We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont The Norfolk
Nearby Hotels
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$500
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,142)
Filter reviews
1,142 results
Traveler rating
583
380
98
58
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
380
98
58
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstatu restaurantlord delamere terracecin cin barcolonial eraold world charman oasisheated poolgift shopbeautiful hotelmasai marabreakfast buffet isbusy cityeast africasafari tripstandard roombusiness tripdowntown nairobi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
964 - 969 of 1,142 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2011

In a world of corporate, souless hotels what a relief to find a hotel with character. Fairmont have done a spectatcular job retaining the character of the hotel whilst bringing 21st century comforts to one of the grande dame hotels of Africa.

Due to the age of the building, some of the rooms are smaller than others so it is definitely worth paying the supplement for an upgraded room which isnt that much considering what you get.

There is plenty of atmosphere in the main hotel bar with screens showing the latest sports as well as a glamerous crowd in attendance of locals and residents alike maintaining the fashionable ritual of drinking at the Norfolk.

Whilst the pool didnt get much sunlight, the spa offers great value for money especially for massages and the location of the hotel makes it really accessible for all the attractions in Nairobi.

The staff were all friendly and polite and couldnt be faulted and if you are looking for a flavour of an Africa long since gone then this the only hotel to stay at in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement, you get what you pay for.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChelseaFootballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I really enjoyed the Norfolk, on my first stay my room overlooked the garden which was very pleasant. the next time i had to walk a mile to get to my room so the experience was not the same. The restaurant is pretty good and so is the bar area, not only for drinks but also for a lunchtime or business meeting. Staff is good overall. So far I think i'll return to Norfolk

Room Tip: Stay in the room close to reception.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

My mother grew in Nairobi, and she remembers the days when The Norfolk was the place to be seen, it was true colonial gem for Africa's, let alone Kenya's elite. It had a distilled charm which was a throwback to a past time. However now, with the new owners Fairmont, it has lost all that charm. In the past the mixed bag of rooms were forgiven because the hotel was uniquely African, and charming. But the hotel is bland and limp, yes it is an acceptable hotel with good food, it is clean and the service is pleasant but it can no longer be forgiven for its shortcomings and the fact that it is in a bad area of Nairobi. We stayed at Tribe a week later and it was much better on all fronts.

Room Tip: Do not go for ground floor rooms!
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel in Sept'10 for around 3 days and the overall experience was very good. The Hotel is in the mid of the town and is an old Hotel built around early 19's but even then its maintained very well. Having excellend service standards and its worth staying in this Hotel with Fairmont Tag with it..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divyajeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I have stayed at many 5* hotels in Nairobi and have to say that this is the most pleasant in terms of decor and ambiance - a true throw back to colonial days (much along the lines of Raffles). The problem, however, is the staff - they have no clue what customer service means and over the space of three days managed to get almost everything wrong. They failed twice to provide me with my early morning alarm call, even though I complained after the first failure. They closed the entire smoking area in the hotel to accommodate a private social function and, worst of all they tried to fleece me on hiring a limo to the airport ($65 in my book means per car not per person). Oh, and the electricity was off for most of Saturday.
Even though it has the best food in Nairobi next time I will stay at the Serena instead.

Room Tip: Stay at the Serena instead
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews