We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$157
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$175
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$96
$57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,186 results
Traveler rating
602
395
104
60
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
395
104
60
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstatu restaurantlord delamere terracecin cin barold world charmcolonial eraan oasisheated poolgift shopmasai marabeautiful hotelbreakfast buffet isbusy cityeast africabusiness tripdowntown nairobirooms are spacioussafari
Filter
Updating list...
948 - 953 of 1,186 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Unfortunately, what used to be a very nice place to stay in Nairobi has now somewhat gone downhill. The service, whilst still friendly, is slow and the food is not so good anymore. US$ 33 for a breakfast is extortionate. The rooms are still OK, as are the pool and the gym. The internet speed is mostly miserable. Don't even bother to take one of the taxis outside the hotel - you will end up paying much more than by just picking one up in the street.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the inner courtyard are nice, but you need to get used to the incessant clacking of suitcase wheels on the cobblestones.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. I will personally ensure that we address your concerns and rectify where applicable.

Sincerely,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We arrived at a ridiculously early hour of the morning, just after sunrise, and we were welcomed with smiles and immediately shown to our ground-floor room that looked onto the beautiful, shady garden courtyard. The accommodations were excellent: crisp, smooth sheets on a comfortable king-sized bed; high-quality toiletries in the prettiest hotel bathroom I've ever seen, although it was on the small side; fresh fruit and bottled water every day. The breakfast buffet was decadent (and expensive) so we chose to eat from the pastry and coffee table only for 1/3 the cost - the pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices were ample enough to satisfy even my husband's big breakfast habits! We ate two lunches and one dinner out on the town with friends, and one dinner on our own at the hotel's Tatu restaurant. The steak was out of this world, and the entire meal was a complete pleasure. Something not to be missed: High Tea, ordered from the Tea Room, and taken on the brick terrace. Culinary decadence in a lovely, quiet, grassy and shady courtyard. Like living a scene from "Out of Africa." We also enjoyed after dinner drinks, taken outside on luxurious leather sofas, at the Cin Cin wine bar. The historical appeal combined with modern amenities and excellent service make Fairmont the Norfolk a must-stay in Nairobi.

Only three "complaints" to note: the shower head was in need of replacing; I wonder if the security checkpoint (which is much appreciated!) might be moved to a location that doesn't block the entrance to, and dominate the view from some of the table at, the terrace where breakfast is served; the hotel laundry service was the most expensive I have ever encountered.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the ground floor, with a small terrace, that gave onto the courtyard. It was quiet and private and very cool, even without air con.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abidjanleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at this hotel in Nairobi and what an excellent choice.Wonderful service, very friendly and helpful staff. We hired the hotel car to take us sightseeing for the day and found David to be a very helpful and knowledgeable guide. David showed us around Nairobi as well as taking us to the elephant orphanage (highly recommended).We had been a bit apprehensive about staying in Nairobi, but felt very safe and would definitely return.Loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We are pleased that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. Thank you for your kind comments about our colleagues and service and in particular, your compliment to David, we shall share your feedback with the rest of the team.

sincerely,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Walking in the majestic doors of the Fairmont in Nairobi is like stepping back into the Colonial era. Passing through the strict security provides a sense of comfort and security in the midst of a fairly chaotic city. The elegant lobby and shade of the serene garden court are perfect for a midday lunch or evening cocktails. The rooms are slightly dated but charming. Beware, there are not screens on the windows and while there aren't mosquitoes during the day they come out by the scores come sundown! Don't recommend opening the windows!! Hotel staff was very helpful in preparing a take away breakfast so that we could make very early flight. Ask for a room in the more historic part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmop_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I fyou are looking for a nice, clean, safe, and friendly place to stay in Nairobi, you wont be disappointed with the Norfolk. A historic place and one that you can tell why it's been a staple for so many pre and post safari.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogo1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews