or patio for a drink winds down your day nicely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dentrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was perfect and you enjoyed dinning in our TATU restaurant and breakfast at Lord Delamere Terrace made your day.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Fairmont The Norfolk.

Kind Regards,

Richard Kimenyi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    281
    74
    40
    13
See reviews for
129
211
51
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Great food
Great service and curtesy from staff
Valet parking takes the hassle off trying to find a spot

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanja_Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different places
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Booked this room at $289 on the hotel's website, so was a bit surprised when our bill came at about $400. But there's over 30% tax at Kenyan hotels! Not the Norfolk's fault, just something to watch out for. It also didn't help that they charged us nearly four times the price for mini-bar items - this was sorted out, but don't be confused by all the zeroes in shillings - convert it to your currency and see if the amount makes sense. Also, the restaurants in the hotel are pretty pricey - was about $50 per person for brunch (just coffee and juice, no alcohol). Food was good, but there are plenty of other good restaurants in Nairobi that are much less expensive. Other than that, the place is beautiful. Nice rooms, very quiet, lovely place to spend a weekend. Also had a good massage at the spa.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank optimallydisplaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our first stay at the Norfolk was delightful. Many time visitor to Kenya and have stayed in many hotels and guesthouses in Nairobi. This is the best I have had. In fact one of best hotels I have stayed in around the world. Recently acquired by Fairmont chain the accommodations were wonderful and the service excellent. Stayed there twice on this trip. With my wife. On checking in I asked if they could get my boarding passes for Kenya Air to Rome (I had had trouble with website). In thirty minutes a hostess brought me my passes on the terrace where we were having drinks. The front porch to the hotel is one of two places you must have a drink while in NBO, the other being the The Thorn Tree cafe at the New Stanley. Will always stay here from now on.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are my favorite. Overlook the original courtyard which no longer contains and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdtBhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

You can judge yourself the decor, food etc, that's all so subjective anyway. But let me tell you this (and its coming from someone who flies all around the world every single week)...

The service I received here on just my one night stay yesterday was some of the best I have ever received at any hotel anywhere:

Hotel shuttle met me at airport with a cold towel and cold beer - much needed after 8 hr flight
Big smiling welcome at reception
Impeccable service at breakfast and throughout all meals
Late check-out - no problem
Shuttle back to airport - lots of interesting conversation and a big smiling send-off

I only stayed in standard room but felt like a guest in a suite. Genuinely superb and for $200? Yes please!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaffam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and particularly on the services extended to you in the hotel shuttle. it is always a great pleasure to read that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Fairmont The Norfolk.

Sincerely,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Norfolk takes you back to the elegance and service provided visitors in the colonial days - now enjoyed by guests of all colors and origins. Certainly one of the best hotels in the world, made my stay - primarily to visit friends in Nairobi and visit a nearby village orphanage - a perticularly enjoyable one. Unlike most hotels this two story rambling series of buildings wraps around a beautiful interior of tropical greenery. Terraces into that area as well as in front at the busy road across from the University of Kenya each provide venues for food, teas, and drinks. The three main restaurants are excellent. I particularly enjoyed the saxifone at the bar - but don't expect live music on the weekends - it would disturb the guests watching football on the TVs. And if you want to experience an excellent but low key casual gormet restaurant, frequented only by knowable locals, try Alan Bobbys Bistro, but only if the hotel doorman can find a taxi driver who knows how to get there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowaconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. Fairmont The Norfolk indeed boasts a rich history of over 100 years.

We are delighted that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back at Fairmont The Norfolk.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Always excellent experience, whether for a stay or an afternoon reservation. I would not want to stay anywhere else, and cannot imagine up-paying for newer hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightHour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing