We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Hotel in the City Centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in the City Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We used this hotel for the beginning and end of our holiday and it was lovely. The staff
were genuinely kind and considerate all times which made the service great. The security at the front and around the hotel was very good and reassuring. The superior hotel room was off a good size, good views over the grounds, local parks and downtown Nairobi. The room service / breakfast / dinner was of a very good quality and some of the best we had in kenya. Plus we had a free bottle of champagne as it was our honeymoon. The hotel is Ideally located for the airport and excursions around Nairobi. I will definately stay at the hotel again and for us, there were no negative experiences. Well Done.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derbyshirenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    289
    43
    11
    11
See reviews for
93
201
47
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Köln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Serena Hotel is my first choice for business trips to Kenya. The hotel offers excellent Service, nice rooms and good security. The restaurant is excellent and seems to be one of the best in Kenya but there is also the possibility for light meals at the bar or in the garden. Nice bar at the pool). Some smaller shops (souvenirs etc.). Only air condition in the rooms could be less noisy. Never tried wellness but seems to be fine.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vielreisende1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Excellent service, silence area in the heart of Nairobi. Good food.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nowakadventuretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We spent less than 24 hours in the hotel, and most of that was spent vegging by the pool. I was a little bit put off that the pool was overlooked by the restaurants which seemed to have a lot of business men having meetings!

We ate lunch in the Maghreb restaurant, which cost 20Ksh each, and was buffet style. We ate dinner in the Aksub bar, and just had a sandwich.
The choice of food wasn't amazing - either a (relatively pricey) buffet, or a dry baguette - but better than nothing.

We left the Nairobi Serena Hotel to go on Safari for a week, and the hotel allowed us to leave our luggage (for the second week of our holiday) free of charge, which was a lovely idea, and certainly helped us out a lot!

The Nairobi Serena was a great stop over hotel, but I'm not sure that I'd want to stay more than a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

If you have chosen to stay at the Serena in Nairobi, you have made a good choice. If you have not, you may want to re-think your reservation. The Serena is an oasis in Nairobi. Comfortable, secure, friendly without hovering, and efficient. The in-room services from the Spa are a bonus! I had the jet lag massage; I recommended it if you are exhausted from traveling. My next trip, I am going to have the foot massage at poolside. The beds are extra firm, so keep that in mind if you like a soft bed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eskimosrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We spent one night here, and it was...alright. Small room, small bathroom, heavily carpeted, felt like a throw back to the 1970's. Pleasant enough staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivek29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

I found myself at home while staying at Serena. The hotel is very clean, rooms are spacious and well appointed, and provided with free wi-fi internet. Mine was in the front yard, only second floor, but the windows were very well insulated so I didn't hear any noise. Sleeps are simply perfect: I usually get back-pain, but this time I didn't because of the high quality of the bed. Every room is entitled to 2 half-litre bottles of water per day, (tap-water not being drinkable). You can have dinner either along the pool, at the bar-restaurant, or else you can go upstairs and eat french food at the Mandhari restaurant (there is a french chef ). There is a Spa/wellness centre and even a shop where you can buy souvenirs (very expensive) and things like tooth-brush, shavers, deos, etc.
Nairobi is very dangerous, even for locals, so make sure to get a safe taxi taking you everywhere. I hired during the whole stay Kenneth's taxi: he was very helpful and polite, and managed to take me everywhere on time and safe, despite the incredible jams in Nairobi and, most important, he is very cheap and honest (his mobile: [--]).
All the hotel staff is very friendly and polite, and ready to assist you in any request.
I really want to congratulate the hotel for the high quality of the service. I would definitively recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Architect_IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Property: Nairobi Serena Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing