We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel but catastrofic organisation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #6 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
brussels
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good hotel but catastrofic organisation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I am a member of fairmount president club and imy experience been member is overal negative.in nairobi they dont respect the advantages and in the general ofice they never get on time to deliver your vouchers. SO YOU ARE ALLWAYS TOO LATE TO REDEEM THEM;It HAD MADE ME FURIOUS BECAUSE i WENT IN JULY AGAIN PLUS I USSED MASSAI MARRA LODGE;

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dustyharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    306
    79
    43
    17
See reviews for
134
235
57
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

My cousin and I stayed at the Norfolk last month, for two nights. Our experience was not a positive one, so I wrote a review here, knowing that a poor review can be much more effective than dealing with a situation at a hotel when things don't go well, or as they should.

After hearing directly from the Norfolk General Manager, I felt it was only fair to remove the negative review and commend the Manager and the hotel for correcting what went wrong during our stay. A full credit of one night's stay was issued back to the credit card, and a very sincere apology was given to both of us. I couldn't be more grateful for the way things were handled, even if it was done so after the fact. The level of professionalism and courtesy I experienced with the apology and the subsequent action is exactly what sets the Fairmont apart from other upscale hotel properties. Kudos.

Thanks go to The Fairmont Norfolk. I will be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We very much enjoyed the Norfolk. The staff was friendly and accommodating (allowed us a late check-out at 3:30pm).
I agree with other travellers - it's overpriced and a little old. The washrooms are not great standard, even in the deluxe rooms. We had a corporate rate and still found it expensive and were very surprised the breakfast wasn't included. But the breakfast was SUPER!
We asked for a pick-up from the airport when we arrived late in the evening, they wanted to charge us $60 per person for this. We eventually got them down to $45 total, which was still expensive but more reasonable. We paid a taxi about 2000 shillings (about $25) on the way back to the airport.
The pool gets quite busy in the afternoons, seems there were swimming lessons going on. Would've been nice to have some more sunchairs although the sun disappeared behind a building around 3pm.
The spa area upstairs is very nice and quite empty.
It's a charming place and nice if you have some down-time between activities in Kenya and can enjoy the facilities. If you'll just be sleeping there, you could probably go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sessa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Went for my Mother's 80th birthday with my brother aswell, good base for our Safari trip, their own excursions excellent, Mum fell in love with our driver Patrick ! Food and drinks excellent and reasonably priced, nothing ever too much trouble for any of the staff, they all always had time for a chat. Try it if in Nairobi you won't be dissapointed

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RangeroverWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed here for work; such a nice little hotel away from the hustle and crime of Nairobi, rooms are ok, although a bit dated, service is excellent, and the staff smile and say hello constantly. A nice touch. Breakfast is nice, and a great verandah, overlooking the street. In short, I thought the rooms were a bit overpriced. Obviously folks who take these expensive tours to Africa dont mind paying the high price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecameradude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed for a few days while on a business trip and thoroughly enjoyed this lovely hotel. It is a calm refuge from the busy Nairobi streets and its colonial charm is understated yet pleasant. The breakfasts are divine and the facilities (heated outdoor pool, decent gym, wifi and computer services as well as several restaurants and areas for tea or drinks) make for a comfortable stay. I highly recommend the spa - amazing and relaxing massages are available in peaceful and luxurious surroundings. The staff are very helpful and will go the extra mile to assist with travel and sightseeing arrangements. All round, one of the best places to stay in Nairobi. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We loved our stay at the Norfolk. The service is outstanding and food was excellent. Please make sure you book with a breakfast included price else it is quite expensive. Highly recommended for all travellers staying in Nairobi. Comes at a price though!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pokenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Property: Fairmont The Norfolk
Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing